Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

Hi KM - the Bulldogs have a potential F/S draftee this year - Jayden Foster (Calder Cannons).

Do you know much about him - type of player he is, likelihood to get drafted on current ability/potential, etc?

Saw a 'local' article about the Cannons and they are on record saying they have about 12-13 players that could be drafted, but no stand-outs at the moment (unlike the 2012 draft)...

It is an even group from Calder this year and at this stage I don't have any in my top 50. It's one of those teams where there should be a number of guys who stand up this year who may not have been anything special previously so that is the thing to watch for above all with the Cannons.

In saying that Aaron Christsen is one guy I look at and think he has something. Very thin build but I've been impressed with what I've seen.

Foster I haven't seen enough of to get a good read on but should see plenty of him this year.

#6 Brisbane - Cameron Conlon (VIC – KPF/Ruck)
Height: 197cm, Weight: 90kg, DOB:
Recruited from: Northern Knights
Style:
Player comparison: Nathan Vardy
Range: 5-20
Profile: Real talent as a key forward and has the ability to really develop into something at the next level. Has a really nice leap on him but also some real contested marking ability. Very accurate shot on goal both from field kicks and set shot attempts. Capable through the ruck and with his leap might be a no.2 ruck type option but I see him best utilised as a key forward.
Having surgery on his knee. Will be out for about three months.

Thanks for the update Sin. Disappointing news.

Being out didn't hurt Lachie Plowman too much last year so it doesn't have to hurt Conlon's chances. Conlon has put up some strong performances last year (particularly early with some dominant showings up forward) and if he can come back at some stage this season and put forward some strong performances he should be fine and still has that opportunity to go first round if things go right.

I would love to have Conlon on the Tigers list in 2014, should he be there at our pick. I reckon a tandem duo of Vickery and Conlon would be very effective, as we wouldn't really be losing much in either the Ruck or the Forward line if both play, and rotate. Unfortunately, with Todd Elton on the list, I don't think it will happen. If he isn't there, one of Billings and Reynolds would complement our forward and midfield stocks perfectly.

Hi Knightmare,
who are some of the ruckman to look out for in this years pool?
particularly the victorian ruckman who you think are a chance to be drafted

Hi Knightmare,
who are some of the ruckman to look out for in this years pool?
particularly the victorian ruckman who you think are a chance to be drafted

It's not a great year for the rucks this year.

Of the Victorians:

Conlon can play, but I like him more as a forward.

Mangan maybe but more of a KPP. Mark Orr same.

Agape Patolo could be one worth watching for, though raw and a guy I want to see more of first before endorsing.

Personally I'd recommend looking for those guys at the bottom of opposition lists and those more mature option first if someone has a breakthrough season because the young ruck options are bleak at best with zero top end options.

Darcy Cameron
Scott Jones
Mack Byron Pendergast

All draftable, the latter with the most upside IMO.

Hey KM. Watching us play yesterday, I felt that our forward line looked a hell of a lot more cohesive just with Murph running around (along with obvious improvement in Higgins, Cordy, Jones and Dickson) down there. Now 31, I feel as though he's one type of player we should be looking for; a legitimate small forward with good pace, brilliant skills and who can play both small and medium forward roles. Are there any players worth keeping an eye out for who fit this mould?

Good year for your small forwards.

Watch for Willy Rioli and Jay Kennedy-Harris.

With Rioli if you can get past his bigger body as that small there are few more talented. Jay Kennedy-Harris is more an Andrew Krakouer type who could also present an option mid draft.

Clayton McCartney also worth keeping an eye out for.

Picking up Macrae last year is a damn good start.

Yeah, loving Macrae's work so far but seems to be headed for a position on the wing.
Fair enough. Seems like you've got the contested ball winning part sorted for the future with Libba, Wallis, Smith and Hrovat so there probably will be a focus on the outside types from now on.

We can only hope, haha - I think our supporters will go crazy if we draft another inside mid.

My preference at this point is to secure somebody like Boyd or Conlon with our first pick and then look at securing a small forward with our second. After that, best available outside mids/small defenders. Would love to pick up a mature KPP with a late pick as well - have liked Hardy for a few years now.

Where's Darcy Fort now?

Darcy is at Werribee this year. Although given the association with North Melbourne and his competition, it's unlikely he'll play anything higher than the development league. But having said that, he was named in the bests yesterday.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on Harry O'Meara Knightmare because against the Rebels he was tearing them apart with a number of clearances, three goals (could have had five) and many possessions. Doesn't seem overly slow and has great evasion. Is a December 94' kid so not sure if he was eligible last year because he'd be 18 after the draft or whether he just wasn't drafted.

On Macrae I see him more as a wing/hff as Dannnn mentioned. But later in his career when he puts some size on his frame I expect he will bbe able to step inside and use those sidesteps and awareness to become some variation of Pendlebury.

On Harry O'Meara he is no relation to to Jaeger (*unless distantly. With Jaeger from WA) so don't get too excited Pie. Harry was one in the mix last year as a rookie but was overlooked with most clubs choosing to retain their rookies, not much liking the depth of last years talent.

If you finished low enough, Jack Billings would be the obvious one. Whereas the players Knightmare mentioned are more your crumbing forwards, Billings is more in that Dale Thomas (or Shaun Higgins) mould - midfielder/half forward with strong hands.

In terms of the medium types, two who have started well from the TAC Cup are Max Hayes and Harrison King - both of whom are around that 190cm mark and built strongly. Ben Lennon can also play that role. As for the South Australians (who I believe I am obligated to mention) Luke Reynolds is the obvious one, but Hassan Ahmat-Watkins kicked 11 goals in the opening round of the U18 competition over here which will no doubt make people notice.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on Harry O'Meara

Should have been drafted last year. I still think he is every bit as good as Dahlhaus, and would have a similar impact for a bottom 8 team. Hopefully he can dominate the TAC Cup this year, and given he was one of the youngest players eligible last year, teams shouldn't discount him based on age.

Liam Riley of the Eastern Ranges, how's his start to the year looked and chances of being drafted?

If you finished low enough, Jack Billings would be the obvious one. Whereas the players Knightmare mentioned are more your crumbing forwards, Billings is more in that Dale Thomas (or Shaun Higgins) mould - midfielder/half forward with strong hands.

In terms of the medium types, two who have started well from the TAC Cup are Max Hayes and Harrison King - both of whom are around that 190cm mark and built strongly. Ben Lennon can also play that role. As for the South Australians (who I believe I am obligated to mention) Luke Reynolds is the obvious one, but Hassan Ahmat-Watkins kicked 11 goals in the opening round of the U18 competition over here which will no doubt make people notice.
Yeah, Billings is one I've been keeping my eyes on. Really like him and he's exactly the type of player I reckon would fit well. Wouldn't mind another small forward in a similar mould to Dahlhaus to let him play more midfield time as well, but that's another thing.

The issue with Billings is that if we finish low enough to grab him (which is fairly likely), I'd probably prefer us to take Boyd or Conlon (should he play the full season at FF).

Lots of names there, thanks for that mate. :thumbsu:

On Billings it will require a first round selection to get him. So if going tall early you miss on Billings.
Billings hopefully at the next level becomes a midfielder, but as a forward is more your marking small. Absolute freak mark overhead for his size with very surprising 1v1 ability. Everything he does is class so whoever take him will be very pleased with what he offers because that past production is very much there.

Liam Riley of the Eastern Ranges, how's his start to the year looked and chances of being drafted?

Riley's first round was reasonable. Found some ball. He's more your outside receiver. Haven't seen his second round numbers yet. Mid year there should be more of an idea of where many of these guys sit. Still too much footy to be played to count anyone in/out.