Draft Expert Knightmare's 2021 Draft Almanac

Hi KM

I have read a lot of these pages but may have missed it if anyone has already asked you this
I also know your next Power rankings are due soon.

I'd appreciate hearing your thoughts on Darcy Wilmot. Cal Twomey has him being picked at 22 and in one of his Road to the Draft podcasts rates him highly.
The highlights I have seen, reckon he's a really really good player.

What do you think of Wilmot's strengths and weaknesses.

Hi KM

I have read a lot of these pages but may have missed it if anyone has already asked you this

I'd appreciate hearing your thoughts on Darcy Wilmot. Cal Twomey has him being picked at 22 and in one of his Road to the Draft podcasts rates him highly.

Twomey hasn’t done a phantom draft yet (to my knowledge).

He does have his monthly rankings though.

Knightmare

Is it true that Suns pick 3 is on the table?

If so, why is it?

Does it have to do with Academy players? They have three that they're looking at grabbing?
Nothing to do with academy players.

There is a clear top 4 and their pick will end up being 5.

Makes sense to look at turning that pick into two good picks with how even the draft is would be my guess.

Is Greg Clarke more of a crash and bash style inside mid? As much as I love seeing Elliot Yeo be a bull in the clinches I feel like he will be stuck inside to allow the likes of Kelly, Shuey and Sheed a bit more outside. Would love to see another inside option that can allow Yeo to play a bit more outside and use his speed and kicking.

If I'm the decision maker for West Coast I'm talking to Richmond about a trade down from 10 for their 15 and 26, and maybe try to get a Sydney Stack thrown in as a sweetner while I'm at it given he's unsigned and doesn't appear to be a priority to bring back.
Wow, that's a pretty low impression of Sydney Stack you've got there KM. That's essentially 1840pts + Stack for only 1395pts - I'm not sure the Tigers are that much in need of a rookie level salary dump just yet. Besides, he's got his fans .behind the walls at Tigerland.

And I think the only chance Richmond would be likely to consider #15 and #26 for the Eagles #10 would be if someone they really liked but didn't expect slipped to #7 and the player they'd originally earmarked for #7 happened to be still there at #10.

Dogs I suspect will get points via trading out players mostly. And there are other players who other clubs should be targeting and offering picks for.

The Dogs should be asking Collingwood for Max Lynch rather than picks in exchange for Lipinski. Collingwood as with the Dogs are in need of picks for matching their own F/S, with the opportunity being Lynch won't be a best-22 player as long as Grundy is there and a top-3 ruckman in the comp.

If Lukosius remains in defence, intercept marking is a weapon I'd be looking to incorporate into his game. He reads the game well, so it's something he should be doing at a high volume. Particularly given his rebounding weapons and how he can initiate offence with what he can do by foot.

Lukosius on a good team like the Dogs? He would be a problem. And a sensational complement.
Key question is what is the cost to pry him out of the Suns?

If I'm the decision maker for West Coast I'm talking to Richmond about a trade down from 10 for their 15 and 26, and maybe try to get a Sydney Stack thrown in as a sweetner while I'm at it given he's unsigned and doesn't appear to be a priority to bring back. Richmond want to move up and I'd feel very comfortable moving down. And if it's not Richmond, I'd be exploring something along those lines as there should be similar opportunities to improve West Coast's list.

Why? I feel like at 15 Matthew Roberts who would be my target at 10 is a good chance still to be available and my feel is he's more likely than not still there. If he isn't available, I wouldn't be stressed. There will be other good midfielders. Local midfielder Matthew Johnson would be great, though he may even go top-10 the way he has gone of late. If he's not there either, again, I'd explore moving down a few spots to something early second and try my luck securing a Zac Taylor as another good midfielder and maybe improve my draft position for 2022 at the same time.

Being such an even draft, picks after that first roughly three live picks I'd have no particular attachment to, and with some clubs very keen to move up, I'd make a point of taking advantage of that as I feel like in any number of spots there are opportunities to secure good midfielders for the future, and there might be an opportunity to secure say two inside the first 30 picks rather than just the one which would be my approach in West Coast's situation and how to maximise this year's draft haul.
So keep moving down until someone you want hasnt been taken yet?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Hi KM

Maybe Cal has seen better games from Wilmot than I have, but I've found Wilmot to be low to medium frequency of impact and at times I've found some of his decisions to be shaky in the small sample I've watched.

Wilmot can generate drive with his run and speed his relative strong points, he's also for a smaller type pretty competitive and capable defensively (able enough overhead and at ground level and can intercept here/there) and the late year birthday makes you think for a moment, but he's not one I'm as confident in as others are and haven't seen the level of frequency of impact to rate him ahead of others at his position at this point.

It would have been great seeing him over the latter part of the season to see if he could have improved, but not to be.

Knightmare

If so, why is it?

Does it have to do with Academy players? They have three that they're looking at grabbing?

Suns do appear to be dangling 3 and have it there if the right trade opportunity comes up, or so the reports are suggesting.

No relationship with Academy players. They can just be added straight to the Suns' list again.

Is Greg Clarke more of a crash and bash style inside mid? As much as I love seeing Elliot Yeo be a bull in the clinches I feel like he will be stuck inside to allow the likes of Kelly, Shuey and Sheed a bit more outside. Would love to see another inside option that can allow Yeo to play a bit more outside and use his speed and kicking.

Clark is an aerobic beast. Covers a heap of ground. His style is a more defensive one. He's definitely not a bash/crash inside mid, nor is he explosive or one of those with a lot of weapons. He's more outside than inside if anything.

Wow, that's a pretty low impression of Sydney Stack you've got there KM. That's essentially 1840pts + Stack for only 1395pts - I'm not sure the Tigers are that much in need of a rookie level salary dump just yet. Besides, he's got his fans .behind the walls at Tigerland.

And I think the only chance Richmond would be likely to consider #15 and #26 for the Eagles #10 would be if someone they really liked but didn't expect slipped to #7 and the player they'd originally earmarked for #7 happened to be still there at #10.

I'm expecting Richmond to have their sights set higher than 7, but the earlier trade proposal was an example of what West Coast should be asking for, with a view to secure a two for one.

Stack's value is one I find hard to gauge. Happy for you to have a go giving him a value. I liked his play at the end of the season, was a fan of his first season, and he's one I'd be strongly suggesting Richmond retain.

Key question is what is the cost to pry him out of the Suns?

What would it take to secure Lukosius from the Suns? Being contracted, I'm sure their position would be that he's not available. But I do think there is the chance 12 months from now his value will be lower.

In a trade for Lukosius, I'd be suggesting Port Adelaide put forward Byrne-Jones as a name. 2020 B+F winner, top-10 again this year. And if Gold Coast want to move up from 16 to 19, I'd oblige.

If that deal was put to Gold Coast, I'd be interested to get a feel for if they say no, and if so, how quickly. And if the answer was no, I'd be listening to counter offers, to see if there is any interest.

The Suns need good established players, so I wouldn't be wasting their time in making an offer for Lukosius.

Same would apply with Rankine if making an offer. While he's not worth what Lukosius is, he's another worth making a serious offer for.

So keep moving down until someone you want hasnt been taken yet?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

There is a great deal of evenness this year. I'd be looking to make one pick into multiple inside the top-30 if needing midfielders.

Would Gold Coast consider 19+22+ something for 10? They're the kind of trades I'd explore.

Or Brisbane with 14 and 18 if they have a target at 10.

There are a number of teams you could have that conversation with if you hear rumblings of interest in moving up.

Maybe it could be made into 3 in the first 30? You can only find out by asking.

Knightmare

If so, why is it?

They want established players not kids to add to their insane talent pool of guys that will cost a lot and might be leaving in the next few years.

Again, assuming you can trust AFL stats, although he is the same height as Petracca, he is 8kgs lighter (89kgs).

It’s just unbelievable how he can move like he does at those ratios.

I really find it hard to believe that Petracca is 97kg. Ollie wines looks a good 10kg heavier, and Danger around the same weight.

Not sure I trust the AFL height and weight stats.

In any case, athletic profiles like Petracca, Danger, Stringer are what every drafter in the country would be looking for. Would absolutely love a similar type at the crows but don’t think there’s a similar profile this draft

Hi KM, thoughts on Elijah Hewett and Angus Sheldrick?

I'm guessing you watching the WAFL Colts granny?

Hewett is a good one for next year. Good ball winner with agility. Advanced game and already playing good footy this year.

Sheldrick is a contested beast of a midfielder. Not tall at 179cm, but very strong and does have a burst of speed to him. Eligible this year, and gave Jason Horne-Francis one of his harder days - relegating him to playing forward in the U19 Champs game v SA, being on top in that matchup through the midfield and not letting Horne-Francis get the run at the ball that he enjoys. Skills can let him down though. Mid-late draft he could represent value though and is very draftable.

I'm guessing you watching the WAFL Colts granny?

Hewett is a good one for next year. Good ball winner with agility. Advanced game and already playing good footy this year.

Sheldrick is a contested beast of a midfielder. Not tall at 179cm, but very strong and does have a burst of speed to him. Eligible this year, and gave Jason Horne-Francis one of his harder days - relegating him to playing forward in the U19 Champs game v SA, being on top in that matchup through the midfield and not letting Horne-Francis get the run at the ball that he enjoys. Skills can let him down though. Mid-late draft he could represent value though and is very draftable.

yup, the colts. Didn’t realise hewett was a prospect for next year.

I did notice his height. It’s good to hear that he has some pedigree. Hopefully he grows a few extra centimetres over the next couple of years.

October AFL Draft Power Rankings:

1. Jason Horne-Francis
2. Nick Daicos (Collingwood - father-son)
3. Sam Darcy
(Western Bulldogs - father-son)

Point of discussion: Will Mitch Owens and Mitch Knevitt develop into top-20 in draft calibre players? Why/why not?

Sheldricks one of my favourite players, but thought the swans boy that won best on ground was all over sheldrick like white on rice and kicked 2 goals on him. You noticed the difference in sheldrick game when number 19 for swans was not on him.

Sheldrick is a tough boy and by no stretch of the imagination had his colours lowered.

I thought Sheldrick was absolutely exceptional and was my B.O.G - even on a losing team. How he kept competing, particularly given the beating and frankly at some points unsportsman-like approach from some of the Swan Districts boys towards him, he will have won a lot more fans than he could have lost.

Sheldrick is a tough boy and by no stretch of the imagination had his colours lowered.

I thought Sheldrick was absolutely exceptional and was my B.O.G - even on a losing team. How he kept competing, particularly given the beating and frankly at some points unsportsman-like approach from some of the Swan Districts boys towards him, he will have won a lot more fans than he could have lost.

Don’t get me wrong I’m a huge fan of sheldrick and he was Claremont’s best for sure but I think the swans districts boy had it over him. A much bigger stronger unit. Hard footy what’s unsportsman like about that? Not playing netball mate.

What made you drop Jack Avery from the top 10, then top 20 completely, seems harsh off one game this past month

That's a question I was hoping I would be asked.

I still rate Avery highly and in my extended rankings update he'll feature in the 20s.

I've moved a number of general defenders (Avery has played a lot of key defence but for AFL purposes he's likely not) down in my calculations. You'll notice Sinn has dropped out of my top-20 also.

Why?

In assessing the AFL landscape and considering levels of positional impact achieved at AFL level this year and how the game is trending, I feel the impact of general defenders has dropped away a lot and will drop yet further in coming years. Why? Key defenders are intercepting at historic rates (and a bit like the 3 ball in the NBA, I see the volume of intercept marks continuing to elevate from key defenders) and are playing much greater roles with general defenders not featured as heavily as in seasons past or impacting winning as much as they have previously.

If I'm to name the elite general defenders in the competition, Tom Stewart I'd rate on his own in this category. Whereas in generations past, I felt there were a lot more guys able to routinely have that level of impact.

On Avery more specifically, my view of his play more specifically has also dropped (slightly). I've loved his WAFL Colts and League play, but I had hoped for relatively more from him in the second game v SA. He still played his part as he did in the first game, but wasn't dominant as I had expected with Van Rooyen in both games for mine actually playing a little better to my surprise as a point of comparison. And Van Rooyen was actually in the end close to making the 20, but just narrowly missing out as someone as a key defender (I like Van Rooyen as a key defender but as a forward view him too limited) I could have gone either way on between he and Gibcus.

Don’t get me wrong I’m a huge fan of sheldrick and he was Claremont’s best for sure but I think the swans districts boy had it over him. A much bigger stronger unit. Hard footy what’s unsportsman like about that? Not playing netball mate.

I thought Sheldrick actually won the matchup and was by a fair way the best midfielder afield. There wasn't for me a single star for Swan Districts other than maybe Metcalf who was very dangerous up forward, and Bazzo playing an important role in quelling Van Rooyen's influence after 1/4 time but he didn't intercept like he can to have the impact he can when he's playing with confidence.

For me when a guy is down on their hands and knees, a knee to the ribs is unsportsmanlike and frankly out of bounds. Sheldrick to his credit pushed through and responded professionally. He could easily have gone all bush league on Ben Hewett if I recall correctly, but credit to him for keeping his cool. I'm actually disappointed for Sheldrick his teammates didn't get up for him in moment and get stuck into the guy for doing that. That's the response I would have liked to have seen and what you'd get at any other level as a response, as you don't let guys get away with that.

That's a question I was hoping I would be asked.

I still rate Avery highly and in my extended rankings update he'll feature in the 20s.

I've moved a number of general defenders (Avery has played a lot of key defence but for AFL purposes he's likely not) down in my calculations. You'll notice Sinn has dropped out of my top-20 also.

Why?

In assessing the AFL landscape and considering levels of positional impact achieved at AFL level this year and how the game is trending, I feel the impact of general defenders has dropped away a lot and will drop yet further in coming years. Why? Key defenders are intercepting at historic rates (and a bit like the 3 ball in the NBA, I see the volume of intercept marks continuing to elevate from key defenders) and are playing much greater roles with general defenders not featured as heavily as in seasons past or impacting winning as much as they have previously.

If I'm to name the elite general defenders in the competition, Tom Stewart I'd rate on his own in this category. Whereas in generations past, I felt there were a lot more guys able to routinely have that level of impact.

On Avery more specifically, my view of his play more specifically has also dropped (slightly). I've loved his WAFL Colts and League play, but I had hoped for relatively more from him in the second game v SA. He still played his part as he did in the first game, but wasn't dominant as I had expected with Van Rooyen in both games for mine actually playing a little better to my surprise as a point of comparison. And Van Rooyen was actually in the end close to making the 20, but just narrowly missing out as someone as a key defender (I like Van Rooyen as a key defender but as a forward view him too limited) I could have gone either way on between he and Gibcus.

I thought Sheldrick actually won the matchup and was by a fair way the best midfielder afield. There wasn't for me a single star for Swan Districts other than maybe Metcalf who was very dangerous up forward, and Bazzo playing an important role in quelling Van Rooyen's influence after 1/4 time but he didn't intercept like he can to have the impact he can when he's playing with confidence.

For me when a guy is down on their hands and knees, a knee to the ribs is unsportsmanlike and frankly out of bounds. Sheldrick to his credit pushed through and responded professionally. He could easily have gone all bush league on Ben Hewett if I recall correctly, but credit to him for keeping his cool. I'm actually disappointed for Sheldrick his teammates didn't get up for him in moment and get stuck into the guy for doing that. That's the response I would have liked to have seen and what you'd get at any other level as a response, as you don't let guys get away with that.

Well I will agree to disagree on this one. Sheldrick is a great player, but in my eye and I was at the game not watching on a shitty live stream that kept cutting out ,sheldrick was beaten on this occasion by a stronger bigger unit.

I’m assuming it was Elijah Hewitt that you are referring to that gave the knee to the rib? I don’t like that type of behaviour either. But nothing wrong with good old hard footy during play.