Laidley benches red-hot Nathan Thompson

Flag Man said:
BTW, I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank Hawthorn for Nathan Thompson and John Hay.

They are progressing nicely.:thumbsu:

Oh well, Fagman, it can't get any worse.

16th is as low as you can go... :cool: :eek:

Ahhh, sorry champ. Couldn't resist sticking the boots in.

It's just I find it funny that 2 months ago, we were filty tanking losers with no potential who were stupid to give away an AA Full Back and now we are fourth.

You were a team running on the famed "Shinboner Spirit" who had picked up some "handy" players like Hay, Green and ???? and were looking to push further into the finals.

Our coach was an idiot who was just tanking games for draft picks.

Your coach was a tactical genius who guide a team of rough diamonds into the finals.

Our team had no future

Your team was looking to the near future by topping up.

How times have changed......

Frankston Rover said:

It's just I find it funny that 2 months ago, we were filty tanking losers with no potential who were stupid to give away an AA Full Back and now we are fourth.

You were a team running on the famed "Shinboner Spirit" who had picked up some "handy" players like Hay, Green and ???? and were looking to push further into the finals.

Your coach was a tactical genius who guide a team of rough diamonds into the finals.

Our team had no future

My winner for the night! Great call.

Frankston Rover said:

I don't mind you having a crack at me, I just don't see the point in negatively stereotyping gay people in the process of doing it.

Frankston Rover said:

Find one post where I stated this.

Frankston Rover said:

Our team had no future

Frankston Rover said:

As a Hawthorn supporter, you would know.

I am also optimistic that we are only a couple of players away from being a good side again also.

Mark73, you are obviously a Rhodes scholar... Keep licking those windows!!!!

And FM, if you were fair dinkum, you'd admit you hung a truckload of crap on Hawthorn in the last 6 months. And now that you are last, well, what can you say?

Frankston Rover said:
Mark73, you are obviously a Rhodes scholar... Keep licking those windows!!!!

And FM, if you were fair dinkum, you'd admit you hung a truckload of crap on Hawthorn in the last 6 months. And now that you are last, well, what can you say?

Find the posts where you claim I made these statemants or withdraw your falsehoods and apologise.

Show some character.

Flag Man said:
Find the posts where you claim I made these statemants or withdraw your falsehoods and apologise.

Show some character.

I was just making a general statement. I never said that "Flagman said this".

So just worry about how you are going to get off the bottom and less about me.

Again, if you can show me where I've quoted or mentioned Flag man in any way, I'd like to see it. Just in general, the Roos fans have been pretty vocal about my club and now that they are last, they don't like it.

It's a shame that all you women care about is apologys from people you don't know.

BTW, who rattled your cage, Groucho????

Watching the replay again Thompson was not buggered!! he was not standing there getting his breathe back, he looked perplexed and was looking up into the crowd or perhaps the coaches box from time to time.

I now reckon that laidley is just lying about what he did about Thompson. I wouldn't be surprised that Laidley stuffed up and has said that to cover himself. No matter what happened it was disgrace and if I was a North supporter I would want someones head on a plate. If your happy to accept what happened today then that is certainly not the 'shinboner spirit' is it.

Frankston Rover said:
Again, if you can show me where I've quoted or mentioned Flag man in any way, I'd like to see it. Just in general, the Roos fans have been pretty vocal about my club and now that they are last, they don't like it.

You've got a heart the size of a split pea mate.

No character.

Frankston Rover said:
It's a shame that all you women care about is apologys from people you don't know.

Ae you a mysoginist as well as a homophobe?

Seth said:
Watching the replay again Thompson was not buggered!! he was not standing there getting his breathe back, he looked perplexed and was looking up into the crowd or perhaps the coaches box from time to time.

I think he just wanted to come off for a minute or two. Rather than the rest of the game. How long was he off for in the end? 5 or 6 mins?

Frankston Rover said:
And FM, if you were fair dinkum, you'd admit you hung a truckload of crap on Hawthorn in the last 6 months.
FM? I thought that was a Steely Dan song.How do you know he has hung it on Hawthorn for the last 6 months given he only joined in February? Have you been stalking him? Again,the obsession continues. :(

morgoth said:
MMM think that Thompson took himself off. Kept saying he (thompson) had to dig deep and show some heart. May not be DL's fault.

Maybe not - but despite how knackered Thommo may have been, even if an accurate explanation of events - I don't like it. Soft. Our oldest player up the other end of the ground, only goes off on a stretcher - and even then he'd crack the :D:D:D:Ds.

But Laidley can carry the can for replacing Hale with Petrie who was indecently interfered with by Jeff White in the last term, setting up 2 goals from his ruck work.

Plus had Simpson benched for a rest at the same time.

Not one of his better days with the whiteboard.

Frankston Rover said:
Complete bulls*it.

Thommo stood on the boundry line with the look of someone who couldn't believe where he was. In the background, was Rocca, head in his hands.

Now if you believe Laidley (which I don't) Thompson came off and told Petrie to go to FF. Have you ever heard of a player telling another player where to play? Laidley is the coach FFS, not Thompson. Laidley should have told Petrie to come off and either put Thommo or Rocca at FF.

IMHO, Laidley made a move, it turned out to be a horrific mistake so he's blamed 'cramps' and is now hoping to hell that this blows over. I predict Laidley will either lay very low this week or push some other topic forward.
Like umpire, ground surface at Docklands or Fremantles game plan....
tried and true:D

Seth said:

I now reckon that laidley is just lying about what he did about Thompson. I wouldn't be surprised that Laidley stuffed up and has said that to cover himself. No matter what happened it was disgrace and if I was a North supporter I would want someones head on a plate. If your happy to accept what happened today then that is certainly not the 'shinboner spirit' is it.
aka he was buggered. He kept them in the game, but he definitely should've stayed on, it only takes a 30 second-1 minute break of standing in the square to be ready to go again, he couldve definitely done this while the ball was up the other end

Kick us and keep kicking.

7 prelims, 3 Grand Finals, 2 Premierships, missed the finals 3 times since 1993.

You've all been waiting a while so get stuck in now! :)

GeordieRoo said:
Kick us and keep kicking.

7 prelims, 3 Grand Finals, 2 Premierships, missed the finals 3 times since 1993.

You've all been waiting a while so get stuck in now! :)

Relevance?

If Dipper and Dermie hadn't fought through the pain threshold in the 89 GF, the Hawks wouldn't have won.

Laidley should have told Thompson to stay on the ground. Even if he was buggered, he would have occupied Melbourne's best defender and allowed the opportunity for some of the other forwards to kick the goal.

Dixie Flatline said:
Relevance?

If Dipper and Dermie hadn't fought through the pain threshold in the 89 GF, the Hawks wouldn't have won.

Laidley should have told Thompson to stay on the ground. Even if he was buggered, he would have occupied Melbourne's best defender and allowed the opportunity for some of the other forwards to kick the goal.

Ridiculous analogy or veiled troll?

There is a massive difference between the game now, and the game in 1989.

What if Thompson had stayed on fatigued, and his opponent had run down the ground, marked and goaled?

People would be squawking as to why he wasn't spelled.

Laidley benches red-hot Nathan Thompson