Lake cooling on Bulldogs

With the stadium deals getting finalised the club will have an extra 1.1 million to play with. Player agents are gonna try and get their clients a slice of the cash.

The timing is perfect. Stadium deal is done, Brian all of a sudden wants more cash. Not a huge shock. It will all be ok in the long run.

Just because clubs get a greater slice of the pie, doesn't mean the salary cap has increased.

If he's taking this long to re-sign then for now, I'm going to avoid being optimistic about him being at the Bulldogs next year. I'm already prepared to look at him the same way as Nathan Brown and I'm getting hyped up for Tiller!

wow.
lake - out
tiller - in

i dont quite think that tiller can cover that hole left. hopefully he there won't BE a hole though

btw mate love your signiture. spot on

I think you guys should all just take a chill pill. Noone said he is leaving. He just hasnt signed yet. There could be a million reasons why. Contracts are complicated. He already stated he wants to stay at the dogs, and wants to be a one club player, so it will get done.

Sure hope so.

I just hope the club doesn't entertain a trade if we wants out? It's sign with us or pre-season draft here you come! Enjoy Melb, Freo or Richmond!

With the extra $$ we'll save if Lake leaves, maybe we can get Nathan Brown back??;)

I will never welcome Nathan brown back even at his best and if he is re drafted will not support this club untill he is delisted again and I think alot of other bulldogs would feel the same

Sure hope so.

Same thing happened with Johnathon Brown and Fev with their contracts. They were in limbo for quite a while. Considering this contract will probably see Lake through to the end of his career, him and his management would want to make sure everything is right before signing.

I will never welcome Nathan brown back even at his best and if he is re drafted will not support this club untill he is delisted again and I think alot of other bulldogs would feel the same

Well that shows how strong a doggies supporter you are!

Fair dinkum a lot of you blokes must have got away with tossing tantrums when you were kids.

Look Lee, I don't want to see Browneye back either (and we won't, so don't worry) but you've just gotta roll with the flow sometimes. If we do happen to re-draft him I'll be utterly mystified and p***ed off but I will still be wearing RW&B next year.

I certainly hope the club doesn't let Melbourne pick him up. Its all well and good to try and make a point, but I'd rather the quality player or draft pick we would get in return

ATM I would prefer to lose him to the Demons for nothing than make Essendon, Carlton, Collingwood etc better next season.

This feeling may change the longer trade week goes if he stays uncontracted.

I think it's fair to say this board has a Brian Lake neurosis - first post was at 08:20 this morning and there have been a 114 since. That's a new post every 5 minutes and 24 seconds for 10 solid hours!

Chill out guys. Que sera sera.

I agree ... we need to chill.

This is from Mark Stevens' Barry Hall article today:

"In other news at Whitten Oval, full-back Brian Lake is yet to re-sign, despite reports to the contrary. Negotiations with Lake and his manager Rick Olarenshaw continue.
The Dogs will not trade Lake and are confident he will stay."

Stevo, being a Dogs man and also seemingly on the inner-sanctum, is generally spot-on, so that's something else to take on board.

I agree ... we need to chill.

This is from Mark Stevens' Barry Hall article today:

"In other news at Whitten Oval, full-back Brian Lake is yet to re-sign, despite reports to the contrary. Negotiations with Lake and his manager Rick Olarenshaw continue.

What Stevo was alluding to was Caro's piece yesterday when she said Lake had signed. Clearly she was wrong.

Yep ... I did notice that hehe.
She should start finding some sources that ain't make-believe.
But back to the topic ...

Why?

Have you got information which should make us all relax?

No. Apart from a gut feeling ... which I know won't be much of a consolation to you.

Que sera sera = what will be, will be.
If it makes you feel better to join in the frenzied posting well that's OK by me but it's not going to change the outcome or make it happen any faster.

Come to think of it, there IS something you could do ... do you have a son who has a piggy bank? You could get him to crack it open and send 20c to Brian. $1,800,000.20 has got to be better than $1,800,000, right? And it's front-ended!

Well, it worked with Chris Grant ...

If he leaves us now he is a dirty rat. What I don;t understand is how we can have no money left in our cap. Teams like Carlton are picking up Mclean, chasing Bradshaw. They pay fev how much? They pay Judd how much? I mean come on how are they doing it? Are we over paying players?

For a whole lot of reasons Carlton aren't a good example.

One though is that they have A graders (Judd, Fev, Gibbs, Murphy etc...), but then drop quickly to C & D graders.

They don't have that even smattering across the board as they're too top heavy.

I was looking at who at Carlton might be a comparable swap for Everitt & most were a) not good enough or b) too good.

They probably have 40% of their cap used on 6 or so players.

Yeah mate I understand your principle there, but really we are not talking apples with apples. Not many people get to earn $450,000 per annum...so comparing that to someone on $50,000 going to $80,000 is not the same. Most people work at jobs they have to do for basic money while footballers get to do what most of us wish we were good enough to do. I think some AFL footballers need to take some of the money they earn and go and buy some perspective. $450,000 per year for 4 years....I mean how much does anyone want or need? It's a sad old world when a bloke playing football earns more than a bloke on an ambulance who save's people's lives every day....it’s a blight on society. But to compare Brian Lake playing AFL footy and all the great things that go with that to the average punter in an average job is just unrealistic and silly comparison.

I agree with you but no-one in any line of work being highly paid or poorly paid wants to be under paid.

I think everyone is correct that Ricky O is the problem here..

Lake cooling on Bulldogs