Let's talk Ports! Part 3

The player I was referring to was at Alberton from 1975-78, went back to Victoria and played 1 season with St Kilda in 1979 before returning for a couple of more seasons with the Maggies in the very early 1980's.

So it was him. I reckon his last game might have been the 1982 Prelim against the Bays.

I'm sure he's mellowed...

View attachment 1701148

He always reminded me of Bodie from The Professionals.

5d02533d2400008c178e877a.jpeg

lol trust them to roll out Thurstans for another CoNnEcTiOn article. They would have been all over him when he came out and backed stinkley over Tredrea

so basically "lol we were lazy and going through the motions then someone called us out and held us to account, and we woke up"

HOW ABOUT THAT. **** hinkley. Dickhead let that happen in the first place.

so basically "lol we were lazy and going through the motions then someone called us out and held us to account, and we woke up"

HOW ABOUT THAT. * hinkley. Dickhead let that happen in the first place.

Burton is our best player in media interviews, always gives actual insight and didn't have a go at tredders like the other players , mainly because he's a port supporter before getting drafted

The good old days of one camera at the footy. I'm not sure I remember that particular incident, but the player was involved in a few.

The oft-mentioned Port player in the 1980 game clotheslined a Torrens player who was running into goal and KOed him. I swear the player nearly did a 360 around his arm. They did get a goal from the free kick, so there's that.
And of course it was a private video from the outer which led to a certain player's lengthy suspension for an incident involving Stephen Barratt in the 1982 Prelim.

Interesting to note that the GM of Glenelg FC, Harry Kernahan successfully introduced a proposal to ban private video footage being introduced at SANFL tribunals from 1983 onwards. Thousands of Port fans who raided their savings to buy video cameras for Xmas 1982 to take to future Port v Glenelg games were more than a bit upset.

Edit- got the names and dates wrong. Early onset I reckon.

I'm sure he's mellowed...

View attachment 1701148
Lived up the road from me for a while. Wish I'd known those were cannabis plants he had growing in his backyard.

Should have got an AO for spraying that serial pest and Labor MP Michael Atkinson off his bike in 2015 imho.

Burton is our best player in media interviews, always gives actual insight and didn't have a go at tredders like the other players , mainly because he's a port supporter before getting drafted
That’s great but he certainly hasn’t been one of our better players where it actually counts.
Also which other players have had a go at Tredders?

Neil Kerley had no room to accuse others. The Damien Nygaard incident at Norwood was not one of Kerley's greatest moments. I am not sure that another player has ever forced an opponent into a brick wall before or since. My in laws were die hard Norwood supporters and they hated Kerls even more than Port supporters did. The reason stemmed back to that incident at Norwood Oval.
You are definitely correct re Kerley having no room to accuse others pieman, and it's probably a certainty that he `forced an opponent into a brick wall,' and maybe he even did it in the same game, but the Nygaard incident where he ran at least 5 metres to elbow that player in the face breaking his jaw well after he had hand balled over his head to a team mate in the goal square happened in the left forward pocket at the Parade end of Norwood oval.

It's always intrigued me a tad as to why there isn't a lot more ill feeling between nord and glenelg, as I can recall pics of their full forward Ross Dillon in the Sunday mail after a gf in the late 70's where his face was so badly swollen from apparently `legitimate' spoiling attempts that he looked like he had gone 15 rounds with Mohammed Ali.

His opponent that day was Wayne Phillis, and the coach was none other than `knuckles' Kerley. :think:

Let's talk Ports! Part 3