Traded Luke Jackson [Traded with #44 and #67 to Fremantle for #13, F1 and F2]

It doesn't seem to make sense to go to Freo unless they plan to not use him as ruck, Darcy is a pretty decent ruckman and isn't old unless their planning on him going home at some stage

Unless Geelong go hard next year for him Stanley/Ceglar retiring
Our club is trying to mold him into a big bodied mid in the blicavs mould. I don't see it personally but that is the plan.

This years first only. We are going to be getting shafted by Logue being out of contract so I don't see how Melbourne supporters can expect any different with Jackson.

With all due respect, Jackson is 10000x the player and potential Logue has.

Reckon 2 x First Rounders and or 1 First round pick and 2 second round picks is still the minimum for this deal to go ahead (even though Freo is still way ahead)

This years first only. We are going to be getting shafted by Logue being out of contract so I don't see how Melbourne supporters can expect any different with Jackson.
The difference is the PSD threat. If we had that, it probably would be 13 + 2nd

Of course to have that, we'd have to be a steaming pile of **** of a team so probably for the best.

With all due respect, Jackson is 10000x the player and potential Logue has.

Reckon 2 x First Rounders and or 1 First round pick and 2 second round picks is still the minimum for this deal to go ahead (even though Freo is still way ahead)
Agree to disagree, the most we'll pay is a two firsts (this year and next) with a second coming back, or a first this year and second next year. Belly drives a hard bargain.

No is rewriting history and no is suggesting Jackson would average more hitouts than Darcy at the same age, no one is disputing Darcy’s hitout numbers. I’ve never claimed Jackson has good ruckwork. You’re trying to manipulate what I’ve said.

I said put Jackson in the ruck and his level of output would be ahead of Darcy and Grundy as overall players at the same stage. Never said he’ll have more hitout numbers.

Darcy and Grundy were better at hitouts yes, but not as overall players. Max Gawn had hitout percentages similar to Darcy this year, but Melbourne’s midfield unit were a better centre clearance team with Jackson in the ruck especially in the first half of the year. Last years Grand Final showed the same thing, Gawn wins hitouts, Dogs win clearances, Jackson in the ruck and the Dees dominate clearances. A ruckmans impact can be more than just hitouts and this is where Jackson is so valuable.

Jackson’s impact and output has been limited by not being the number one ruck.

I’ve never claimed he has good ruckwork, but his extra body at ground level helps the team win clearances which is the goal when a ruck is trying to win hitouts.

Jackson was 5th in the league this year for ground ball gets from all ruckman, his personal clearance percentages are ahead of Darcy current season and not too far off Naitanui, Grundy and Gawn this year but far ahead of them when they were 20, his total clearance numbers are limited by not being the number one ruck. His marking ability is ahead of them ect..

Tap ruckwork Darcy and Grundy were ahead, no one is denying that, overall player Jackson is ahead. The rising star win is a suggestion of where Jackson is at as a player of his age
There some fancy dancing there.

Jackson is not better than Darcy and Grundy at the same age.

None of your endless crapping on above changes that.

Also, your crap about Jackson being better than Gawn is bull dust.

If Jackson was a better ruck for your midfield, wouldn’t they play him as the first ruck? And use Gawn forward where he is very dangerous?

Your anecdotal observations about Jackson in the ruck are at best just examples of a ruck going up against 2nd rucks / kfs like Dan mcstay and whoever the dogs through up as 2nd ruck fodder to get slaughtered.

If Jackson was a better ruck for your midfield, wouldn’t they play him as the first ruck? And use Gawn forward where he is very dangerous?

Your anecdotal observations about Jackson in the ruck are at best just examples of a ruck going up against 2nd rucks / kfs like Dan mcstay and whoever the dogs through up as 2nd ruck fodder to get slaughtered.
To be fair, they did start trying that but it didnt work very well for the most part...

It’s going to be 2 firsts don’t even try and argue it won’t be. Melbourne will be angling for Freo to find a top 10. I’m sure Melbourne will throw in a second Freo’s way.
13 + F1 with a 2nd coming back our way sounds about right.

We'll want to get it done before any other trades because we won't want all our currency to go to melbourne.

Jackson is ahead of them as players at the same stage. He won the rising star for a reason, there are AFL media that were claiming he was a top 3 ruckman already for a reason.

Again you try to manipulate what I’ve said. Never did I say he was better than Gawn. I said Melbournes midfield unit were better at winning centre clearances when Jackson went into the ruck. Melbourne were average at centre clearances the past 2 years but top 2 for stoppage clearances around the ground hence Gawn still the main ruck.

If you actually watched Melbourne instead of pulling hitout stats up you would notice Jackson was starting games in the centre square late in the season, round 20 vs Fremantle, round 21 vs the Pies, round 22 vs Carlton, round 23 vs Brisbane and the Qualifying final vs Sydney Jackson started the games in the centre square all going up against the oppositions number one ruck. Jackson’s time in the centre square was up late in the season but Gawn as an overall player is much better at the moment.

Also just because a 2nd ruck goes in the ruck it doesn’t mean they are going against other 2nd rucks. You think AFL coaches discuss with each other when they are making ruck changes?

Top 3 in the league already seems a bit rich

Wins 33.2% hitouts placing him 60th in the league, and equal 42nd for Hit outs to advantage

Our club is trying to mold him into a big bodied mid in the blicavs mould. I don't see it personally but that is the plan.

I think he's more suited to that role than a forward, he's much better following the footy rather than it coming towards him. I've always thought he'd potentially make a great wingman

Agree to disagree, the most we'll pay is a two firsts (this year and next) with a second coming back, or a first this year and second next year. Belly drives a hard bargain.

Oh yeah, big bad Belly sure did a number on us over Hogan and Langdon. We might end up with three first rounders for Luke based on his past efforts.

Happy Well Done GIF

Mate, did you see that other dude saying he's sick of Freo winning so many trades. We are apparently a trade bully

Top 3 in the league already seems a bit rich

Wins 33.2% hitouts placing him 60th in the league, and equal 42nd for Hit outs to advantage

Almost laughable to suggest he is top 3.

If that’s case Freo will have 2 of the top 3 rucks in the same side so that will be interesting
No one is claiming his hitout work was top 3, it was opinion’s of a few in the media (not mine) that had his overall game as a top 3 ruckman, this was first half of the year when he was in form. His 2nd half of the year wasn’t as good. 77BDB0C6-26B7-493C-8A7D-4C69173B91B3.jpeg

Traded Luke Jackson [Traded with #44 and #67 to Fremantle for #13, F1 and F2]