Malthouse is the answer

Ugh.... how about we start talking things like this after a couple of years or something... way too soon to be writing Ratts off IMO.

Also, just ignore that certain troll in this thread from out West.... from what I've seen every single post of his (it's?) is just pointless negativity and no personality whatsoever.

If Malthouse is the answer, why have Collingwood signed his death warrant 2 years in advance? Surely if he is that good Collingwood would not have seen fit to appoint Buckley as his successor. In fact they would have advised Buckley to look elsewhere as Malthouse would have the gig tied up for as long as he wants.

I know we have come a long way this year, but geez something inside of me just makes me doubt rats' ability to coach when the game is on the line, he has so much work to do over preseason, I reckon it's vital that we lure SOS over from the sainters to help us with our zoning, cos we are no good at it

It's an old cliche, but premierships are built on defense, not just defense as in our backline, but our ability to pressure the ball carrier, it's obvious that a lot of us have got carried away in saying we need another key defender, etc etc, but reality is we have the cattle their to build a backline around once jammo and waite come back, we desp need to work on our pressure cos too many blokes are far too happy to work one way and sit back when the ball is going the other way

It's imperative that Rats instils accountability in these players, cos we just concede far too easily, we averaged 93.4 pts against over the season, which is just far too high if you're going to do damage in the finals, and for a top 8 side in general imo, as a supporter our footy can be good to watch at time but it's so frustrating watching us win in high scoring shootouts

As for calling for Rats' head, it's just not going to happen, we have improved and are going in the right direction so there's no hope of him going anytime soon, MM would be great but it's a farfetched dream imo

As if we needed more proof you are a troll.

Malcolm Blight?

Get your hand off it.

omg first you try flirting with me and now you got thoughts of me with my hand on it. i told you mate i aint gay. go to the court hotel i am sure the people there would appreciate your advances. you would blend right in with that crowd.

You seem to know an awful lot about gay bars and not very much about football.

You're a regular I assume?

If anyone other than Ratts is to coach, the only one I would go for is Matthews

I would have to agree with you there... however, after our troubles with Pagan (double premiership coach) I would be a little wary about getting someone else in from another club.

Possibly get Lethal in as a coaching mentor for Ratts for 2 years by which time we should be heading towards a grand final.

First of all, whilst our clubs are bitter rivals, many Carlton posters are selling our team really short. We have a plethora of young and experienced talent in our team, highlighted by 6 nominations for AA selection and young players equipping themselves brilliantly when given the opportunity at senior level. We also had 3 NAB rising star nominations this year too.

It is unfair to compare Malthouse To Ratten though. Malthouse is an icon of the game. He is a premiership coach and has almost broken every record before him. He has proven time and time again he is a coaching genius and his ability to place faith in youth is brilliant. I'm sure Ratten would love to achieve half the career MM has. The unbias football public would agree.

You say Ratten makes a stand and drops players for poor behaviour. Last year Collingwood went into a finals series without two A-graders in Shaw and Didak and went to AAMI stadium and got the job done with kids. Carlton got bundled out in their first outing under Ratten. Also MM got one of the worst Collingwood teams (bar a handful of players) I have ever seen to consecutive GF's within 4 years.

You say Malthouse has compiled a team of no depth and 2009 has shown this. Granted if you take 1/4 of every teams star players out of the line-up at the same time they will struggle too. Didak, Davis, Medhurst, Thomas, Pendlebury, Cloke, Fraser, Anthony etc have all missed games of football this season. Collingwood still finished top 4. Last night Collingwood has 2 days less break, gave up a 5 goal head start, went in without Fraser and Pendles and were forced to make 5 changes to the line-up. Again, MM and his faith in youth got the job done.

Ratten has developed some terrific players in the last two seasons at Carlton, highlighted by the club's rise into the finals for the first time in almost a decade. He should be given time to see out his work before judgment is passed on him.

Sure, MM has not delivered Collingwood a flag. He has still won 2 though. Any coach, past or present would love to just even taste it once because the reality is, most coaches do not.

I am not knocking Collingwood (well... apart from the usual bitter rivalry stuff like your a bunch of feral trolls and your team are a bunch of sniping w***ers... thought I better get that out the way first so I can actually discuss this with you properly), but you are just not producing... it's almost as if you have gone into limbo. You do have a few talented players who would look good in blue (after a thorough delousing) but you do have a lot of ordinary players in your list who shouldnt be there.

MM has done an excellent job of getting the best out of the ordinary bunch, but he hasnt seemed to get the better players upto the truely elite level. It could be said that he has built a team of champions, but doesnt have any truely champion individuals in the squad.

He has a lot of experience at coaching and building good teams, but I really dont think that he would be an ideal fit for Carlton.

Ratts on the other hand at this point in time, is the guy that Carlton needed to start the proper rebuilding because Pagan had seriously lost the players and couldnt get their respect (as shown by the pictures of Stevens and Fev laughing and joking as they walked off the ground after losing a match...).

Ratts could conceivably turn out to be a multi-premiership winning coach, but he is only two years into his senior coaching job and has taken the blues from 15th to 7th in 2 years and playing the finals. If he manages next year, after some selective recruiting this year, to get us into the top 4 and to the third week of the finals will people still be calling for his head or will he be the saviour that everyone has always been saying he is (even those w***ers who are saying that we should sack him and get (insert generic coach name here)).

At the end of the day, MM has been coaching for near to 20 years (if not more) as a senior coach and undoubtedly he was crap when he started out and Ratts has only been doing the job for 2 years. Ratts deserves the support of everyone to do with the club as we start our run up to #17.

Congratulations. That post is easily the biggest load of shit I've ever seen on bigfooty in my short time of being here. I expect that sort of drivel from TheGeneral.

Pies had plenty of injuries last night, coming off a 6 day break and still won. Funny though. Half of your fans say Collingwood are only good cos of Malthouse and the other half say Malthouse is overrated and is a below average coach. Gotta love it.

Ratts is just about the worst coach in the AFL (only behind Harvey). Most of your supporters are starting to believe this too. If only you werent so biased you'd be able to see it too.

FWIW, Murphy and Gibbs excelling under Ratts is true but has nothing to do with Ratten. They'd florush under a gorilla coaching them. Taking a club from 15th to 7th with 15 1st round draft picks is no extraoridnary effort either.

And the best part of your drivel of shit was the no depth part. Hello, Carlton???

exactly couldnt have put it better myself.

As soon as these idiots open up there eye's proply they will relise ratten is just purely DUMB! ive been to almost every carlton game this year and boy he does not have a clue, with the amount of talent he has got in that team we really should have gone futher in september. not saying we should have won the gf but like everyone says he does not have a plan B.

Carlton will not win a premiship under rats, love what he done playing for the club but as a coach he really sucks!

Try: Second pick, 6th pick, first pick, first pick, second pick priority picks, etc. Plus Juddy!

A drover's dog could have coached them into the finals with Juddy and those picks.

hahaha exactly :thumbsu:

Bullshit, StKilda has how many top picks and they are only coming good now, doesn't matter how many picks you have the development still needs to put into them, just look at Richmond their development of their youngs kicks killed them.

Judd isn't the reason we played finals, its a team combination.

Congratulations. That post is easily the biggest load of shit I've ever seen on bigfooty in my short time of being here. I expect that sort of drivel from TheGeneral.

Pies had plenty of injuries last night, coming off a 6 day break and still won. Funny though. Half of your fans say Collingwood are only good cos of Malthouse and the other half say Malthouse is overrated and is a below average coach. Gotta love it.

Ratts is just about the worst coach in the AFL (only behind Harvey). Most of your supporters are starting to believe this too. If only you werent so biased you'd be able to see it too.

FWIW, Murphy and Gibbs excelling under Ratts is true but has nothing to do with Ratten. They'd florush under a gorilla coaching them. Taking a club from 15th to 7th with 15 1st round draft picks is no extraoridnary effort either.

And the best part of your drivel of shit was the no depth part. Hello, Carlton???

The Pies had plenty of injuries, even a Collingwood supporter said they only had Fraser and Pendles out, the others are fringe players, the turn around time is a load of horse shit, one less day, but don't forget Adeladie had to travel.

Carlton had Waite, Jammo and Austin missing for the bst part of rounds 12-22, yest we still manage to finish 7th (2 wins short of 3rd)

Rattent he worst coach behind Harvey....well based on 2009 he is the 10th worst coach, how many shit coaches takes a team to 13 wins and 110%???

And the depth thing, Carlton has depth for the first time in years, they go a lot deeper than Collingwood, which is why in the second part of the season when we had injuries we were still able to win games and win games against top teams.

YOu go and worrya bout how your club is going to get off the bottom part of the draw.

exactly couldnt have put it better myself.

As soon as these idiots open up there eye's proply they will relise ratten is just purely DUMB! ive been to almost every carlton game this year and boy he does not have a clue, with the amount of talent he has got in that team we really should have gone futher in september. not saying we should have won the gf but like everyone says he does not have a plan B.

Carlton will not win a premiship under rats, love what he done playing for the club but as a coach he really sucks!

OPen our eyes, to what?? a Carlton team that knows how to win, a team that can fight hard. Ratten has tried so many things this year in games to do something different.

THis whole plan A, B, C is bullshit, each game is different, you have a different opponent so you have a different plan.

Have you ever thought the teams above us have just as much talent and that is why it was so even in 2009, so saying we should have gone further is only based on us giving up a 5 goal lead in the Brisbane game, but hey that happens, we have been on the receiving and giving end.

So Ratten sucks, he has taken the team into the finals for the first time in 8 years, regardless of talent (which every club has) he has done it, he has built a team, not a team on individuals.

When he first took over the team he said 2008 would be a building year and in 2009 you would see a new look team, and guess what that is eactly it.

WE finished 7th but were two games short of 3rd, it just shows how close we were to a top for.

Again you all need to back off and see what he can do instead of trying to shoot him after two years, and if he had taken us to the bottom again then yes sack him, but we have moved forward, made finals and based on 2009 we should be top 6 again in 2010.

This game is not soccer where they sack coaches just for not finishing top, how long did it take Roos to get Sydney a GF win, or Thompson at Geelong....get a grip poeple, sit abck and enjoy the rise of Carlton and not try to shoot anybody you can.

...Maxwell, O'Bree, Swann, Lockyer, Fat Rocca, Anthony, L Brown, Toovey, Stanley etc, etc . lol. Seriously, no wonder the Pies are never successful. Malthouse might squeeze the very best out of these no-talents, but they'll always fall short when it matters e.g. Like Today. :)

Swan....the Brownlow favourite? The same guy who came second in the players MVP and won the Herald Sun player of the year?

Maxwell? The guy in the AA squad? What a player he has become.

It's ignorance like yours that deludes your supporters into believing you can actually win a final. You have a talented list, but to suggest ours isn't is ludicrous.

Bullshit, StKilda has how many top picks and they are only coming good now, doesn't matter how many picks you have the development still needs to put into them, just look at Richmond their development of their youngs kicks killed them.

Judd isn't the reason we played finals, its a team combination.

i understand where your coming from and i see your point. the thing is every one knows the players are going to take time to develop thats just football . but how long do we gotta wait for the spud ratten to develop because in all seriousness that final we played he did choke in that coaches box. he needed more time as a assistant . unfortunately at the time of his appointment there was no one else around. but now there is a few good quality coaches in the mix.

i didnt say the court hotel was a gay bar.

Oh really?

go to the court hotel i am sure the people there would appreciate your advances. you would blend right in with that crowd.

Nope... thats pretty much exactly what you said.

Whats this got to do with Collingwood and Malthouse anywa.... oh now I get it.

And what with this fascination with gay bars?

Military man hey... Is that you in the right hand corner by any chance?

village-people.jpg

Oh really?

Nope... thats pretty much exactly what you said.

Whats this got to do with Collingwood and Malthouse anywa.... oh now I get it.

And what with this fascination with gay bars?

Military man hey... Is that you in the right hand corner by any chance?

village-people.jpg

hahaha you had a pic of the village people now thats gay. anyways i aint gonna get into a who is gay debate thats a whole new thread . lets get back to the topic at hand. i just wanted you to stop the flirting with me .

lets get back to the topic at hand.

Ok fair call.

Your suggestion that the Club should approach Malcolm Blight to coach is perhaps one of the more ludicrous suggestions I have seen on this board for a long time.

For what its worth, Im not 100% sold on Ratts either.

In his defence however:

a) He is young and inexperienced (but improving),

b) He has limited options with the current list. Our backline this year was down Waite and Jamo for most of the year. We dont really have any swing players to throw around even if those two are fit (Waite up forward is about it).

c) Our 'young guns' are just that... young. They are improving as well. I note that in a lot of your posts critiqing Ratten you never seem to want to blame the players for a loss, only praise them for a win.

I have the following questions for you:

a) What winning moves would you suggest he (Ratten) should have made this year but didnt? I.e. shift player x to position y from position z?

b) Of our losses this year, which ones can you attribute to the players and not the coach (and why)?

c) Of our wins this year which ones can you attribute to the coach and not the players (and why)?

Ok fair call.

Your suggestion that the Club should approach Malcolm Blight to coach is perhaps one of the more ludicrous suggestions I have seen on this board for a long time.

For what its worth, Im not 100% sold on Ratts either.

In his defence however:

a) He is young and inexperienced (but improving),

b) He has limited options with the current list. Our backline this year was down Waite and Jamo for most of the year. We dont really have any swing players to throw around even if those two are fit (Waite up forward is about it).

c) Our 'young guns' are just that... young. They are improving as well. I note that in a lot of your posts critiqing Ratten you never seem to want to blame the players for a loss, only praise them for a win.

I have the following questions for you:

a) What winning moves would you suggest he (Ratten) should have made this year but didnt? I.e. shift player x to position y from position z?

b) Of our losses this year, which ones can you attribute to the players and not the coach (and why)?

c) Of our wins this year which ones can you attribute to the coach and not the players (and why)?

Blight was just a suggestion as going back to the 90's i thought he was a great coach and i still feel stkilda didnt give the bloke a fair chance. as for what winning moves he could have done in that final well anything would have been something. he sat there watching and didnt make a move when brissy was coming home. what type of coach sits there jaw wide open and does nothing. he could have floodded the backline when the run started. that would have maybe stopped bradshaw getting free and doing the damage. anything would have been ok instead of sitting there like a spud. the decision to drop garlett and betts was a silly decision and maye have costed us top 4. why didnt he just fine the players instead of putting us at a disavantage. one of our losses i gotta say the players contributed too was the loss to freo up at the gold coast. there really isnt a excuse for that. the players was flat that day and its the only game i can say we lost that on our merits without the help of ratts. i cant find a game where ratts contributed to a win. the players themselfs won the games on spirit. a 3 legged donkey could coach this side and get wins. its the pressure games that matter where the coach needs to step up and make changes and decisions that win games. ratts failed on every occasion on the big games. specially the last game of the year and the first final. actually i gotta say the win against geelong was a polished performance and i will give ratts some credit for that. he had his coaching head on that day. everything fell into place. we was brilliant.

Yep, bizarre isn't it. Bowden was in the AA side. See the point? AA selections have very little cred, and are mostly political. Putting Hackwell in the AA side is a complete joke, and you know that I suspect. :)

Don't be jealous that our captain actually plays for the jumper, not the wallet. He is one of the most improved players in the competition, and nothing you say will change it. Deny it all you like, distort it any way you wish... at the end of the day he has starred for the club all year and led his team into a prelim final [a team that is extremely young too]. Ah, the future is bright. Oh wait, we don't need to focus on the future yet... because the present is just as bright!

dane swan is a good player. i think he may even take out the brownlow this year. would love to have him running around the park in a navy blue jumper.

Malthouse is the answer...........

.......to a question no-one asked

Here are some facts worth considering:

1. Malthouse is able to get a fairly average bunch, Collingwood playing determined, disciplined, team-oriented and quite skilled football.
This is not a fact. The ones who play "highly skilled" football.......are not average players....they are highly skilled. Thomas, Pendles, Didak....all first round (top 5) picks.........the rest play some disciplined footy........not highly skilled.
2. Ratten is unable to get a more talented, but still fairly average bunch, playing determined, disciplined, team-oriented football. And what we see every week is error ridden skills.
Yet we won 13 games.....we a kick away from winning 15 games. Think of the upside. ;)
3. Malthouse is on the way out at Collingwood in favour of Buckley.
Finally......you have produced a "fact"......well done. :D
4. Ratten hasn't got the ruthlessness, nor coaching ability to take this mob past a top 4 spot.
Really? That's funny because after we lost to Collingwood people used the same line of reasoning (not actually a fact but an opinion) to suggest we wouldn't make the top 8.
Go figure.
Secondly, I'd call dropping 3 blokes on the eve of finals fairly ruthless, and possibly risking the finals campaign to make a point.
My solution? Make Malthouse an offer too good to refuse. Sack Ratten (pay him off) and buy out Malthouse's contract at Collingwood and start him in 2010.

My solution:

Look up the word "fact". Understand that you have misused it here.

Also understand that Ratten managed to get this team from 15th, to 10th, to 7th.........all without its number 1 ruckman, and to a large degree without his number 1 fullback and CHB......and their replacement.

What does that trajectory say to you? That he is a dud? Your reasoning is faulty. Try again.

Don't be jealous that our captain actually plays for the jumper, not the wallet. He is one of the most improved players in the competition, and nothing you say will change it.
He is one of the most improved players......funny what happens when you start to focus on the ball instead of the man isn't it?

He provided me with one of the funniest moments of the year though........starring down the camera.....complaining that Tigers players went the knuckle..........Nick "the elbow" Maxwell complaining about a bit of BIFF........what next Riewoldt complaining about players getting too emotional on the field?:eek:

i understand where your coming from and i see your point. the thing is every one knows the players are going to take time to develop thats just football . but how long do we gotta wait for the spud ratten to develop because in all seriousness that final we played he did choke in that coaches box. he needed more time as a assistant . unfortunately at the time of his appointment there was no one else around. but now there is a few good quality coaches in the mix.

Remind me again how much experience Voss has as an assistant........swiss cheese is what you have there.

For a nanosecond I considered finding an amusing pic of swiss cheese but neither the thread nor your arguments are worth the effort.