Maribyrnong Council and residents to mount legal challenge against "Bulldog Hilton"

You're deluded if you think it's simply "Dogs Affairs".

You sound like you have a vestive interest or affiliation with the council affairs Jorge from all your comments. You Sure your not a council member? Your comments in this thread really Reak of Bias...:(

I understand there has to be a limit on poker machines etc, but at the end of the day , people are not being forced to play them , and i agree with an above member that edgewater has only been there for 5 minutes and only represent a small minority of people in the council, so why not look after other people and solve other more important issues that need to be solved in the Footscray region, rather than this insignificant one?

It seems to me the council is relentless and is putting up obstacle after obstacle for the dogs

if i was going to decide NOW to jump on the anti pokie venue wagon, i wouldn't make the one that helps ensure my clubs survival the first one i go after.
Quite a valid point & I do think you have been consistant in your argument re: Poker Machines, not only on this thread but all of them on the issue.

I guess my take is that there appears to be a number of people in the community oppossed to Poker Machines full stop. No problem from me on that.

I'm not that gung ho, I suppose my concern is that every pub & club with its hand up seemed to get a foot in the door & perhaps the biggest benefactors have been the hotel owners.

Surely it would have been better granting licenses to sporting & community clubs that put the profits directly back into their own community, not pub owners pockets.

Stopping the granting of a gaming license at Edgewater is not really going to address the issue of problem gambling as there are a number of venues within the immediate proximity to cater for such needs.

I don't think you can run an 'anti gaming' argument with just one venue in mind; it has to be an argument against them all.

Also, I don't think name calling or casting aspersions about other posters aids the argument.

Wasn't the nett result of putting these pokies under one roof at Edgewater

11 less poker machines in the Maribyrnong Council area ?

Surely it would have been better granting licenses to sporting & community clubs that put the profits directly back into their own community, not pub owners pockets.

Thats a very good point.

And notably all the clubs developments are taking place in the Maribyrnong Shire.

"You have to ask why Hawthorn president Jeff Kennett is not putting these machines up and down Glenferrie Road," he said. "And why Eddie McGuire isn't doing the same thing along Toorak Road."

What's Collingwood got to do with Toorak Rd?

Clarke wants to make sure that his numbers are very carefully counted on this issue. He needs to ensure that's he isnt taking the biggest political gamble in his life because he will lose it badly.

I havent met one local resident who supports his stand and like Aker says there are far more important thibgs that council could be doing with the money they are going to lose in a pointless cosmetic exercise.

No probs, I just hope other's realise that too.

I think most of us realise and earlier in the peice I argued anti pokie a couple of years ago in the debates on here if we could go without them and be financially viable.

But I was persuaded by the debate that we can't.

And we and the community already have the pokies ex the social club and temporarily located at Spotswood and Bacchus Marsh.

And that we are just putting them under one roof "Edgewater" and cutting 11 in the process.

I'm also fairly sure that the Western Bulldogs are not the only Poker machine operators in the Maribyrnong Council area, yet the Mayor Michael Clarke does not give them a mention.

I think you hit the nail on the head there. I have a feeling that the owners of the Powell and the Palms don't want the competition.

Which brings us back to the point "The Coon Dog" raised in his post

Stopping the granting of a gaming license at Edgewater is not really going to address the issue of problem gambling as there are a number of venues within the immediate proximity to cater for such needs.

I don't think you can run an 'anti gaming' argument with just one venue in mind; it has to be an argument against them all.

It appears that the plan for a hotel and gaming venue were in place from Dec 2005. It didn't become public knowledge until December 2007 and funnily enough it was nowhere to be seen on the advertising material in between or even now.

Regardless, its a Tattersalls plan the council is fighting against not the Bulldogs. Tattersalls will be the ones making squillions a the expense of the local community. Money spent in the gaming venues is money not spent in the local community on stuff like Bulldogs membership.

It appears that the plan for a hotel and gaming venue were in place from Dec 2005. It didn't become public knowledge until December 2007 and funnily enough it was nowhere to be seen on the advertising material in between or even now.

Regardless, its a Tattersalls plan the council is fighting against not the Bulldogs. Tattersalls will be the ones making squillions a the expense of the local community. Money spent in the gaming venues is money not spent in the local community on stuff like Bulldogs membership.

I havent met one local resident who supports his stand

You should get out more

Firstly: "smeg" welcome to the forum

Secondly: I hope sooner rather than later you will post something about the club other than the Pokies issue.

Thirdly: I would like to draw your attention to the article in my original post in particular this part

The commission announced on Christmas Eve last year that it would support the joint venture between the Bulldogs and Tatts Group to operate poker machines at the four-star hotel in the Edgewater housing estate.

Cr Clarke said the $25 million project dubbed the "Bulldog Hilton" would exploit problem gamblers in the surrounding suburbs of Footscray and Braybrook.

"We don't need any more gaming venues in the city of Maribyrnong, we already lose $1148 for every person, which is the highest in the state," Cr Clarke said. "The people of the west love the Dogs, but I call on Andrew Demetriou and the AFL to help the Bulldogs become financially viable, without preying on the poor."

So I think others and I can rightfully assume by that extract that Mayor Clarke is planning this legal action against the Bulldogs (who are joint partners with Tatts)

If Mayor Clarke would like to send out a press release withdrawing the statement about the Maribyrnong Council wanting to persue a legal challenge against the Western Bulldogs Edgewater Poker Machine proposal.

I'm sure this matter and this thread would probably become distant memories which I'm sure would suit a lot of us.

Protest and Remonstrate about it ....fine :thumbsu: go your hardest

But for the council to take legal action against the wishes of a lot its voters I would say that is being a real thrill seeker and most likely a short term one at that. :)

Smeg,

You have just joined a minute ago and have instantly gone hard on a single issue.

Sounds like you're a council plant pretending to be a Bulldogs supporter. Sorry, you've got no credibility here.

How about you discuss Wayde Skipper's senior prospects this year?

These moral judgement threads are golden.

Nothing like a good inner conflict to wake people up....

Stop pokies, the club dies....

Allow pokies, we are preying on the poor and going against moral and community values....

Personally, our western community has far bigger problems than the relocation of 20 or so poker machines. The outrage is rather embarrassing.

With good grounds I would have thought. You don't see it that way?

Well they joined prior to this thread so suggesting that they are here to debate this thread would probably not be accurate.

I think Dogs supporters tend to be suspicious of everything that could be considered to be against the club. Sometimes it's not without good reason, but i think generally it's just a case of paranoia.

Obviously i don't know who this "smeg" is, although the username itself does have me flicking through the memory bank trying to recall specifics of either a former user of this forum or the old Dogs forum that existed on the official website...

Taking the posts at face value there doesn't seem to be too much other than some fact stating that would be easily enough obtained and a statement that i consider to be accurate.

The short answer is, i just don't know mate.

Reason why Kennett hasn't got pokies up and down Glenferrie Rd is that he got approval to put them in Caroline Springs.
Fair Dinkum, can you please use my rate revenue a bit more wisely thank you.

Maribyrnong Council and residents to mount legal challenge against "Bulldog Hilton"