Autopsy Match Simulation, 2023: St.Kilda v Melbourne

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 14 28.6%
  • Demons

Votes: 35 71.4%

Got no idea how this will be played, or who will be playing where- should be fun to watch. We did give Ratts the flick for basically under-achieving, so Lyon needs to make sure we are very competitive, even in practice matches, otherwise what was the point.

Hopefully Wood can fire on the wing and become a great wing combo with Hill, because at this stage it's tempting to put a line through DMac. That's sad because he had become a pretty good player, but it seems this ongoing calf issue is pretty dire.

Aside from that I'm really keen to see Hunter, he says he has been playing through the midfield, I'd love to see him become a point of difference in there along with Windy.

In terms of the forwards, it would be great to see signs that Sharman and Owens can become tough match-ups early in the year, which will make our forward line much better. A forward line of Membrey, Billings, Higgins, Butler, Owens and Sharman could actually be dangerous if they are able to defend well and it could be unpredictable.

Aside from that, guys like Coff who hasn't played for a while, Marshall in the ruck, I just want to see them get through the game without injury. And looking forward to seeing the first-year boys, Phillipou, Van Es etc.

It will probably actually be good if we get opened up a bit as it will become a learning opportunity for Ross.
Like Hill & Wood on the wings. They could both cook opposition players with their running capacity.

I watched the first half of the Geelong vs Hawks game yesterday, its only early but if Geelong can keep the majority of the best 30 on the park they will win it by 10 goals. Max Holmes will be a super star, their new recruits were very good Bowes is a player and Henry & Bruhn contributed. Ratulgolea looked brilliant down back they have the best and deepest list in competition by a long long way. On top of that they have a significant home ground advantage and a long history of club stability - they have been a very well run club for a long time.

Yeah yeah I see what you are saying and on paper for sure. But Melbourne were undefeated last year for a large chunk of the season, and looking like the best team in the comp by 100 country miles… until they weren’t. Footy will always be topsy turvy, never forget that we are still the last team to beat Geelong lol.

In all seriousness, there are a few on paper power houses this year, with Brisbane and Geelong looking stacked for talent. Tigers & Melbourne ain’t far behind. Collingwood, Carlton, Dogs, and Freo behind them. It’ll be a very tight competitive year IMO. I hope we can keep up with them but perhaps not a bad year to be building the house for the future so to speak.

Well you're no fun.
drunk homer simpson GIF

It really isn’t.

It means nothing.

If we win. Means nothing.
If we get pumped. Means nothing.

Port dismantled us. We then won 19 straight and made a granny
Well it can mean something. We live on that port game but there have been games that mean something. This one most likely won’t as some guys playing aren’t even our players. Injuries mean something. Young players showing something means something. The result really doesn’t matter. Certainly next week matters more.

Got no idea how this will be played, or who will be playing where- should be fun to watch. We did give Ratts the flick for basically under-achieving, so Lyon needs to make sure we are very competitive, even in practice matches, otherwise what was the point.
Seriously? Surely you are joking.

Probably doubtful they will play the full 6 quarters. Will be bloody hot out there and windy. Going by the games so far my thoughts of a sell out are about a million to one. Should be plenty of room. Hopefully plenty of beer but don’t forget the hat and cake the sunscreen on.

The hawks are going to get beaten by 10 goals on the regular this season I reckon.
Cats v hawks would be top versus bottom this year.

Got smashed this time last year and ended up going better than expected. I wouldn't bet my house on practice match form.

Can also recommend Heineken Zero.

Someone gave me a 6 pack of that , and its OK, so far i've had about 4 in 4 months.

Drinking Booze: Beer is one of the cheaper options, pretty fattening though.
Drinking softdrink. Beer is one of many many fattening options. More expensive than most.

Got smashed this time last year and ended up going better than expected. I wouldn't bet my house on practice match form.

During a pretty successful time for them, the Swans were renowned for losing just about every pre-season game they were in, and that was probably back when they actually had a proper NAB cup.

I think Lyon is there to sort the wheat from the chaff. Sorting out the systems and footy department stuff, setting standards of performance, mentally fortifying them etc.

If it doesn't work out it will probably mean a harder cull and turn over.

I watched some of the round 23 Sydney match. We aren't much different in skill, but they are just so much better drilled and organised. Saints had the more stylish and attractive passages of play but got caught out when multiple players all ran to one player and were easily rope-a-doped. Plenty looked like mental demons too. Snags kept missing sitters and we looked better when we didn't stop and think.

It looks like something that could be trained into them, not a massive skill deficiency or lack of talent. Hunter Clark and Nas were pulling off kicks so obscene that they should have been on pornhub. Battle is just a competitor and our backline looked disorganised but solid AF. All the pieces look there but the maximising of our asseyts isn't

Yes agreed but socially having a glass that looks like alcohol stops the weird stares/eyebrow raises/questions/abuse from the onlookers...

Back in the day i had an Iranian University lecturer. On an educational excursion, on the bus, a label had floated off a coke bottle into the ice water in the esky. This guy fishes it out , wraps it around a stubby and holds it up, "Just in case Allah is watching ".

1. It’s a practice game
2. You should expect the reigning premier to come out and look good early… it takes time for a challenger or 2 to find their feet

Apparently the Tigers and Roos stopped the game to try a few set play type scenarios against opposition without scores. I'm not sure the clubs are even playing it as a win loss type of situation. Just a little glimpse into how we might set up and a look at some new kids.

Autopsy Match Simulation, 2023: St.Kilda v Melbourne