Opinion Matthew Nicks: Adelaide's Coach

Is Matthew Nicks the right coach for Adelaide's rebuild?

• Firmly yes (I love what I'm seeing)

• Leaning yes

• Can't decide either way

• Leaning no (but don't sack him yet)

• Firmly no (he should be sacked)

Results are only viewable after voting.

You’re just stating a fact, that’s not an opinion and the only reason you are saying it is to try and show that we’ve improved. LOL
Fact/opinion, that was me talking a negative point, which goes against the grain of your “cheerleading” concept. Anyway I’m bored of repeating the same dialogues with you.

Same as last year. We could have been 2-1.

No comment on Richmonds talls kicking 8 between them? That didn't factor in the round 2 loss?
How did we get over run in the last quarter with the game in the balance against a massively depleted GWS in the heat?

So coaching can't be blamed because we had more scoring shots than GWS and Richmond?

What did Nicks tactically get wrong that cost us the GWS game? Brown being sub didn’t work - who was the next option, Hateley maybe? What would you have done differently?

I agree with Richmond we went in short defensively and that didn’t work for us. We probably didn’t expect Ryan to kick goals from outside 50 but beautiful conditions on the day for tall players. I assume Butts needed to rest his shoulder and Keane not quite ready yet. Personally think the issue is more list management in not having a back up KPD to go

What did Nicks tactically get wrong that cost us the GWS game? Brown being sub didn’t work - who was the next option, Hateley maybe? What would you have done differently?

I agree with Richmond we went in short defensively and that didn’t work for us. We probably didn’t expect Ryan to kick goals from outside 50 but beautiful conditions on the day for tall players. I assume Butts needed to rest his shoulder and Keane not quite ready yet. Personally think the issue is more list management in not having a back up KPD to go

Move experienced mids in when we were getting smashed out of the middle

He played EH over Thilthorpe

Genuine question. Where is the real change between 2022 and 2023 so far?

Rd 1 - 2022 Loss - Dominated in first half (-25) - Dominated in 2nd half (+24).
Rd 1 - 2023 Loss - Dominant first half (+28) - Killed in 2nd half (-44)

Rd 2 - 2022 - Loss - Dominated in first half (-23) - Beaten in 2nd half (-19).
Rd 2 - 2023 - Loss - Destroyed in first half (-45) - Better 2nd half (+13)

Rd 3 - 2022 Win - Beaten in first half (-16) - Dominated 2nd half (+20)
Rd 3 - 2023 Win - Even first half (+0) - Won 2nd half by 31 (10 minute slaughter).

Now to be honest - its not like we are going backwards, but its not like we are playing better footy than 2022. We were a dropped chest mark away from possibly being 0-3 this year. There have clearly some things that I have been ecstatic about that Nicks has done this year (and the past). He has varied up the midfield mix considerably, he has played our youngsters early and often. He has shown a willingness to try new things and listen to those around him.

But what hasn't changed as he is in his 4th year are the mind baffling selection issues and structural issues. Tyler Brown as the sub in round 1 and using him as a tagger when the game was in the balance was terrible. How we lost that game up 31 points at half time, going into the 4th quarter with a lead kicking to the goal scoring end with the Giants down 3 very very good players (Perryman, Whitfield and Kelly) in very hot conditions still boggles the mind. He then followed up that s**t show by selecting one key defender over 192cm against Richmond and to nobody's surprise but blind Freddy - Richmonds 3 talls kicked 8 goals between them and our stupid stupid stupid substitute decision didn't help again. These are mistakes a 4th year coach with over 60 games of coaching experience shouldn't be making.

Which leads us to round 4. At home against a Freo side who will be just as young as us and coming off 1 less day of Rest. I am glad we kept Butts in as Freo have gone tall in their forward line. We are missing 3 of our scoring forwards this week (FOG/McAdam/Pedlar) and also will be without two players we have used in the middle a lot this year (Berry/Schoenberg) - so what does Nicks do with Rachele? Who do we use as the SUB? What do we do with Dawson this week?

Lots of questions to be answered in 36 hours.
Too small a sample size in 2023 .....we had a number of similar games in 2022 to what we saw against PORT last weekend

Coaches though, can't survive without talent on-field ....I'm seeing improvement in the younger players & the addition of Rankine hugely changes the mix on gameday

We need to see consistency, not the Jekyll & Hyde performances of the 1st two rounds .....as I said though, small sample size, feeling optimistic though

Out of my entire post - thats your take. It isn't that we could have been 0-3 and therefore Nicks is s**t. Read my stance throughout the thread - I have listed many of Nicks positive qualities.

What I have also done (apparently with Bias) is point out his flaws. Once more - care to discuss this?

"But what hasn't changed as he is in his 4th year are the mind baffling selection issues and structural issues. Tyler Brown as the sub in round 1 and using him as a tagger when the game was in the balance was terrible. How we lost that game up 31 points at half time, going into the 4th quarter with a lead kicking to the goal scoring end with the Giants down 3 very very good players (Perryman, Whitfield and Kelly) in very hot conditions still boggles the mind. He then followed up that s**t show by selecting one key defender over 192cm against Richmond and to nobody's surprise but blind Freddy - Richmonds 3 talls kicked 8 goals between them and our stupid stupid stupid substitute decision didn't help again. These are mistakes a 4th year coach with over 60 games of coaching experience shouldn't be making."

I did watch it. It was a hell of a lot closer to our final against Essendon in 2009 than it was to our first 2 games.
I thought Whitfield got injured in the 2nd half of the 3rd quarter when they already got nearly level with us and Kelly got injured in the 2nd half of the last quarter when we were already cooked as our young and developing players who did all the heavy lifting in the 1st half unsurprisingly tired. I say the hot condition would have affected our entire young playing group more than GWS more experience playing group then them being 2 players down late in the game. Yes, we could have pushed Sloane and Keays back in midfield but did you really wanted that.....imagine the whingeing here by the downramper had that happened and we still loss lol.

What did he get right in that second half drubbing?

Brown as Sub was wrong, but his move into the middle was disastrous.

- On that - we have seen that quick running players are the best subs for us - Sholl / Jones tick. Brown/TT fail. Lets hope its Cook this week.

He persisted with Berry and Laird in the middle when they were both having shocking days and combined for 3 centre clearances. No Sloane in the middle in the last (which worked against Port). He got it massively wrong.

Didn't Butts practice all week and get ommitted? If he was truly hurt - we could have used Keane and had Borlase as the sub. Not ideal, but probably better than letting 3 key talls beat ya hands down.

I thought Whitfield got injured in the 2nd half of the 3rd quarter when they already got nearly level with us and Kelly got injured in the 2nd half of the last quarter when we were already cooked as our young and developing players who did all the heavy lifting in the 1st half unsurprisingly tired. I say the hot condition would have affected our entire young playing group more than GWS more experience playing group then them being 2 players down late in the game. Yes, we could have pushed Sloane and Keays back in midfield but did you really wanted that.....imagine the whingeing here by the downramper had that happened and we still loss lol.

Don't hear anyone winging about Sloane into the middle against the Power - was a great move.

GWS was without Whitfield & Perryman for the entire last quarter. After 4 minutes they lost Kelly (We were down by 8) Wehr was also injured and forced to come back on (probably shouldn't have come back).

Don't hear anyone winging about Sloane into the middle against the Power - was a great move.

GWS was without Whitfield & Perryman for the entire last quarter. After 4 minutes they lost Kelly (We were down by 8) Wehr was also injured and forced to come back on (probably shouldn't have come back).
Perryman was subbed very early so it didn't affect their rotation per-se and we didn't benefit from this overall since we used Brown as the sub which was definitely a very questionable choice and I said had we loss with Nicks pushing Keays and Sloane back in the middle.......

Perryman was subbed very early so it didn't affect their rotation per-se

That definitely hurts them. Their sub effectively becomes a regular 22 player and they lose all advantage of fresh legs.

and we didn't benefit from this overall since we used Brown as the sub which was definitely a very questionable choice

Correct. Massive blunder by Nicks.

and I said had we loss with Nicks pushing Keays and Sloane back in the middle.......

Whats the point? Nicks shouldn't have put Sloane / Keays into the middle because Bigfooty posters would have been critical?

That definitely hurts them. Their sub effectively becomes a regular 22 player and they lose all advantage of fresh legs.

Correct. Massive blunder by Nicks.

Whats the point? Nicks shouldn't have put Sloane / Keays into the middle because Bigfooty posters would have been critical?
They didn't really lose an advantage since we had Brown as the sub though. Most do, don't they especially since we (me included) have been very critical for a long time of Nicks using Sloane and Keays in the midfield. I actually like he didn't do this, we are still in a rebuild so let the youngster gain experience.

So you were unhappy that Nicks put Sloane into the middle in the last quarter that helped swing the game and give us a showdown win?

Genuine question. Where is the real change between 2022 and 2023 so far?

Rd 1 - 2022 Loss - Dominated in first half (-25) - Dominated in 2nd half (+24).
Rd 1 - 2023 Loss - Dominant first half (+28) - Killed in 2nd half (-44)

Rd 2 - 2022 - Loss - Dominated in first half (-23) - Beaten in 2nd half (-19).
Rd 2 - 2023 - Loss - Destroyed in first half (-45) - Better 2nd half (+13)

Rd 3 - 2022 Win - Beaten in first half (-16) - Dominated 2nd half (+20)
Rd 3 - 2023 Win - Even first half (+0) - Won 2nd half by 31 (10 minute slaughter).

Now to be honest - its not like we are going backwards, but its not like we are playing better footy than 2022. We were a dropped chest mark away from possibly being 0-3 this year. There have clearly some things that I have been ecstatic about that Nicks has done this year (and the past). He has varied up the midfield mix considerably, he has played our youngsters early and often. He has shown a willingness to try new things and listen to those around him.

But what hasn't changed as he is in his 4th year are the mind baffling selection issues and structural issues. Tyler Brown as the sub in round 1 and using him as a tagger when the game was in the balance was terrible. How we lost that game up 31 points at half time, going into the 4th quarter with a lead kicking to the goal scoring end with the Giants down 3 very very good players (Perryman, Whitfield and Kelly) in very hot conditions still boggles the mind. He then followed up that s**t show by selecting one key defender over 192cm against Richmond and to nobody's surprise but blind Freddy - Richmonds 3 talls kicked 8 goals between them and our stupid stupid stupid substitute decision didn't help again. These are mistakes a 4th year coach with over 60 games of coaching experience shouldn't be making.

Which leads us to round 4. At home against a Freo side who will be just as young as us and coming off 1 less day of Rest. I am glad we kept Butts in as Freo have gone tall in their forward line. We are missing 3 of our scoring forwards this week (FOG/McAdam/Pedlar) and also will be without two players we have used in the middle a lot this year (Berry/Schoenberg) - so what does Nicks do with Rachele? Who do we use as the SUB? What do we do with Dawson this week?

Lots of questions to be answered in 36 hours.

Id say you are trying to look too hard for no improvement. Anyone can selectively cherry pick stats and instances in hindsight to support their argument. Evidence behind those +/- scores you have put up dont support your stance.

Id say improvement is shown by:

Round 1 - 2022 we had 6 less scoring shots than opposition, in 2023 we had 1 less shot, but in 2022 we were never really in the game. Half time it was 17 scoring shots to 7 in oppositions favour, the scoreboard did not reflect how much better Freo were than us. 2023 was the opposite, 20 to 12 scoring shots our way, our kicking kept GWS in it. In 2023 we were accurate kicking away from GWS never having a sniff of a win.
2022 - Obvious loss, 2023 - loss due to inaccurate kicking.

Round 2 - 2022 we were spanked by Collingwood. Kicking 1.5 in the opening term did not set the tone well, and in a young side never underestimate the collective head dropping a quarter like that can bring. End result 25 scoring shots to 18. In 2023, we actually had more scoring shots. 22 to 16 at 3/4 time, finishing 26 to 23. Richmond kicked well above AFL average with 17.6, us below at 10.16. If both sides kicked at AFL average accuracy, we win.
2022 - Obvious loss, 2023 - loss due to inaccurate kicking.

Round 3 - 2022 was a classic game BUT should we have won? 15.6 by us is well above AFL accuracy rates. Port had more shots, their game play generated more chances for goal. 27 shots to our 21. We won, but I feel we were lucky. In 2023, we won well, and the shots on goal reflects this. 27 to 21 shots in our favour.
2022 - Lucky win, 2023 - solid win.

So in each game this year we have done enough to generate scoring shots but have failed to convert in 2 of them. If we kicked the same accuracy rate last week vs Port as we did in round 1 and 2, its line ball if we win or suffer a heart breaking loss. People need to realise the difference in a win/loss in a game like last week can come down to 6 single kicks at goal. If we missed those shots but played the exact same game, half the people on here would be calling for the usual delistings rather than praising players. They would be calling for Nicks head, they would be saying the rebuild is a failure. All based on 6 kicks at goal.

You know what other game was massively influenced by goal kicking accuracy? The 1998 GF. Had north not kicked 2.11 in that 2nd quarter, we would be wallowing away with 1 flag in our history.

TLDR?
2022 first 3 rounds - We kicked 35.26 to oppositions 39.41. Our 61 scoring shots to oppositions 80

2023 first 3 rounds - We kicked 40.43 to oppositions 45.30. Our 83 scoring shots to oppsitions 75.

An improvement that amounts to 7.3 more scoring shots per game than last year, and decrease in oppositions scoring by 1.7

Berg over TT at selection and Dawson playing back are two glaring errors.

What did he get right in that second half drubbing?

Brown as Sub was wrong, but his move into the middle was disastrous.

- On that - we have seen that quick running players are the best subs for us - Sholl / Jones tick. Brown/TT fail. Lets hope its Cook this week.

He persisted with Berry and Laird in the middle when they were both having shocking days and combined for 3 centre clearances. No Sloane in the middle in the last (which worked against Port). He got it massively wrong.

Didn't Butts practice all week and get ommitted? If he was truly hurt - we could have used Keane and had Borlase as the sub. Not ideal, but probably better than letting 3 key talls beat ya hands down.

We’re lucky that TT was sub. Without that AFL game time he’d have remained in the SANFL last week.

Berg over TT at selection and Dawson playing back are two glaring errors.

As we have debated before Dawson has played back as a necessity to support our inexperienced backline. With Murray and Hinge stepping up, and Doedee improving toward his old form it has been easier to move him up the field. But he has made an even bigger difference than expected - as you predicted

On face value picking Berg is the wrong call. But as has been widely reported those within the club feel the Sanfl time was invaluable for TT to find his confidence and that not picking him has helped gain the result we have seen since he came back in

Now you won’t believe those reports because Nicks is just covering up his errors and that’s an opinion - with no more support to it than the complete opposite opinion - that is your right to have

You do have to concede though - the squad does look like it’s developing in the right direction, we do look like we have a game plan, and perhaps the system this coaching group has put in place over the last 3 years is bearing some fruit - even if it’s in spite of the errors they made along the way

And if Nicks is still a dud , then Hamish and Reid must get credit for building a very good squad

As the club said the rebuild is complete - that shows in our performances in all 4 games so far.

We are now at the point of filling holes in our list - with another big mid, a ruckman and a KPD the priority to move up to a premiership contender.

You’re just stating a fact, that’s not an opinion and the only reason you are saying it is to try and show that we’ve improved. LOL
I guess the joke’s on you because the stats that I showed is in line with the improvement. Unless you’re giving me the LOL because you think we’re not improving?

Didn’t rotate guys thru the middle , was even more important due to heat

Dawson and Keays to middle half way thru the 3rd , I’d be surprised if we lose …

Round 2 the tall defender thing was important but don’t think it cost us the game , just gave us less chance to win

I guess the joke’s on you because the stats that I showed is in line with the improvement. Unless you’re giving me the LOL because you think we’re not improving?
I’m giving you a lol because you thought you were being critical, it was only to highlight a positive so lol

As we have debated before Dawson has played back as a necessity to support our inexperienced backline. With Murray and Hinge stepping up, and Doedee improving toward his old form it has been easier to move him up the field. But he has made an even bigger difference than expected - as you predicted

On face value picking Berg is the wrong call. But as has been widely reported those within the club feel the Sanfl time was invaluable for TT to find his confidence and that not picking him has helped gain the result we have seen since he came back in

Now you won’t believe those reports because Nicks is just covering up his errors and that’s an opinion - with no more support to it than the complete opposite opinion - that is your right to have

You do have to concede though - the squad does look like it’s developing in the right direction, we do look like we have a game plan, and perhaps the system this coaching group has put in place over the last 3 years is bearing some fruit - even if it’s in spite of the errors they made along the way

And if Nicks is still a dud , then Hamish and Reid must get credit for building a very good squad

As the club said the rebuild is complete - that shows in our performances in all 4 games so far.

We are now at the point of filling holes in our list - with another big mid, a ruckman and a KPD the priority to move up to a premiership contender.

If you can sway Josh Jenkins around .....Nicks must be good

Won’t get an argument from me on Reid or Hamish. And what else do you expect from the club after TT embarrassed them? You reckon they’ll admit to the error? If we decided to play just Fog and Tex it’d be ok, but we favoured Berg over him, you simply can’t be anything but critical over that.

On Nicks coaching, I was told regularly by my mate Wayne last year, that Nicks defensive game plan last year was to teach us defence, because that was the foundation of all rebuilds.

I questioned what pushing all our small forwards up the ground to clog up play and to win contested ball was teaching, given when we stopped doing that we’ve taught our players nothing except we need lots of players around the ball.

So this year we are more attacking, but leaking like a siev. So what did we learn?
What do you think has been learned ?.....or, as in the building of any team, it's a stage by stage development .....one building block, added to by the next

It's the order in which the building blocks are applied .....and whether the foundations are sand or cement
I've said, the foundation of this rebuild was a) Contested Finals like Footy b) drafting / recruiting contested players ....and this, you've been critical of

Then you overlay the class .....but I've outlined this to you too many times

Your thrust about minimizing losses last year, ignored the psyke of competing, which is infectious thru the team, and aids development ......playing pretty footy & having 10 goal losses, sets the development back

But, you have your opinions