Merged Collingwood / Eddie discussion threads

Re: Inside word on Eddie spraying the entire playing list on Monday

Eddie called the entire collingwood football club together on monday and delivered one of the biggest sprays ever remembered at the footy club.

No senior player was spared and it was the most scary Ed has ever been before.

Some of the direct things that he said in his spray:

Ben Johnson was fat
John Anthony's hair cut was a disgrace for a 3rd year player.

They are the only two specifics I have at the moment but I will have more to come.

In my opinion, Eddie and Malthouse should be shown the door. So much for a united football club when the president criticises the hair cut of one of the players and calls another one fat. He has too big a role to play down there and his and Malthouse's time is up. They have not delivered on a premiership, so they have run their race as far as I'm concerned.

His ruthlessness towards the players is the final straw for mine. Fancy treating them like school boys. Eddie, have a look at yourself before you start having a go at others. You and Mick have got us no closer to a flag than what we were when Malthouse came to the club in 2000. How long do you need? Stop worrying about off-field issues and get the on-field department right for a change.

gold

(Oh dear I'm about to defend Eddie McGuire)

This is a president that took a club with terrible financials to a Melbourne financial powerhouse, who hired a coach that took the list to 2 GF appearances, stopped only by the greatest team in modern history.
Eddie is furious because the Collingwood "brand" has been severely tarnished due to recent events, and it is clear the approach in recent times to player misbehaviour isn't working.

Eddie is one of the better Presidents in the AFL and there are a couple of idiots on the playing list I'd cut before giving McGuire his marching orders.

I agree with most of this, but one thing Eddie is not is the coach. When you have a president of a club getting involved in the nitty-gritty of player and team management, you're in for trouble. You'd have to think a lot of his actions are completely undermining Malthouse, who appears to be letting it happen.

You and Mick have got us no closer to a flag than what we were when Malthouse came to the club in 2000.

You came off a wooden spoon and played in two GFs within four years. Much closer, I'd say.

On and off field Colingwood have gone from being a rabble to being respected under these guys' guidance.

Whether they handle these issues the right way is a different issue, but you can't rewrite history to say Eddie and Mick's years have all been a waste of your valuable time.

Eddie called the entire collingwood football club together on monday and delivered one of the biggest sprays ever remembered at the footy club.

No senior player was spared and it was the most scary Ed has ever been before.

Some of the direct things that he said in his spray:

Ben Johnson was fat
John Anthony's hair cut was a disgrace for a 3rd year player.

They are the only two specifics I have at the moment but I will have more to come.

In my opinion, Eddie and Malthouse should be shown the door. So much for a united football club when the president criticises the hair cut of one of the players and calls another one fat. He has too big a role to play down there and his and Malthouse's time is up. They have not delivered on a premiership, so they have run their race as far as I'm concerned.

His ruthlessness towards the players is the final straw for mine. Fancy treating them like school boys. Eddie, have a look at yourself before you start having a go at others. You and Mick have got us no closer to a flag than what we were when Malthouse came to the club in 2000. How long do you need? Stop worrying about off-field issues and get the on-field department right for a change.

I have come back from the future, and I can tell all of the fans that.......

The new president and coach of Collingwood are.........

nathanbuckley_wideweb__470x379,0.jpg

Hypothetical....
What if Didak was actually driving, they both know if it comes out he is driving he is gawn. Heater decides to take the 'heat'. One lie leads to another and then Didak wasn't even there at all.
I understand that both players made a statement to police that Shaw was the driver, Didak was the passenger, and the reason for the collision was that Shaw was swerving to avoid hitting an animal that had strayed on to the road.

First: if that is the case, I'm not sure why they would then make a public statement that Didak wasn't in the car at all, as this would be inconsistent with the police report.

Second: if Didak was driving, and he and Shaw made false statements to the police to the effect that Shaw was driving, this would be an offence under the Road Safety Act and would attract a penalty of a $6000 fine.

So I reckon Shaw was driving.

They are certainly taking their time in getting their stories together before they deliver them to the press.

I understand that both players made a statement to police that Shaw was the driver, Didak was the passenger, and the reason for the collision was that Shaw was swerving to avoid hitting an animal that had strayed on to the road.

First: if that is the case, I'm not sure why they would then make a public statement that Didak wasn't in the car at all, as this would be inconsistent with the police report.

Second: if Didak was driving, and he and Shaw made false statements to the police to the effect that Shaw was driving, this would be an offence under the Road Safety Act and would attract a penalty of a $6000 fine.

So I reckon Shaw was driving.

.....and when asked what kind of animal it was that they tried to avoid hitting, both couldn't recall...funny that.:confused:

Witnesses at the scene claim Didak was the driver....:eek:

....but i say lets give them both the benefit of the doubt as they have shown to be upstanding, truthfull, honest citizens now haven't they.:rolleyes:

Everyone is missing the biggest issue out of all this.

Dids is now in the frame for the Kennedy assassination!! Call the FBI and have them look closely at the grassy knoll, I am sure you can see a glimpse of a Collingwood jumper. :D

Re: IF Collingwood and Eddie were serious they would.........

Players should drink if that's how they let their hair down.

If they want to be professional sportsmen, no. If they want to hit the piss all the time, then we can return to the semi-professional days where they worked in banks or were tradies.

There are plenty of jobs out there where you cant hit the piss all the time and professional sports is one of them.

Whether they handle these issues the right way is a different issue, but you can't rewrite history to say Eddie and Mick's years have all been a waste of your valuable time.
Fair enough but they ultimately have not delivered. The right question was asked. How long? MM has had more than long enough IMO as I have said for some time now. Eddie I am undecided on. Fundamentally his backing of a failed coach should be the paramount assessment criteria when you are as hands on as Eddie. That said he dragged the club up from the gutter by the bootlaces to the point where we can wear any flack from this and it won’t make a jot of difference. However I fear Eddie will make the weak and possibly even ego driven decision to trade Didak. For me that will seal it. That will convince me we won’t win a flag under Eddie. I am already convinced we won’t win one under Mick and while Eddie is welded to Mick Eddie is a big part of the problem.

Now if Eddie is going to introduce some accountability in these player off field issues then I’d like to know what accountability he is introducing and abiding by for football department performance issues.

.....and when asked what kind of animal it was that they tried to avoid hitting, both couldn't recall...funny that.:confused:

Witnesses at the scene claim Didak was the driver....:eek:

....but i say lets give them both the benefit of the doubt as they have shown to be upstanding, truthfull, honest citizens now haven't they.:rolleyes:

I have heard it was a pink elephant...

. However I fear Eddie will make the weak and possibly even ego driven decision to trade Didak.

Collingwood doesn't exist in a vacuum. The Weagles had to get rid of their favourite son a year after winning the premiership. if you think Collingwood is immune to pressure from outside your kidding yourself.

There are two ways of looking at it, he could be "strong" for keeping Didak, and not bowing to pressure, or he could be "weak" and keep him because the team needs him for this season and next. You only have to look at the Eagles to see that these things don't go away.

(Oh dear I'm about to defend Eddie McGuire)

This is a president that took a club with terrible financials to a Melbourne financial powerhouse, who hired a coach that took the list to 2 GF appearances, stopped only by the greatest team in modern history.
Eddie is furious because the Collingwood "brand" has been severely tarnished due to recent events, and it is clear the approach in recent times to player misbehaviour isn't working.

Eddie is one of the better Presidents in the AFL and there are a couple of idiots on the playing list I'd cut before giving McGuire his marching orders.

Well said mate.:thumbsu:

Re: IF Collingwood and Eddie were serious they would.........

If they want to be professional sportsmen, no.
I disagree that professional sportsmen can’t drink. In a football context I even think it is beneficial. As I said though, the where, how and when are important considerations.
If they want to hit the piss all the time, then we can return to the semi-professional days where they worked in banks or were tradies.
Sure but now you are getting into the where, how and when.

Collingwood doesn't exist in a vacuum. The Weagles had to get rid of their favourite son a year after winning the premiership. if you think Collingwood is immune to pressure from outside your kidding yourself.
OK so are you equating all transgressions or are you just pushing this one up the ladder to long term drug use and admitted addiction?
if you think Collingwood is immune to pressure from outside your kidding yourself.
Not immune but presently well armoured.
There are two ways of looking at it, he could be "strong" for keeping Didak, and not bowing to pressure, or he could be "weak" and keep him because the team needs him for this season and next. You only have to look at the Eagles to see that these things don't go away.
Or at North to see premierships. Or at Brisbane for the ultimate pragmatists success as a premiership coach.

In any event, define these things?

One person who has escaped criticism in this Collingwood debacle is the CEO , Gary Pert.
At yesterdays press confrence, Pert blatantly and intentionally lied to the media and footballing public over Didak's involvement. When asked about the incident he stated that no mention of Didak was in the police report - LIE.
I just wondering what is the lie
a) the fact the he had seen the police report
b) the fact that Didak's name wasn't on the the police report.
IMO he never saw the police report.
Either way it was a blantant and pathetic attempt to mislead the footballing community.
I can understand Eddie's misguided faith in trusting his players, but for the CEO to intentionally lie and treat collingwood fans and the footballing public as morons is another thing all together.
I suppose a fish rots from the head down.

No matter what this afternoons events deliver us there is going to be a section of the community who are unhappy.

Sack either player & the fans & members will be upset, don't sack them & the media & every non Collingwood person will be scathing in there criticism(even more so than now).

Bart Simpson said it best:

"You're damned if you do & you're damned if you don't"

I think this will be the punishment for both players;

A Didak will get a 4 game club suspension, contract will be changed with the off field clause again and will be going to alcohol counseling.

H Shaw will get a 2 game suspension from the leadership group for lieing, $10K fine will stay and he will also go get alcohol counseling.

There is no way in hell they will sack A Didak..

Merged Collingwood / Eddie discussion threads