Mitch McGovern 2: As The Worm Turns (read the OP)

What is it with these Carlton tools, their club is a complete embarrassment yet they pop up each off season chirpy as ****.

You would think they would spend their time trying to work out how come they have had so many top 10 picks and yet their club continues to go backwards - 2 wins for a season ffs.

573804_78a9e8c7189c271b6fa45c3dfd68aed1.jpg

Would cost you 2 first rounders though.
But seriously as Adelaide start their rebuild this year, what positions need prioritising in this years draft. Fantastic draft hand so Adelaide should be hopeful of pushing for finals again in 5-6 years but can't afford to take quality players that leave after a few years.
Always admired your ability to develop players (something Carlton have struggled with until the last couple of years) but must bea focus on local talent perhaps?
Good luck in the draft!
It's done now leave.

But seriously as Adelaide start their rebuild this year, what positions need prioritising in this years draft. Fantastic draft hand so Adelaide should be hopeful of pushing for finals again in 5-6 years but can't afford to take quality players that leave after a few years.
Always admired your ability to develop players (something Carlton have struggled with until the last couple of years) but must bea focus on local talent perhaps?
Good luck in the draft!

Carlton mindset. Good sides dont wait 5-6 years between finals appearances mate.

You're probably right but lets get to 300 salty pages. Some serious stamina on this board in this thread.
Good luck with year 14 of your "first ever" rebuild

He doesn't sound excited .....but if he said "I'm Excited" any more often, you'd think he was trying to convince someone? .....maybe himself :p
Hahaha McGovern said Carlton’s one of the big four sides in Melbourne.
Yeah, nah. They are the laughing stock down here, big 4s in the 90s maybe.

Good luck in the draft!
I think what we are going to do is a thorough case study on Carlton’s rebuilt and list management strategy.....and then do the complete opposite.

Should get us a flag by 2019!

All things pass .....Carlton as one of the Melbourne big 4 clubs was more in VFL times

Good luck in the draft!
Start their rebuild? We're not rebuilding - this isn't GC - or worse still Carlton

What is it with these Carlton tools, their club is a complete embarrassment yet they pop up each off season chirpy as ****.

You would think they would spend their time trying to work out how come they have had so many top 10 picks and yet their club continues to go backwards - 2 wins for a season ffs.
If I was a Carlton fan, I'd hate footy season. Off season would be the best time of the year

Carlton are a loser club with their 23 year premiership drought.

Not like us and our 20 year premiership drought. Suckers.

Notwithstanding I tend to think we've enjoyed going to the footy on a week to week basis a bit more for the last 20 years

Good luck in the draft!

If we are 5 to 6 years away from playing finals football.

Where does that leave Carlton? 10 to 12 as didn’t we beat your lot by close to 100 points in the final round?

Good one

Notwithstanding I tend to think we've enjoyed going to the footy on a week to week basis a bit more for the last 20 years

Sure, but who'll remember it if they win a couple of flags before us?

You reckon Sydney and Geelong fans are mourning their dark years these days?

Which one isn't one of the "big 4"? Mitch

Sure, but who'll remember it if they win a couple of flags before us?

You reckon Sydney and Geelong fans are mourning their dark years these days?

I get the history/legacy thing is important.

But so is having fun going to the footy.

Ideally you have both. Having one beats neither though

I get the history/legacy thing is important.

But so is having fun going to the footy.

Ideally you have both. Having one beats neither though

To some degree though, I think the net happiness argument is flawed in that it suggests we've had it good.

I think teams with recent premierships have supporter bases that are far far happier than the enjoyment I get from watching us beat Carlton by 10 goals in a season we don't make the finals.

My personal experience from watching my Eagles win the superbowl reflects this: my team's having a bad season this year and I'm not particularly fussed. I've got that superbowl to fall back on. I've seen it.

To some degree though, I think the net happiness argument is flawed in that it suggests we've had it good.

I think teams with recent premierships have supporter bases that are far far happier than the enjoyment I get from watching us beat Carlton by 10 goals in a season we don't make the finals.

My personal experience from watching my Eagles win the superbowl reflects this: my team's having a bad season this year and I'm not particularly fussed. I've got that superbowl to fall back on. I've seen it.
I would rather have had winning seasons, year in and year out. Sports exist in the present and the future, and barely the past.

I think premierships are very enjoyable for a month, are great for bragging rights for maybe six months, then they're just distant memories. There's something sad about referring to a flag from more than a year ago.

That being said - winning needs to eventually amount to something. Otherwise you have our fantastic years from the early 2000s, that now have been pretty much forgotten.

I would have hated to have been Carlton supporters, with the years of complete humiliation. That just mounts up.

Mitch McGovern 2: As The Worm Turns (read the OP)