Game Day NAB Challenge Wk 1 - Carlton v Hawthorn Gameday Discussion

At least Jones worked hard when he didn't have the footy last night - something that we couldn't have said for the majority of last year.

Actually the criticism has always been that Jones doesn't work hard enough...general consensus is that he does have the natural ability.

Its not always your night and things didn't go Jones' way in an attacking sense last night, but if he keeps up that endeavour it will turn for him...so based on that we should see his tackling and effort as a positive.

Also to be fair...i watched the replay today and none of Jones' marks were 'easy'.
A couple low to the ground he had to dive for, one a bit high over his head, a few others when the defender was able to just get a hand in (maybe Jones' positioning could have been better?).

Yes it would be nice to see him mark at least a few of them, but its not like he spilt absolute gimme's.
As a KPF you'd expect him to take atleast one contested mark. Hopefully Casboult is used as the only KPF this year.

Walker, Everitt, CCurnow and other medium forwards are enough support.

I think we're all reading just a little too much in this one outing.

Bolton would have been very happy with Whiley and Kerridge for effort and for some execution.
Even when they didn't take possession of the ball themselves, they made it hard on the opposition.

Will be nice to have some more clean hands around the contest and no doubt Murphy and Cripps will give us that.
Still not sure why Docherty hasn't been trialed through the centre............maybe a little later in the year?

Does Docherty have the fitness or the nous?

I don't see a problem with just setting him in the backline and cementing his place there...its easy to forget he's still pretty new and hasn't played THAT many games. Also he's one of the main leaders back there.

Lots of positives, but our forwardline is a worry. Our crumbing was really poor.

My god what we would give to have Bruest in our team..he kicked 3 goals from nothing plays...just individual brilliance and a few nice crumbing goals.

We really need to learn how to 'snap' goals like Hawthorn...Bruest, Puopolo, Rioli do it so well and Mitchell did one last night.
It just makes it so hard to defend against them and they make it look so easy.

I haven't really seen any of our players even try to snap a goal since Eddie and Jeffy, so it makes our forward line predictable.

Really hope Bolton is training the forwards in particular hard at this skill.

Starting to build a core of players who just love the club and wanna be here for the duration.

SOSOS, DylBuck, Murph, Krooz, Doc, Crippa, Zac, Dangles, Simmo, Ed, Nicky G.

My god what we would give to have Bruest in our team..he kicked 3 goals from nothing plays...just individual brilliance and a few nice crumbing goals.

We really need to learn how to 'snap' goals like Hawthorn...Bruest, Puopolo, Rioli do it so well and Mitchell did one last night.
It just makes it so hard to defend against them and they make it look so easy.

I haven't really seen any of our players even try to snap a goal since Eddie and Jeffy, so it makes our forward line predictable.

Really hope Bolton is training the forwards in particular hard at this skill.
Yep. We have to start scoring min 100 points per game to be always around the mark.

As a KPF you'd expect him to take atleast one contested mark. Hopefully Casboult is used as the only KPF this year.

Walker, Everitt, CCurnow and other medium forwards are enough support.

Yes i know but Jones has shown in the past he knows how to take a contested grab...thats not his main area of concern...typically its his effort and fitness.

Having said that i agree with you.
Casboult, Walker & Everitt, along with the resting ruckman, is plenty of height for the real season.

I was harsh on Whiley and Tutt but bad disposal is a killer. Whiley isn't confident enough in his skills himself you can see it. Tutt just floats it too high or goes out of bounds entirely. Curnow is a limited player but he's still confident with ball in hand and more often than not it gets where he wants it and quick.

Starting to build a core of players who just love the club and wanna be here for the duration.

SOSOS, DylBuck, Murph, Krooz, Doc, Crippa, Zac, Dangles, Simmo, Ed, Nicky G.

Refreshing to see. And that we have quite a few of them.

Could never see any of those guys voluntarily leave...and of course clubs will go hard at Cripps, but id be shocked if he ever said he wanted out (Carlton will look after him well though of course, giving him no real reason to).

Next captain in waiting kind of like Heppell at Essendon who wouldn't leave even through tough times.

Bit harsh on Whiley. Overall he had a good game and was actually one of our better players (only played first half).

I'd say he may have been the difference in the middle and in the contest in the second half, as without him running through the middle we sort of dropped off a bit. But we will never know.

I was harsh on Whiley and Tutt but bad disposal is a killer. Whiley isn't confident enough in his skills himself you can see it. Tutt just floats it too high or goes out of bounds entirely. Curnow is a limited player but he's still confident with ball in hand and more often than not it gets where he wants it and quick.

Confidence can change quite quickly though like in Whiley's case...so far too early to write him off.
His output was pretty good and much better than anything last year, so should be seen positively.

Agree Tutt's decision making rather that disposal skills itself was again poor a few times...like bombing it down the line to 3 Hawthorn players when he should have looked sideways. Still, something to work and persist with for now. If by the end of this year he still makes big mistakes, then cut.

Super dissapointed I didnt get to see Weitering pull on the boots.

Overall happy with what the boys did.
-Casboult will be a huge asset this year. And I think he'll finish high in the coleman, top 10 or 15 at least.
-Kerrige lock and loaded for the best 22 I think.

Otherwise couldnt take too much else away, Boekhurst did impressive things, and it was good seeing Bynre and Charlie out there playing, big wraps on those two from me.

Who was number 13? Lamb??

They were good without being great and also showed some of the flaws in their games.

Tutt put heaps of pressure on and ran his guts out to get his hands on the ball - tick
Then he has a tendancy to shank it or turn the ball over - cross

Whiley was strong over the ball at stoppages and got his hands on it too - tick
Disposal didn't always leave us in a better position than before though - cross
Loved Whiley's ferocity at the contest and his heavy work in the clinches was brilliant. Both his and Kerridge's vision, ability to choose the correct option and disposal will improve the longer they get to execute the game plan under match day pressure. Loved the blocks, bumps and paths he created for others....all those little things that go unnoticed and don't register on the stats sheet. Really noticeable how much we missed his drive once Bolts put him on ice at half time.

Hawks adjusted their defensive set up around the contests during the second quarter which gave Kerridge less time and space to execute with intent.

Never been to Launceston before. Stayed at Peppers Seaside and nice spot to get away from it all or disappear for a dirty weekend.

Hopefully bolton saw enough of jones in 40mins of football to ensure he doesnt play this year. Terrible.

The rest looked pretty good, u can tell the class and value of guys like daysie who just dont fumble. Our best 22 is pretty solid but when injuries hit the depth isnt there yet.

Game plan looked good and the blues will be more enjoyable to watch this year compared to previous couple of seasons. Looking forward to it.

Overall very pleased with how the boys performed last night. Very rusty at times - as to be expected - but the effort was consistent and the style of play very attractive.

Compared to the garbage we've seen so often over the past few years, that was a breathe of fresh air and a really good way to start the year.

Obviously we still have plenty of things to work on but if we can use that as a platform from which to build then 2016 may see Carlton supporters re-discover the love for the game and for the club that has been sapped over the past few years.

My observations:

Kerridge: Could not have been much more impressive in his first outing. Tough as nails and was prominent throughout - he'll be very important for us this year as a hybrid midfielder who can play multiple roles across the park.

Whiley: Found plenty of the ball in the first half before taking a seat after the main break. Can certainly find the ball easily enough but I remain unconvinced - very slow to execute around the ground which won't help him.

Lamb:
Stood out early with his aggression and pressure. He is a pest and if he keeps that up there will be plenty of opposition supporters who grow to hate him. Impressive first quarter but faded and was barely sighted in the 2nd and 3rd quarters before resurfacing at times in the last. Looked like he spent time on a wing or even at half back late in the contest which may speak to his flexibility.

Gibbs: Played midfield and was prominent throughout. Looked very good and should look better with more support around him.

Tutt: I am a fan and think he may surprise a few this year. Seemed to always be busy and his pressure was very good. Could be a real weapon with his pace but as always, his decision making and skills - particularly when running full pace - let him down. If he learns to play within his limitations he can be of real value.

Phillips:
Did not have much of an impact but there is no doubt that he is an enormously impressive athlete. One piece of play in particular was terrific - contested the ruck but then hunted the ball with repeat efforts. Reminded me of what we see so often from Kreuzer and if Phillips can follow suit he'll be of real benefit. Would have liked to see him more involved up forward but as a work in progress there are definite signs.

Rowe: Looked very rusty and is probably the only player I was disappointed with. Won't see much of the ball but when it does come his way he can't afford to fumble and be as uncertain as he looked last night.

Jamison:
Same old dependable Jamo - thought he looked terrific. Strong in the contest and looked composed every time he got the ball. Not a part of our leadership group in 2016 but he has a huge role to play for us down back.

Boekhorst: Looked comfortable and overall it was an impressive display. Saw both his best and his worst on display and he needs to work on bridging that gap. Showed plenty of dash and was not afraid to show a few tricks - he'll get better with experience & I think we'll see plenty of him at senior level in 2016.

Kreuzer: Typical performance from Krooz. Not a flashy player but there are few in the competition who can match him for effort. So glad to see him out there - the supporters love him and I reckon his team mates do as well.

Jones: Disappointed to read some of the comments here, and I don't think they are based on his performance last night. Only featured in the second half but I thought his intent was brilliant from the moment he stepped out onto the ground - he chased, tackled and harassed like he really wanted to impress and I have to say he did. Needs to hold onto more of the balls which come his way, but above all else I was looking for effort from Liam last night and he more than delivered on that front.

E Curnow:
Found plenty of the ball but was hardly sighted on the outside. Too often we've relied on him to provide run and carry whereas it should be him feeding out to more skilled players to deliver inside 50. Last night seemed a step in the right direction on that front.

Graham: Put his best foot forward in what was a very good performance. He's just a good solid footballer who keeps busy and does all the basics right. I've previously doubted his worth as a full time midfielder but certainly see his value as a half forward who can pinch hit in the middle and also impact the scoreboard. I didn't have him in my round 1 side a few months back...but he'll be hard to ignnore.

Thomas: Thought he played well without being spectacular and he'll be better for the run. Seemed to play almost exclusively in the defensive half - time will tell whether that's the plan this year or whether he was just filling the role of someone like Buckley. Made some errors on the night but what I love most about Daisy was on display - his effort. He's not as good a player as he once was but his gut running is terrific and something to be looked up to. I think he'll be enormously valuable for us this year. Hopefully he can stay injury free.

Simpson:
Seems likely to reprise his role in the defensive half this season. Didn't have the best night, nor was he particularly prolific, but he shouldn't have to be. Always gives everything he's got and is invaluable on that front.

Wright: Didn't stand out with anything in particular but always looked busy and tried to make things happen. He'll never be the type to tear a game apart but is a solid contributor and can play in a few different positions - seemed to split his time last night between the forward line and midfield. Line ball for mine at this stage as to whether or not he'll be there come round 1 but he'll certainly feature at senior level and be a fairly reliable contributor throughout.

Casboult: Levi obviously has an enormous role to play this year and I thought he started very well. Worked hard, presented well, took some strong grabs (although is still prone to dropping one or two easy ones along the way). Possibly our most important player this year - needs to find a way to impact the scoreboard every week. Interestingly didn't seem to spend any time in the ruck last night - wonder if that'll change when the real stuff starts.

Curnow and Gallucci didn't have any impact but will be better for the run. Not sure how much the latter will feature at senior level throughout the year, but Curnow Jnr should play plenty of games - he's a seriously well built kid.

pro's
Casboult was the dominant big man on the ground
Kerridge looked very likely. didn't nail all of his disposals but has a big presence...
Kreuzer got a run around and looks fit
Philips dropped some grabs he should have taken but looks an able ruckman and major upgrade on legs 11
gibbs looked fit and quick
Boeky great user, goes hard when he needs to, has pace and a great tan! Will play a lot of games this year, this is the guy we want delivering inside 50

con's
Gorringe only played the first half and doesn't play like a tall. Failed to go when it was his turn to fly in the pack. As other have noted, not sure on his role?
Charlie Curnow bounced around like a puppy in the forward line. Didn't use the big tank or appear to know where to run to expose his defender but that will come... took a sold hit but shook it off...
Lamb's legs are shorter than liam's
Sos has gone grey and appears unlikely to come out of retirement
desperately missed some betts zip around the forward line

Containing Hawthorn to 7 goals even in a practice match after being labelled the spoon favourites even after Essendon loses half a side....is a pretty bloody good team effort.

I have no and still don't expect finals....but I am beginning to think we could do better than bottom 4 or 5.

Game Day NAB Challenge Wk 1 - Carlton v Hawthorn Gameday Discussion