Game Day NAB Cup Game 1 - Brisbane Lions v St Kilda @ Burpengary

From my POV, the pre-season is good when 1. No injuries & 2. You find out about young players that are borderline best 22.

1. Tick (as far as we know).

2. Paparone: A few interesting decisions but, in general, a good performance across the back half.
C. Beams: 16p with 5 marks @ 81% efficiency with 0 clangers. We need this bloke to stay fit all season :thumbsu:
Close: Couple of nice things, but needs to impact games more and get to more contests.
Lester: Feel he may be an off-season specialist :thumbsdown:

Talking 'bout haircuts, please tell me you kept that shot of Josh Green, Mr Ripper .

On the game, we had a lot of players, a lot of rotaions, and some who won't play many senior games this year, despite the notion we were playing a 'strong team' today. Some were played out of position, and many playing together for the first time as well, all the while trying to get on with the business of adapting to a new opponent.

The only concern today was skills. Sure, sure, first game & all, but at times it looked like wet weather footy, and others were just poor choices. They need to push past whatever jitters they had today, or we will pay heavily. Run & carry, leading to the right place and the like will come with playing together, but all should be able to pick up a ball off the ground and get it on their boot. Hoping it was first game nerves and over thinking. I think by the time we get to round 1, we'll have our 22 sorted out and positional duties organised.
Just glad footy season is here.

Talking 'bout haircuts, please tell me you kept that shot of Josh Green, Mr Ripper .
It's just not good enough. :mad:
jP1060171.jpg

People need to calm down on the skill stuff. We have been pretty consistent with ever other team who has played so far. We were certainly not good but I would not have thought we were the worst.

Defence looked exactly like it was - a group of blokes who have played very little together. They lacked co-hesion. Some were decent individually but as a group they did not work particularly well. Interesting to see Adcock up the ground a fair bit. I had thought the idea of Mayes had been put to bed but apparently not. He played a fair bit in defence in the second half and looked nowhere near as good. Hopefully the coaching staff were paying attention. Merrett was horrible with his disposals and if that continues expect Goose to be playing that role after a few games. I liked Paparone. He made a a few mistakes but given how little he has played that role he was encouraging. CBeams and Rich solid but not much more than that.

Up forward there was also a lack of organisation. We still do not have an actual leading target which makes things difficult. Lots of bombing it in onto someone's head. That won't work. Personally I thought Mcguane looked as good as any of them when he was on there. I have said that I see Close as a backman and that game further entrenches that opinion for me. Paine does not have much to beat when he gets the chance. McStay did a couple of nice things but needed to be more involved. McGrath a very pleasant surprise. Heaps of competition for a spot but he certainly looks up to it. Robinson is a depth player. Does not really add anything that quite a few others could provide. I set the over under for him at 14.5 games this year and I stick by that. Taylor was BOG. Worked really hard and did some nice things.

Rocky and DBeams didn't get out of second gear. Class above. Zorko tried hard but just had one of those nights. Aish did not really add much. His disposal was solid but not really damaging. Bewick was close to our best in the second half. Got up and down the wing and was important to us hanging on. I have Bewick in my 22 ahead of Robinson. Redden was supposedly working on his disposal skills this offseason. No evidence of anything coming from that today. Quite a poor game I thought.

Leuey was a bit soft today I thought. Looked like he wanted to just get a feel for the game again without puting himself in harms way. Returning from injury that was probably a veteran move. Yet to see anything to suggest Archie will be a player. He has zero game sense.

I just don't see Close as a forward at all. Doesn't do anything at all besides standing over the ball... can't bend down to pick it up. Also doesn't know anything about leading it seems... for someone who is supposedly an elite runner I think it is a bit embarrassing that he tries to outmuscle his opponent every single time when he should really be watching Riewoldt tapes as much as he can.

One thing I took out of today was how well Merret and Clarke were spoiling the ball. Good timing and willingness to get there.
Yep, great to see Merrett down back. Looks so comfortable back there. My big points:

1. D. Beams>>>DeGoey, Greenwood and Crisp.
2. Berg will be better for the run.
3. Lewy Taylor to take the next step.
4. Bewick's got to at least get a chance to cement his spot in the best 22.
5. Rich is back (yeah baby).
6. McStay better playing back and occasionally pushing forward, rather than full time forward.
7. Robinson, Staker and Green underwhelming (must have been the haircut); and
8. The first seven points don't matter because it was just a practice match.

McGrath was the big winner out of the day to my mind. Guessing he got subbed off, probably doesn't have the endurance, but he definitely made an impression in the first half.

A textbook example of an early pre-season game. I'll move on and ignore the inevitable textbook examples of Internet overreactions.

That said, glad I didn't drive to Burpen*******gary for that.

I honestly don't know why people bag Burpen****gary in such gross terms.

After all, travel is good for the soul.

McGrath was the big winner out of the day to my mind. Guessing he got subbed off, probably doesn't have the endurance, but he definitely made an impression in the first half.

He wasn't subbed off but it did look like he had less time on the field.

Was a lot better than Green today.

I think he played out the game. Done a few nice things and showed a lot of ticker. Smothered a ball at full stretch that ended up going to mayes for a goal. Should debut this year if he can keep his effort up.

Out and about today so wasn't able to catch the stream. Sounds like I didn't miss much in the way of a spectacle.

Some of this thread is LOL worthy though. Can't wait to see what happens on here when we lose a game, especially in the season proper!! :eek:

My take- forward line still a real problem. And the backline not all that much better. Let's hope something emerges.

McGrath a real find by the looks of it. And the Beams boys- like wow!!

Leuenberger way off the mark just now- needs to get in front at the contest and stay there. Not much point in being huge if you're always at the back.

Otherwise loads of talent and potential. We might not win all that many just yet at our stage of development but it won't be that totally boring round the daisies routine.

When [if?] it all clicks- look out!!

Considering this was our first real hit out with our scrap match cancelled due to weather, I'm more then fine with the result.

Have to remember you also have guys coming back from long injuries (McGuane, Staker, Redden, Rich and Leuenberger) and new recruits/youngsters all learning a relatively new game plan under a 2nd year coach, so it's easy to look on paper and see a strong team but it's not that simple.

Regardless if our team was "Strong" we won ugly and can improve from that, rather that then getting smashed and looking down and out.

Round 1 is where it matters, I still have nightmares of the Doggies giving us a pounding Round 1 after winning the bloody NAB cup.

Game Day NAB Cup Game 1 - Brisbane Lions v St Kilda @ Burpengary