List Mgmt. National & Rookie Draft 2021

"Despite widespread reports, SEN.com.au can reveal Crouch stands to earn more than $700,000 a season at St Kilda."
I don't know what to tell you, obviously I haven't seen the books but that was what was reported.

Sure, we can take a risk, but on who? Give me an available inside mid that is worth going after,I'm not really sold on any besides Hobbs who won't be there
700 lmao bloke got the Crows band 3 compo. Applying a little logic wrecked Edmunds lie. “Can reveal” lmao.

"Despite widespread reports, SEN.com.au can reveal Crouch stands to earn more than $700,000 a season at St Kilda."
I don't know what to tell you, obviously I haven't seen the books but that was what was reported.

Sure, we can take a risk, but on who? Give me an available inside mid that is worth going after,I'm not really sold on any besides Hobbs who won't be there

"Adelaide and St Kilda are set for a trade showdown over Brad Crouch as multiple reports say the Crows will not receive pick No.2 as compensation for the midfielder.

The Saints submitted their offer for the restricted free agent on Sunday afternoon.

While there was speculation Crouch could earn an average wage of around $700,000 to $800,000, the contract has reportedly come in at around $600,000 over four years with potential for a fifth season."

Isn't this a fun game?

Him on 700k a year AND band 3 compo awarded is as likely as me getting drafted tonight

Fcuk me you clearly can’t please everyone.

He deserves credit but we love to overhype anyone who can do their job to a decent standard as a supporter base. When we finally win a second premiership I'm pretty sure the pope will come under serious pressure to deify the whole team and administration from Bigfooty Saints fans.

"Adelaide and St Kilda are set for a trade showdown over Brad Crouch as multiple reports say the Crows will not receive pick No.2 as compensation for the midfielder.

The Saints submitted their offer for the restricted free agent on Sunday afternoon.

While there was speculation Crouch could earn an average wage of around $700,000 to $800,000, the contract has reportedly come in at around $600,000 over four years with potential for a fifth season."

Isn't this a fun game?

Him on 700k a year AND band 3 compo awarded is as likely as me getting drafted tonight
Maybe it's 600 + incentives then. My point wasn't whether it was 600 or 700 anyway, it could be 200 for all I care, my point was more about us recruiting a lot of midfielders who can rack it up but can't kick a football

Gringo your always banging on about how we draft half back flankers and slow inside mids who can't kick and now when it seems we are doing the opposite you arn't happy. Like I get the reservation but cmon. Damned if you do and damned if you don't. Also on the SA recruiting the fact is yes maybe those guys wern't hidden fr everyone to see but you know what. Every other club could;ve taken them and didn't. So thats why the recruiters derserve the credit. We were the ones who took the punt. They fairl get critisied for missing out on guys but credit where its due.

Never had an issue drafting mids and I'm not as obsessed by precision as others. Definitely complained about HBFs though.....and 10 years later we still haven't found an elite one. We haven't drafted many mids with decent picks. Most of the mids we play now are ring ins. I complain about their love of beige dullards though. We do love to find players who lack any kind of excitement or X factor.

Maybe it's 600 + incentives then. My point wasn't whether it was 600 or 700 anyway, it could be 200 for all I care, my point was more about us recruiting a lot of midfielders who can rack it up but can't kick a football

No.
Your point was:

we gave up a lot of money for Crouch

Why say that if you don't care what money crouch is on?

With crouchs salary now irrelevant- let's revisit my point:

Who cares if we draft a mid tonight who could be forcing crouch to play VFL in a year or two?
(If they turn out to be a total jet good enough to displace crouch)

Crouch's existence shouldn't come into our decision making at all about who we pick at 11 now we have established that we haven't overspent in bringing him in

No.
Your point was:

Why say that if you don't care what money crouch is on?
It's a bit silly to tell me what point I was making isn't it? My point, which I think is clear if you read the whole statement instead of plucking words out, is in Crouch Bytel Steele Owens as well as players like Gresham who could rotate through we have a lot of inside mids already, none of them are particularly skillful

https://amp.adelaidenow.com.au/spor...a/news-story/b6799bc08843cba2c1892517d3a9ada4

GAVIN Wanganeen saw first-hand the disappointment on Terry Milera's face when he wasn't picked up by an AFL club last year.
Wanganeen was sitting next to the Port Adelaide Magpies player - who is the partner of his younger sister, Rachel - in Milera's Modbury home on AFL draft day.

The former Essendon and Power champion knew Milera had been desperate to play at the highest level since first picking up a football as a kid in the west coast town of Ceduna.

He also knew he had the intimate knowledge needed to make it a reality. So Wanganeen decided to step up.

"Don't worry about it, I'll train you up to get picked up next year," Wanganeen said.

With those few words Milera's feeling of devastation was immediately replaced with a strong sense of motivation. With a Brownlow Medallist, two-time premiership player and five-time All-Australian in his corner, how could he fail?

That question was answered last week when 12 months of hard work under Wanganeen's tutelage paid off as Milera, 23, signed a two-year contract with St Kilda.

The fleet-footed wingman with silky skills on both sides of his body and an outstanding leap is heading to the Saints to be part of new coach Scott Watters' reign.

But it has been a long and, at times, arduous road.

When he began working with Wanganeen last summer, Milera was skinny, unfocused and had a questionable workrate. So the duo hit the gym.

"The first few months we were just in the gym doing squats because Gavin said the thing that made him such a successful player was the power in his legs," Milera said. Milera's squat - a full body exercise that trains the muscles of the thighs, hips and buttocks - soon had improved from 70kg to 110kg and his weight beefed up from 68kg to 78kg.

Once the football season started, the pair moved to the city's north parklands for sprint training and the benefits began to show on the field.

"I noticed I had more power in my legs to get to more contests and once I got the ball I could run with it more," Milera said.

Wanganeen had never worked one-on-one with a young footballer before, but he knew what had made him successful as a player.

"There's certain areas they need to be really good, whether it be physically and also skill-wise," Wanganeen said.

"If Terry wanted to play AFL, he needed to get a bit stronger in his legs and hips and get a bit more powerful in that area and start doing well in the SANFL so he could start getting the attention of the AFL scouts."

St Kilda recruiting manager Tony Elshaug was one to notice Milera's improvement.

Having scouted his younger brother Tim the year before, Elshaug was already aware of Milera's talent, he just needed to see consistency.

And that's exactly what Milera produced, capping his season with a sparkling five-goal performance against Glenelg in round 22.

"It certainly does help to see that performance that makes you go `wowee'," Elshaug said.

So the Saints pulled the trigger, working a deal with Greater Western Sydney to avoid the risk of another club taking Milera in the draft. Fremantle had also shown strong interest.

Wanganeen's and Milera's mission was complete.

As for Wanganeen, working with Milera rekindled his passion for footy, but any thoughts of a career in coaching are still several years away.

"I won't be doing any coaching next year, I'm focusing on my business, the Anytime Fitness franchise at Port Adelaide and Modbury," he said.

"That will take most of my time. Footy might suck me back in a little bit later. I've obviously still got a passion for it and I really enjoyed mentoring Terry. I'll continue to do that and keep an eye on him."

We do love to find players who lack any kind of excitement or X factor.
And yet here you are pushing for a Hobbs over Wang. Completely contradicting your own argument or complaint.

As noted, there’s pretty much no pleasing you. The club is damned if they do and damned if they don’t with you.

It’s way beyond boring now.

With the first round tonight (18 picks) and two father son choices making it 20 picks....am I right in saying that's it - and the only opportunity for other clubs to poach our NGA's unchallenged is tonight?
Pretty much, if our NGA boys aren't picked up tonight they're ours for the matching tomorrow.

We desperately need speed and skill, players can still impact clearances coming in off the square. Also moving forward two or three players who can lower their eyes and hit a target could be massive with the talent we’re building in the forward line. It really won’t matter tonight who we pick Imo just as long as they’re fit for purpose.

We officially have 9, but it will be pushed back 2 places when Daicos and Darcy are bid on
Thanks for that. I actually thought that was the answer while I was having a shower. The next question is if a club has pick 2 and picks Darcy, for example, how do the Bulldogs "match" the offer? Why would another club accept pick 8, for example, as "compensation"? The points don't match. Surely they don't get to keep pick 2 for another player and then get pick 8 as a bonus? Why can't they simply say "no thanks" we'd rather keep Darcy? Is it because a father-son pick carries special magic points i.e. sentiment?

And yet here you are pushing for a Hobbs over Wang. Completely contradicting your own argument or complaint.

As noted, there’s pretty much no pleasing you. The club is damned if they do and damned if they don’t with you.

Is the list exciting outside of King, Gresham and Hunter Clark on a good day? No it isn’t. He’s completely right imo.

Ben Long doesn’t use the ball anywhere near as well as NWM.

Not saying it’s not a potential concern, but 15 touches from a guy like Wangmil could be the equivalent of 25 from someone with messy disposal.

We very badly need more polish in the team.
Agree. Cyril Rioli didn't get a lot of touches but won plenty of games for the Hawks. Not saying NWM is in the same class as CR but who knows ?

I reckon Hobbs has more chance of being a star, Wanganeen-Milera has mad skills but much higher bust factor. I'd take Goater if I was gambling or Hobbs if available. I reckon he plays exciting any way. Both have some edge that I think could make them stars. We are going to sit out of the next 2 drafts this pick has to be a near certainty to be above average or it's irresponsible list management.

Why is there no pleasing me. I just want what's best for the club's future, just because it doesn't align with your view doesn't make it wrong. There is no pleasing you either if that was the measure because if we take a mid you'll be disappointed by that logic. As far as the club goes, I'm happy when we get things right and shitty when they don't, I would say that would be the same with most posters.

We desperately need speed and skill, players can still impact clearances coming in off the square. Also moving forward two or three players who can lower their eyes and hit a target could be massive with the talent we’re building in the forward line. It really won’t matter tonight who we pick Imo just as long as they’re fit for purpose.

I disagree, our second half of the year was our Dunny bomb period and it worked. The clean slow movement was absolute shit early on. Good forwards can make ugly beautiful. Most modern sides play chaos footy and it's still the most effective footy at the moment.

Is the list exciting outside of King, Gresham and Hunter Clark on a good day? No it isn’t. He’s completely right imo.
Higgins, Butler, Hill, Jones, Billings, Sinclair and even Sharman have also shown they can turn it on and have periods of brilliance with exciting touches of class

Given the relative youth of our best 22 and adding Owens Windhager and maybe NWM and even Bing next year we have the makings of a very good exciting side.

Improve the mental side and with a touch of luck on the injury front things are looking very promising going forward

I disagree, our second half of the year was our Dunny bomb period and it worked. The clean slow movement was absolute sh*t early on. Good forwards can make ugly beautiful. Most modern sides play chaos footy and it's still the most effective footy at the moment.
Yes ..... at the moment ...... Footy goes through different phases .....chaos footy didn't work too well for the Tigers this year

I disagree, our second half of the year was our Dunny bomb period and it worked. The clean slow movement was absolute sh*t early on. Good forwards can make ugly beautiful. Most modern sides play chaos footy and it's still the most effective footy at the moment.
It didn’t work though, the stats don’t lie in this instance we turned the ball over at an appalling rate. Let’s not delude ourselves dunstan played a played few good games possession wise and then reverted to type. He’s off our list and on Melbourne’s as a Paul hunter for a reason. Hawthorn the side everyone wanted to copy carved up the opposition by hitting targets, richmond came along with a rolling maul chaos ball approach but they still have quite a few very skill full players, plenty of pace and dusty Martin. We lack pace and skill and are still miles off a top 4 flag chance so I’m all for upgrading some of our good ordinary ordinary players with some who posses the skills we need.

probably already posted but bugger it :D

He looks rather laconic in pace on first observation, but he has that capacity to read whats required of the first three or four loping steps then quickly accelerates to evade and focus...quite mesmerising actually. Does seem slow at first! Boy I think we will regret not taking the punt IMO....Moves, Evades, Observes, Focus and Execution. So says the highlight reel!