NFL Div 2 - Season 2012

Wow, the Div 2 board has become quite the ghost town recently.

Hopefully this may get some responses:

How do you think Jason Akermanis will go this week for Hurstbridge?
Will his presence get the 'Bridges over the line?

Wow, the Div 2 board has become quite the ghost town recently.

Hopefully this may get some responses:

How do you think Jason Akermanis will go this week for Hurstbridge?
Will his presence get the 'Bridges over the line?

This is fantastic for the league and should get a bumper crowd to what would ordinarily be a 'hum drum" fixture.

I hope i'm wrong but I wonder if there is any need for the NFL to have the Riot Squad & Helicopter on standby again.

This is fantastic for the league and should get a bumper crowd to what would ordinarily be a 'hum drum" fixture.

I hope i'm wrong but I wonder if there is any need for the NFL to have the Riot Squad & Helicopter on standby again.

I envy the player who has the tagging job. At least he will have a story to tell. "I towelled up the triple premiership brownlow medalist"

DiamoV HBridge-Creekers should win easy despite Acker BOG performance
Lalor V Nth- Bloods full strength for the first time this year should cause the doggies some headaches, Dogs just 17 points
Epping V Thomo- Pingers wont take this one easy after there scare last week, Epping by 50
Stars V Sth M-We will find out if the wheels have fallen off the stars, my guess they will have a big win, stars by 40

Hey guys, had a heap of requests about sports support score from around the grounds - if you need to know how to get the results as they happen read on.

If you have an iPhone go to safari
Search www.sportssupport.com.au
On the left hand side of the home you'll see the whowonnfl tile that updates the scores every 20 - 30 seconds.
To see all the results click on "join the conversation" which will lead you to all the updates

To avoid typing in the web address every time you want to check you can hit the bottom-middle icon (box with the arrow) and that will ask if you want to save the website on your home screen... It will basically become an app.

Over 80 updates from around the grounds every Saturday, all thanks to the guy and girls watching the games.

Well done to Couta and the boys up at the end of the train line in getting Mr Controversial into their jumper for the day. Hope that there is a huge crowd and the club benefits enormously. And see that the Lions are also bring an oldie out of retirement - ex-Cat Dwayne Russell :thumbsu:

Hurstbridge vs Diamond Creek - Despite the presence of "Acka", can't see the Bridges chalking up a win here over the Demons.
Lalor vs North Heidelberg - A solid looking Bloods team will certainly take it up to their arch-rival Doggies but the visitors to previal in the end.
Thomastown vs Epping - The premiership favourites Blues shouldn't take this game lightly but should be able to put the Bears away for a comfortable win.
Fitzroy All Stars vs South Morang - The All Stars have been embarrassed in their past two and need to get over the Lions without too many hiccups to still remain in the fight for the double chance.

Where is "they say" gone, and his pearls of wisdom/rumours/innuendos? Enjoyed reading your comments, didn't always agree with them, but at least they added a little colour to this somewhat boring thread.

How did Acka go? I heard h'bridge got a flogging.

He was good for the gate, no influence on the game.

Gotta thank Sportingbet for putting up odds on the game.

Fri arvo -14 points DC at the line???? Started at -21 points???

A couple of nice 4 figure collects on the head to head was the word around the ground.:)

He was good for the gate, no influence on the game.

Gotta thank Sportingbet for putting up odds on the game.

Fri arvo -14 points DC at the line???? Started at -21 points???

A couple of nice 4 figure collects on the head to head was the word around the ground.:)

Heard one bet of $3500 on the line was made paying $2.00??
The Sportsbet Market setter, may be without a job after this one?
Was Aka really going to turn around a 20+ goals to 0 goals result from last time around!

Around 3000 turned up. Hurstbridge can be thankful that Collingwood played Sunday as well as Panton Hill having the bye which probably helped the crowd number. Aker was apparently payed around 8k for the appearance and I'm sure the club would've made 10x that back.

All in all I'd say the game was a huge success. A family friend who is an U19 for Hursty but plays 1's said that Aker was great with the younger guys (and more experienced guys as well) and was all in all a great bloke.

If the rumour mill is true, not the only flogging the creek boys handed out. Word is fisty cuffs amongst team mates saturday night. Perhaps the lower boys not as welcomed as you would expect!
did hear something along those same lines slowlegs.
would anyone from diamo like to post the actual events that happened last sat night?

missed you all last week ;)
Diamo will be to good for Thomo by 6 goals
Epping at home should be able to hang on for a win v Lalor by 1 point
Morang will do it easy over Bridge by 8 goals
And match of the round Stars v Dogs @ Vic park, Should be a cracker, flip of a coin and Dogs by a goal
Good Luck to all

Diamo V Thomo- Creek boys to continue there winning ways despite there in house dust up
Epping v Lalor-Should be a cracker but with the bloods losing Thomas back to coburg the pingers should be to good.
Sth M v H Bridge-Looking for an upset here, the bridges well play for there lives & get the money.
Stars V Nth H- Look forward to seeing the doggies latest mid year recruit, again should be a beauty Nth to keep the pressure on Creek for the double chance.

Any truth to the rumor the Thomo are unfinancial with the NFL and can't receive 4 points if they win until they are???

Diamond Creek vs Thomastown - One third of the team swapped out doesn't bode well for the Bears here against the Demons.
Epping vs Lalor - Although they'd love to upset their neighbours, can't see the Bloods being successful here against the Blues.
South Morang vs Hurstbridge - The Lions are potentially better than their win-loss record shos and should comfortably topple the Bridges here.
Fitzroy All Stars vs North Heidelberg - With both teams eyeing the double chance if the Demons slip this should be a close game with the more experienced Doggies getting the nod ove rthe Stars.

Congrats to hurstbridge for your first win this season, but it was the worst display of cards handed out by the umpires I have ever seen. There were so many I lost count, maybe someone else could enlighten.

Surprising result at Victoria Park yesterday. Game had been even for the first half before North Heidelberg kicked 3 late goals to give them a 3 goal lead at half time. North came out strong and began the third quarter strongest kicking 3 goals before the Stars dropped their heads. After the Stars dropped their heads there was no coming back with North kicking 15 goals unanswered goals. Definitely not a sign of the STARS we have seen so far this season. A few key outs to come back in, plus the addition of a returning player in the next few games should help strengthen the STARS. The next 3 games are sides in the bottom half of the competition, hopefully this should allow the STARS to gain back some of the momentum they generated in the first 5 rounds.

North were good yesterday and the addition of Shane Harvey to their side looked to be a massive boost to their premiership chances.

Congrats to hurstbridge for your first win this season, but it was the worst display of cards handed out by the umpires I have ever seen. There were so many I lost count, maybe someone else could enlighten.
Roaringtwo what game were you at the lions should be fined heaps and the umpire escort (What a disgrace)

There were alot of cards given out at the hursty/morang game. Most seemed to be there except a red for a tackle, dont know what the umprie was thinking.

Dare say a few fines for South Morang who didnt have the stretcher ready (their player had to wait about 5-10 mins for the stretcher to come out). Another fine for not having another footy ready (again another 10 minute wait for the new ball to be handed over) and finally i decent fine for their umpire escort being red carded. His behaviour was disgraceful.

Good win by the bridges who have been playing better footy of late.

There were alot of cards given out at the hursty/morang game. Most seemed to be there except a red for a tackle, dont know what the umprie was thinking.

Dare say a few fines for South Morang who didnt have the stretcher ready (their player had to wait about 5-10 mins for the stretcher to come out). Another fine for not having another footy ready (again another 10 minute wait for the new ball to be handed over) and finally i decent fine for their umpire escort being red carded. His behaviour was disgraceful.

Good win by the bridges who have been playing better footy of late.
Also Frumpy the reserves started late because no goal pads up

Diamo V Thomo- Creek boys to continue there winning ways despite there in house dust up
Epping v Lalor-Should be a cracker but with the bloods losing Thomas back to coburg the pingers should be to good.
Sth M v H Bridge-Looking for an upset here, the bridges well play for there lives & get the money.
Stars V Nth H- Look forward to seeing the doggies latest mid year recruit, again should be a beauty Nth to keep the pressure on Creek for the double chance.
Not to sure if anyone was at vic park on saturday it was the latest game of football i have ever seen ....finished up about 5.30pm in pitch black darkness almost you could not see....which led to the last quarter being 20 minutes flat , was an awesome display of footy by the doggies i think they might be the team to beat now with harvey & cam the new recruit down there ...and plenty to come back in

SM are far from perfect, but we rarely ever get a card handed out, yet saturday, against hurstbridge there were about 5 or 6 cards handed out, for some very trivial reasons. Even the goal umpire gave a card out, and what for? Now I know we are not to critizise umpires but it makes you wonder what goes on in their heads with some of their decisions. Very disappointing, whats happening to our game of "footy"

Not to sure if anyone was at vic park on saturday it was the latest game of football i have ever seen ....finished up about 5.30pm in pitch black darkness almost you could not see....which led to the last quarter being 20 minutes flat , was an awesome display of footy by the doggies i think they might be the team to beat now with harvey & cam the new recruit down there ...and plenty to come back in

Spot on Barmy it was a joke. I thought the seniors had to start at 2.10. The game started closer to 3. With only % splitting Nth & Creek i hope that 15 mins that was not played is not a factor later in the year, the way the game was going Nth would have kicked another 10!

NFL Div 2 - Season 2012