In relation to how votes are distributed, how is it more fundamentally flawed compared to other awards ?Have you watched this show?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
In relation to how votes are distributed, how is it more fundamentally flawed compared to other awards ?Have you watched this show?
I just look forward to Nick taking his first career contested mark.
There will be tears shed by all when that storied day arrives!
Was good of Nick to acknowledge and thank him for it though.Flys fraudulent coaches votes will go time as one of the biggest travesties in sporting history
Daics now averaging over one Brownlow vote per game, can he slip past Bunton in the next few minutes?
View attachment 2119804
That's my people need to be using my abacus - it NEVER fails.Oh sugar I counted his finals this is even more monstrous than I thought
There’s 7 of the 25 currently playing, and another 3 recent. What does that tell us about voting trends?
That's why taking a binary view of winning and not winning these awards is for simpletons.Sad! He couldn't match Chris Judd Brownlow in third year.
He projecting not to be the goat
Yeah, I reckon you'd be hard pressed to leave Bunton, Reynolds and Ablett Jr out of any Top 10 GOAT list...You could easily make a list of the top 10 players of all time and none won Brownlows.
That's why taking a binary view of winning and not winning these awards is for simpletons.
Judd polled 30 votes in his Brownlow year to win it; Daicos polled 38 votes in his 3rd year and didn't win it.
Daicos has 77 votes after his first 3 seasons, Judd had 41....
Yeah, I reckon you'd be hard pressed to leave Bunton, Reynolds and Ablett Jr out of any Top 10 GOAT list...
Matthews
Whitten
Carey
Farmer
Hudson
Coventry
Ablett Snr
Dunstall
If I had time I could squeeze in some more Im sure. I could find a few defenders Im sure: Langford, Scarlett, Silvagni, then rucks like Cox and Gawn.
The game is littered with great players who werent recognised at the time.
You left out Lockett and Coleman.Matthews
Whitten
Carey
Farmer
Hudson
Coventry
Ablett Snr
Dunstall
If I had time I could squeeze in some more Im sure. I could find a few defenders Im sure: Langford, Scarlett, Silvagni, then rucks like Cox and Gawn.
I agree with you.Matthews
Whitten
Carey
Farmer
Hudson
Coventry
Ablett Snr
Dunstall
You left out Lockett and Coleman.
But my point stands - Bunton, Reynolds and Ablett Jr are all comfortably Top 10 all timers.
I agree with you.
But Dunstall won one and big Mason, whilst a match winner on his day, doesn't really belong in this company
Don't disagree with you.I left out heaps. Bont will likely be finishing his career top 20.
And any list is subjective. And as I showed, you can easily find names of greatest of the greats who didnt win Brownlows.
I just look forward to Nick taking his first career contested mark.
There will be tears shed by all when that storied day arrives!
472Are we still going with this? How many contested marks did Cripps take this year?
That's an exaggeration by 465
Yeah, I reckon you'd be hard pressed to leave Bunton, Reynolds and Ablett Jr out of any Top 10 GOAT list...
Yes!That's an exaggeration by 465
0.3 contested marks per game
6.4 votes per contested mark
Is any of this sinking in?
I've always maintained the Brownlow is the best award out of the 3 imo, and while obviously it went Cripps way last night I've never understood the sooking about the award being a midfielders award.
Midfielders are the best footballers in a footy team 98% of the time and even if they aren't - sometimes a KPF or KPD may be better - they are always the more consistent of the stars in a footy team. Rightly or wrongly the umps reward this with their votes.
Curnow may well be out most talented player, but he's never going to be the most consistent due to the position he plays. He's got blokes hanging off him every single game. Midfielders occasionally get tagged, but most of the time they're allowed to run free and get the ball in space which a key forward or key back often does not.
Anyway a good season by Nicky. Beaten on the night by Crippa, but the real losers this year are Bont and Heeney who imo are the 'best' players in the game on their day but weren't rewarded.
Hopefully Heeney wins the flag and norm. A deserving winner he would be. Bont clearly pissed in an umps cornflakes or something.