Nick Stevens Could be out for the season

Clearly anyone who wants to change clubs is deserving of a career-ending, life-threatening injury :rolleyes:

Perhaps we'll call it Karma next time you go to change jobs, then get hit by a bus? Although, moving to a new centerlink office doesn't really count as 'changing jobs' does it?

any injury to the neck, even if it is just jarring, you would take every single precaution to make sure nothing else too serious has happened, because of the serious nature of the effected area. it could just be jarring and they need to see a specialist to make sure that no further damage could occur from even simple exercise. they gotta rule out all possible risk because even the smallest neck injury could lead to spinal cord damage if you dont give it the appropriate time to heal and heal completely. there is hope yet that its nothing too serious, beacuse you'd expect the club to take any neck injuries as serious as possible. i guess we'll find out tomorrow

I appreciate the sentiment, and I too hope that my gut feeling is wrong. Trust me when I say no-one gets repeat scans, and flys to Sydney to consult the doctor that consulted on Andrew Johns for jarring - you see a physio, he treats it, you're better.

Its not jarring (whatever that is - I assume you mean some sort of joint injury combined with muscle spasm.........).

Again, I hope I'm wrong.

Power21 said:
Karma is Dustin Fletcher breaking his leg attempting to trip someone.
Karma is Dean Brogan or either of the Carr brothers (yep, they're yours too) developing hand pain from punching too many blokes in the head.

Karma is you getting impailed on your computer chair for saying that about anyone.

Its bad news as he was really doing everything right. What a tragedy if he has to retire just when he was peaking.

I suppose the question is how to cover him. What to do now? I suppose the obvious one is move Scotland or Houlihan into the midfield. Given Scotlands form I like this idea. Alternatively, it might be time to cut Walker loose in the midfield.

Whether we use Scotland or Walker, it seem we need to look for a SKILLFUL replacement across half back. Maybe we can move Thornton further up the ground use Bower/Bannister/Saddington backpocket???

What a tragedy if he has to retire just when he was peaking.
He can explain to our young blokes that it's not cool to waste your time and give 50% effort when you're 100% fit, because you never know when it's going to be over.

Dont worry boys, we have to put up with that shit from doggies supporters well. :thumbsdown: Ignore the ****s.

Anyway bad luck to Stevo, really loved (but hated) his effort I thought he inspired the boys in the come back against us in round 1, never stopped all night.

Its a pity when any player gets hit with an injury, even worse when they're great players.

Good luck to him. :thumbsu:

Great scoop Hutchy.:cool:

BB not sure if your from Melbourne but the day after John's retired they had some X-Rays printed in the paper. It showed a view from the top and you could see a shadow that was blocking what I assume to be the spinal cord cavity... and from the description they gave (1mm more and he was in intense constant pain, 10mm more and he was a potential quad of para) I assumed thats how bad the slipped disc was.

When i heard he was going to Sydney my gut feeling was to see the same bloke as Johns, was that confirmed? I have been radio, tv and internet less for about the last 5 hours! Also would you disagree in the statement that he has the same as Johns, had it diagnosed down here and just for confirmation he has flown for a 2nd opinion from Johns doctor, due to credibility? I mean if the best player of rugby league ever retires on this blokes advice then it must be good, like if you want shoulder surgery you go to Greg Hoy because he did warne, rafter and norman.

Its bad news as he was really doing everything right. What a tragedy if he has to retire just when he was peaking.

I suppose the question is how to cover him. What to do now? I suppose the obvious one is move Scotland or Houlihan into the midfield. Given Scotlands form I like this idea. Alternatively, it might be time to cut Walker loose in the midfield.

Whether we use Scotland or Walker, it seem we need to look for a SKILLFUL replacement across half back. Maybe we can move Thornton further up the ground use Bower/Bannister/Saddington backpocket???

We managed all right on Sat after half time, moving him out of the midfield to the forward line and putting Houlihan in his place. Russell took Houlihan's place in the back line.

true but on a weekly basis is different. and also the development of murph and co is going to lose out due to this. remember last year in murphs diaries when he raved about stevo and how he had helped him. a real shame if this does go the bad way it seems to be. just when it all was turning around for the club

Age report says he will have surgery and miss the rest of the year, but will be firing on all cylinders again next year: :cool:

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/stevens-to-miss-rest-of-year/2007/04/18/1176696916383.html

HUN report is really just a rehash of todays news, but it has a photo with Andrew Johns which looks like a mockup to me. :confused:

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21581554%5E20322,00.html

Either way, good luck Stevo. I'm sure you will make the right decision for your future! :thumbsu:

This is bad news for Stevo, he is a really committed player there have been a lot of people who have stood by this bloke and defended him to all comers. I for one am right behind him taking a year off and getting things sorted. No matter what it is not worth the risk.

So who will step up, there is a place available for someone to make their own....look forward to seeing who it will be.

Initially my thoughts were we would get spanked without stevo, not so, the team may "do it for him" hope he gives em a rev up....

Bastard of a thing for Stevens - he was playing fantastic football (particularly against us :().

Well, as a Tiger's supporter, I know how it feels to see your best midfielder go down for the season.

I hope he recovers well and comes back in good form for you guys next year.

Karma is Dustin Fletcher breaking his leg attempting to trip someone.
Karma is Dean Brogan or either of the Carr brothers (yep, they're yours too) developing hand pain from punching too many blokes in the head.
Well, that's irony, as well as karma.

Karma could be anything bad or good that happens to someone to balance out their own actions.

Karma is you getting impailed on your computer chair for saying that about anyone.

That would be about right. Maybe not impaled, but certainly falling back and hitting his head.

Well, it sounds like he has a disc prolapse, which can be corrected with surgery. If this is the case, then that's far better than having a small fracture that would require plates and screws, and be possibly career-ending. If there is different opinions regarding whether or not to operate on the disc, then it mustn't be too severe. If the disc was actually impinging, I guess surgery would not be questioned, so they're probably concerned it will progress under AFL match conditions. Given the physical demands of AFL footy, I'm pretty sure he'll have the surgery, and miss a few months. :)

Well, that's irony, as well as karma.

Karma could be anything bad or good that happens to someone to balance out their own actions.

That would be about right. Maybe not impaled, but certainly falling back and hitting his head.

The surely Karma for Nick would be to have a miraculous recovery, win a Norm Smith and a flag the same year The Power win the spoon........in the cosmic scheme of things leaving the Power could only be seen as a good thing.......and their own greed in dealing with the Pies........hence the Spoon.......:thumbsu:

chelsworthgale said:
BB not sure if your from Melbourne but the day after John's retired they had some X-Rays printed in the paper. It showed a view from the top and you could see a shadow that was blocking what I assume to be the spinal cord cavity... and from the description they gave (1mm more and he was in intense constant pain, 10mm more and he was a potential quad of para) I assumed thats how bad the slipped disc was.

When i heard he was going to Sydney my gut feeling was to see the same bloke as Johns, was that confirmed? I have been radio, tv and internet less for about the last 5 hours! Also would you disagree in the statement that he has the same as Johns, had it diagnosed down here and just for confirmation he has flown for a 2nd opinion from Johns doctor, due to credibility? I mean if the best player of rugby league ever retires on this blokes advice then it must be good, like if you want shoulder surgery you go to Greg Hoy because he did warne, rafter and norman.

Thanks for that Chels.
I didn't see the scan in the paper (I'm assuming is an MRI) after John's diagnosis.
The story in the Age today sounds pretty reasonable. In terns of whether its the same injury..........yes and no.
A disc can bulge stright back onto the cord, in which case (Johns, Caracella) you may want to reconsider your future. The disc can also bulge to the side where the nerves that go down your arm emerge from the spinal cord. This can cause a lot of pain, altered sensation, amd/or weakness in the arm, but, while it is a severe injury, is not as severe as the other guys.

The operation would likely be a discectomy, where they snip away the offending bulge and the pain is gone. Only problem is they snip away the outside of a disc, which is like the outside wall of your house - thick and protective. You are left with the inside walls now protecting you........its not as strong and people who have this surgery often have a recurrence of the pain down the track.

Anywho......if its operable its much better news, and hopefully not the end for Nick.:thumbsu:

Good point. Personally would prefer Scotland in there. From what I've seen he is a little bit better at winning the hardball (although the stats might prove me wrong).

Bastard of a thing for Stevens - he was playing fantastic football (particularly against us :().

Well, as a Tiger's supporter, I know how it feels to see your best midfielder go down for the season.

I hope he recovers well and comes back in good form for you guys next year.

Cheers mate :thumbsu:

I'm feeling really embarrassed for those people who shot me down after I reported this bit of news
I don't know that point scoring is the main issue here. Everyone is concerned about Stevo and concerned about how the team will adjust without him. They are less concerned about who broke which story.

Good luck to nick its a big loss for us for the rest of the year, he is our prime midfielder make no bones about it, we will struggle without him or Kouta there providing the leadership and the poise. But you can also take this as a positive for both nick and the footy club, if it requires surgery then better do it now to correct the problem so nick can play another five years with no worries. It also forces a few of the boys to step up for the rest of the year, Puts pressure on Scotland and Houlihan to win the ball in the middle instead of getting cheap ball around the ground. Allows Bryce Gibbs to take on more of a role in the midfield and setting up play around the ground with his skills and decision making ability, and it also allows a young and jackson (not the pub) to maybe come on to the list and prove what they've got at senior level. Maybe even a blackwell or anderson can even get some game time.

So while stevo is a massive loss for the year(hopefully only the year) it forces alot of the younger boys to step up themselves and take on more responsibility, then we get stevo back next year and it will be a bonus if that makes sense. Short term its gonna hurt us bigtime but long term and thats what we are aiming at (there will be no finals or premiership this year or next even) it may prove a vital point in the development of some of the younger players.

SEN are going to interview one of his Specialists this afternoon, coming up shortly. May give some insight to the injury, but doubt he would pre-empt a prognosis before the press conference.
Don't know what time the press conference is, SEN reporting the next couple of hours.

SEN interviewing MR John Yeo a "neck" specialist from The Royal North Shore Hospital (Sydney) that reviewed Andrew Johns.
Says he hasn't reviewed Nick (good journalism from SEN and Ch10 again last night :rolleyes: )
Good general discussion on disc injuries, but nothing useful on Nick specifically.
Will post the press conference info if I can before work.:thumbsu:

Nick Stevens Could be out for the season