Official Pre-Season Training Times, Photos and Discussion Thread

Two questions.

Was that Sierakowski that Boomer intercepted the kick from and then sold candy to (1 min in) before slotting a goal? If so your gonna have to tidy up son.

If I had to guess, I'd say Harper.

Also, who was that Taz pushed off and ran away from to snap truly?

It looked like Spud to me.

I really like Tarrant going back to the forward line, he's a natural forward and it's a big year for him.

Some were harsh on him after his stints there at times last year, especially considering he's hardly played the position since he was in the TAC Cup, straight out of injury he's essentially been trained and played as a backman.

I know he's a favorite of yours, but having watched him in the seconds for a couple of years now, I can only conclude that he seems to play much better football in defence.

It would be great if Robbie could find more of the ball in the forward line as he is a good overhead mark and a good kick.

I know he's a favorite of yours, but having watched him in the seconds for a couple of years now, I can only conclude that he seems to play much better football in defence.

It would be great if Robbie could find more of the ball in the forward line as he is a good overhead mark and a good kick.

A mate of mine was speaking to your guys recruiting manager the other day. Apparently will play FF for the first 5 weeks of the season. They really rate him as a forward, apparently is as strong as an Ox.

I guess one way or another though you guys will know for sure if he's up to it or not.

Two questions.

Was that Sierakowski that Boomer intercepted the kick from and then sold candy to (1 min in) before slotting a goal? If so your gonna have to tidy up son.

Also, who was that Taz pushed off and ran away from to snap truly?
Yea it was siera that coughed the footy up to boomer and taz pushed spud off and ran away from him and goaled

A mate of mine was speaking to your guys recruiting manager the other day. Apparently will play FF for the first 5 weeks of the season. They really rate him as a forward, apparently is as strong as an Ox.

I guess one way or another though you guys will know for sure if he's up to it or not.
I think going back was designed to give him some continuity in his footy after so much interruption due to injury. Less wear and tear on his body, and a chance to just play a simple negating role.

However, it would be a huge boon to the club if he can make it as a forward, KPF's are our one weak position for the future IMO.

I reckon no news on Cunnington is good news.

Hasn't done anything too major or we'd have heard about it I reckon.

I reckon no news on Cunnington is good news.

Hasn't done anything too major or we'd have heard about it I reckon.
Last year we didn't hear about his knee until a month after it happened.

Just sayin'. (faceoftouchingwoodthingy)

I think going back was designed to give him some continuity in his footy after so much interruption due to injury. Less wear and tear on his body, and a chance to just play a simple negating role.

However, it would be a huge boon to the club if he can make it as a forward, KPF's are our one weak position for the future IMO.
In all seriouslyness, Taz as an effective AFL FF would be a massive marketing boon for the club. Massive. He would become a poster boy for the club with his dashing good looks, manly thighs and all round oiled up muscley tannedness. Him and Harps kicking goals would bring the sexy back to our club which equals $$$$.

Footy wise if he can take the chance with both hands it would be great to have Dish at CHF and Taz at FF.

In all seriouslyness, Taz as an effective AFL FF would be a massive marketing boon for the club. Massive. He would become a poster boy for the club with his dashing good looks, manly thighs and all round oiled up muscley tannedness. Him and Harps kicking goals would bring the sexy back to our club which equals $$$$.

Footy wise if he can take the chance with both hands it would be great to have Dish at CHF and Taz at FF.

1000%

Drew won't be around all that much longer I wouldn't think, so we are getting light for KPF's and need players coming through that are ready to go. I don't want to be looking for capable FF's & CHF's in 2-4 years when we should have a cherry ripe midfield. Of the guys that haven't really played much we have Black who looks likely (very early) and Daw who is a giant question mark. That's not a heap of depth.

If Robbie is played forward, where does that leave Pedo? And Daw for that matter?
Pedriffico is a good option for CHF/third tall/tall utility. That versatility will see him in and around the squad anyway. Daw, well, he really needs to show something this year, not just in rucking, but also in his ability to kick goals as forward target. Lets face it, if Daw is playing it means that either he has come on massively or the other options we have are just not up to it.

Petrie and Grima are clearly the best KP players on our list. Pedo should play CHF. Seems to me to be out of Tarrant and Hansen for that last spot. If Tarrant plays forward is Hansen a better CHB than Pedo?

He's still a fair way off.

I understand that. I do however think he will make it as a forward.

Petrie and Grima are clearly the best KP players on our list. Pedo should play CHF. Seems to me to be out of Tarrant and Hansen for that last spot. If Tarrant plays forward is Hansen a better CHB than Pedo?.
Hands down IMO.

And I reckon Pedo is a better CHF than Hansen. More a natural in that position anyway.

I the perfect world I would go with the following:
FB: Grima
CHB: Hansen
CHF: Petrie
FF: Tarrant

In reality if Taz ain't up to in then I would go with:
CHF: Pedo
FF: Petrie

Hands down IMO.

And I reckon Pedo is a better CHF than Hansen. More a natural in that position anyway.

I have to agree at this point in time.

Pedo has a better symbiotic understanding and Lachie is more target oriented.

I understand that. I do however think he will make it as a forward.

I think he'll be a slow burner mate.

50/50 to debut this year.

However, I do think we will upgrade Majak.

I think this is a forgone conclusion as I am pretty sure that we re-signed him for 2 years(2012 & 2013) meaning that next year he will be elevated to the senior list.

Hands down IMO.

I the perfect world I would go with the following:
CHF: Petrie
FF: Tarrant

In reality if Taz ain't up to in then I would go with:
CHF: Pedo
FF: Petrie
Yeah I'm thinking the same.

Pedo has a much better all round game than Hansen which is better suited to a modern day CHF.

Any visits from Luke McDonald?
not sure tbh, there are 2 tiers in the AIS this year one for 18 year olds who will get drafted this year and one for 17 year olds that will get drafted in 2013, usually its combined but they split it up this year. Luke is part of the 17 year old tier and i think only the 18 year olds train with the AFL clubs.
Luke has trained with us as part of the father son academy though.

I hope we get a good crowd today. Lileasy and myself are in Errol St grabbing a brekky right now and then heading down to watch the boys. Not enough blue and white in Errol St.

Players currently doing circle work and kicking is impressive, mind you if you can't kick in these conditions you have issues. Big crowd too, must be at least 1200 here.

Official Pre-Season Training Times, Photos and Discussion Thread