Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 21

I’m not referring to 1986. Im saying in general, as an addition to your assertion that west coast is a powerhouse, that while they’re a financial powerhouse, they’re a cucked spineless organisation who has doomed every fan to living with the vfl cause they want to pretend they’re big boys by sitting at the child’s table boasting about wearing their big boys pants.
Every fan is doomed - fair exaggeration in that post.

Not only does nobody ever mention it, we actually stand accused of having been advantaged in seasons 2020 and 2021 because we played more home games than the Victorian teams. Genuine lol.
We actually did have a decent advantage in 2020-21 at AO
2020 7-2
2021 9-4

16-6 is in line with the WCE's 21-9 and GWS' 21-9 last 30 games at home venue as per post #9,907

But we had no real advantage in night games
2020 3-2
2021 5-4

Trouble is, finals are played at night, and we were 2-2 at AO those years.

We actually did have a decent advantage in 2020-21 at AO
2020 7-2
2021 9-4

16-6 is in line with the WCE's 21-9 and GWS' 21-9 last 30 games at home venue as per post #9,907

But we had no real advantage in night games
2020 3-2
2021 5-4

Trouble is, finals are played at night, and we were 2-2 at AO those years.

In the context of finishing 1st and 2nd on the ladder, those aren't good records.

If WCE are a top 2 type team, they go 11-1 at home.

Cody Weightman is an absolute staging grub.

Stop rewarding this sh¡t.

This sport has actually turned to genuine shit. Struggle to watch games with the pathetic level of officiating. How?! How can it actually be this bad. How do AFL house sit there and think, yeah these rule changes and decisions rewarding staging is actually good for the game? Baffling.

This has all the vibe of a South Adelaide v Woodville blockbuster.

Just needs Dave Wildy to pop in and give it some,

“David Stoeckel running riot as the Panthers kick away on the Betcha Buy It Better At Banner Scoreboard”

People laugh at soccer, AFL is 100% worse. It's just a bunch of faux tough guys running around with mullets and moustaches flicking their heads back playing for freekicks. There's a whistle going off every ten seconds just about.

While I'm at it, yeah let's put the worst team of the past 3 seasons on a prime time slot, just because they were decent 30 years ago & "pioneered" Friday night footy. Gtfouttta here.

I give my money to a pissant corporation every year to watch of bunch of asshats run around.

In the context of finishing 1st and 2nd on the ladder, those aren't good records.

If WCE are a top 2 type team, they go 11-1 at home.
WCE haven't made Perth Stadium a fortress like Subi, yet. The long skinny ground at Subi benefitted them a lot more, than the more rounder PS does.

2018 when they finished 2nd and won the flag they were 9-3 and then won their 2 finals to end 2018 at 11-3.

Ignoring this year's games as they have basically put a C grade side onto the field, they are 24-9 post flag to the end of 2021. 72% win record is in line with Subi's long term average.

I agree 11-1 was the norm at Subi ( or Subi+WACA until 2000) when the WCE were flying and a top 2 team.

We were 6-1 before finals at AO and then 7-2 after finals in 2020. This was the big chance to win a flag but we blew it. Both games we lost, we had a poor last quarter, that cost us the game. We had no excuses or reasons re injury, everyone was available, and unlike 2021, several players hadn't missed 7 to 14 games during the season.

I reckon in 2020 we were the 2nd best side but played Richmond in the PF, not Geelong.

In 2021 we were probably the 4th best side, maybe the 5th best, but a bit of luck and the Western Bulldogs falling over the last 3 games had us finishing 2nd at the end of the season.

That's why 2021 AO record is worse than 2020, as in 2021 - we lost to the other big boys at home, WB, Geelong, and Melbourne in the minor round. Plus got smashed by Brisbane at the Gabba.

The FIXture aided us as well. Remember its not an even draw. But apart from the Rd 23 game when we played a great last quarter to knock of the bulldogs, you couldn't say we were the one of the two best sides for the 2021 minor round.

The Bulldogs stabbed themselves in the foot loosing their last 3 games.

They dropped 9% in 3 games and Brisbane picked up 8% to get the double chance over them.

Percentage is always a fair indicator of how you are going. 3 sides had a decent gap on Port and Geelong.

A end of rd 23 premiership ladder of
1st Melb 17.5 wins
2nd WB 16 wins
3rd Gee 16 wins
4th PA 16 wins but % just less than Geelong's
5th Brisbane 15 wins.

• Would see Melbourne v PA QF, away from AO maybe Perth or Tassie, and either way, Melbourne wins.
  • then we would have played a SF against Brisbane ( who more than likely beat 8th placed Essendon in the QF)

who reckons we would have beaten Brisbane at AO given how many times they had touched us up in the previous 4 meetings??

So 2nd placed flattered us and 4th was probably a true indicator of where we ranked, And as GremioPower has worked out from 12,000 kilometres away, 4th gets you SFA.

The footy god's smiled on us late in the minor round, beating Geelong in a QF was no massive problem, and then we proved we had been given a big hand up the ladder.

1650005681121.png xxx 1650005302355.png