Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 22

Kens staying a bit longer….

So Close Nbc 90Th Special GIF by NBC

Speaking of, it seems like mediocrity follows Josh Mahoney everywhere he goes as the footy boss

No doubt been said in here already. The booing of Ginnivan must be racist right

Did you see that free he milked in the second quarter at the SCG yesterday?? Bloody hell and lol. Exactly what the umps were told not to pay.

Plenty of Sydney fans wouldn’t know holding the ball if they were caught pants down in an Oxford St club but they do know a bit about shoving the head into the tackle ;)

On iPhone using recycled electrons, via BigFooty.com mobile app

Nah - Sydney Swans fans are all theatre goers, so it's just 'pantomime villain' booing.

You should hear them cheer the boundary throw ins at the SCG. Quite funny. More Opera buffa than panto villain lol.

Nah - Sydney Swans fans are all theatre goers, so it's just 'pantomime villain' booing.
This is so true.

Went to a game there a few years back when we got smacked and it was just surreal. Such a polite crowd.

My kids and I had snuck into an unoccupied row that was much better than the seats we had when this group of school kids and their carers/teachers came in to claim their seats.

We got up to leave but they wouldn't have it - insisting we stay and making room for us. and sharing their food with us. We spent most of the first half explaining the rules to them. And most of the second half accepting apologies for us getting thumped.

Was like being at a Maccas Birthday party.

This is so true.

Went to a game there a few years back when we got smacked and it was just surreal. Such a polite crowd.

My kids and I had snuck into an unoccupied row that was much better than the seats we had when this group of school kids and their carers/teachers came in to claim their seats.

We got up to leave but they wouldn't have it - insisting we stay and making room for us. and sharing their food with us. We spent most of the first half explaining the rules to them. And most of the second half accepting apologies for us getting thumped.

Was like being at a Maccas Birthday party.

The sad John Butcher game? I was there. Also for SPP’s cracking debut a few years later :)

John Butcher

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Meanwhile SMA still massaging...

View attachment 1478731
I reckon that SCG crowd is the biggest non finals crowd since 41.5k rocked up to watch Port play on a Saturday arvo in mid 2014 when we were flying.

Swans tend to get bigger crowds on Sunday arvos compared to Saturday arvos.

I reckon that SCG crowd is the biggest non finals crowd since 41.5k rocked up to watch Port play on a Saturday arvo in 2014 when we were flying.

Third biggest ever they said. Friend guessed 44k and was pretty damn close!

You should hear them cheer the boundary throw ins at the SCG. Quite funny. More Opera buffa than panto villain lol.

Bloody hell they are still doing that. They were doing it when I moved to Sydney 30 years ago.

I reckon that SCG crowd is the biggest non finals crowd since 41.5k rocked up to watch Port play on a Saturday arvo in 2014 when we were flying.

Almost. Back a decade or so they used to play Collingwood and other big drawing matches at Stadium Australia, but they've only had a handful of crowds in the low 40ks at the SCG in the last few years.

Yeah the early days of Stadium Oz they regularly got 50k+ crowds, before the shiny new toy wore off and the travel from the eastern suburbs got a bit too hard.

Reckon the GF replay game in 2007 v WCE, after that long stretch of close games between the 2 sides, was 62k and one of those games against Collingwood when 14 teams had the bye and only 1 game that round, was 70k. Went to both those games.

Think it was in 2002 Stadium Oz and Swans signed a 3 games a year x 5 year sweet heart deal to fire up the SCG to offer a better deal. They signed a second 5 year deal and it was during this period the novelty of a shiny new stadium wore off and the long travel factor hit.