Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 23

The difference between North and South Melbourne and Fitzroy was that in 2007 they had the only gold premiership cup that was 11 years old and another one that was 8 years old. Their fans were never going to agree to a shift.

North also had (have) an actual home base with tangible assets behind them.

Fitzroy were effectively homeless on top of all their problems, having played out of Princes Park, Victoria Park and the Whitten Oval in the decades leading up to their demise.

Good day Port supporters.

I'm an American footy fan and podcaster (A Yank on the Footy). I have been following the game since 2016, and footy has become my sole sports focus.

I've had a small thread in the podcast section of Big Footy for a few years. While we are mired in the offseason, I am working to set up some discussions with supporters that want to discuss their most memorable game. If you're interested, please consider reaching out to me at ayankonthefooty@gmail.com. My first episode of this series (recalling a game from 1973) is out now.

Cheers,
Craig Wessels
Host of "A Yank on the Footy" Podcast
Sandusky, Ohio

North also had (have) an actual home base with tangible assets behind them.

Fitzroy were effectively homeless on top of all their problems, having played out of Princes Park, Victoria Park and the Whitten Oval in the decades leading up to their demise.
The Palestinians of the VFL as my mate used to call them - no home ground.

The biggest wasted opportunity in the last 20 years was getting rid of North Melbourne to Gold Coast. It would have addressed many of the structural imbalances, Gold Coast would have had a much better foundation, GWS wouldn't have been as rushed, Tassie probably would have got a team sooner. The AFL is a corrupt shit show and would have remained so no doubt, but the AFL not having the balls to force the piece of shit that is North Melbourne was a **** up on a grand scale.

Fisher McAsey has taken personal leave from the Crows. Could be the end of AFL for him.
This is a really weird situation. It's been obvious from the moment he was drafted that he didn't want to leave Melbourne, he's been quite open about his mental health struggles, he's having absolutely no success on the football field. And yet he signed a new contract in 2021, and then didn't request a trade this year despite flying over to Melbourne during trade week. He doesn't want to be at Adelaide, given his performances to date Adelaide probably don't want him to be at Adelaide, so why is he still there? Just seems like a lose/lose situation for all concerned, but one which could have been so easily avoided on numerous occasions.

Yes. No 6 in the 2019 draft. Players drafted following included De Konig, Georgiadis, Pickett, Bergman, Serong.

It almost feels like the only reason he is still there is that Adelaide didn't want another player to leave and continue the go home narrative. It certainly would've been beneficial to all parties for him to leave at multiple points.

That contract he signed in 2021 is probably worth a mint and no other club would touch him during the trade period.

It’s a bit sad really. The Crows went early on him in the draft at #6 but he was universally seen as a first round pick.

I'm an American footy fan and podcaster (A Yank on the Footy). I have been following the game since 2016, and footy has become my sole sports focus.

I've had a small thread in the podcast section of Big Footy for a few years. While we are mired in the offseason, I am working to set up some discussions with supporters that want to discuss their most memorable game. If you're interested, please consider reaching out to me at ayankonthefooty@gmail.com. My first episode of this series (recalling a game from 1973) is out now.

Cheers,
Craig Wessels
Sandusky, Ohio

Hey, I follow you on Twitter.

We live in similar time zones…

Fisher McAsey has taken personal leave from the Crows. Could be the end of AFL for him.

When Victoria tumbles into the sea
That'll be the day I go back to Adelaide

The Customers were getting stuck into Kornes back when FMcA signed on for another two years - and there's a suggestion that it was for a $Million - so I wonder if Kane will have something to say this week...

Cheers,
Craig Wessels
Sandusky, Ohio

You might find our recollections a bit unique as we have a proud history in the SANFL & a challenging history in the AFL. We are the only football club in Australian professional aussie rules football to ever transition from a state based league to an national league. You will probably find a lot of fond memories & games during 80's & 90's where we achieved a lot of success that led to our ascension into the AFL.

I'd love to hear about the glory days in the SANFL!

get someone to tell you about the Anthony Williams game in 1988. If you could pinpoint a game that created the belief and momentum that eventually led to us getting into the AFL, it could be this one.

Also the 1977 grand final; the 1990 season (specifically the game following the news breaking that we had been dealing with the AFL to enter the comp, and the grand final; the 1994 grand final (the game witnessed by afl bosses that really convinced them that we had to be in the AFL); the 1982 prelim final when David Granger tried to maim and murder several opposition players...

Every Victorian club in the AFL was a state league based club, we are just the only one outside of Victoria.

get someone to tell you about the Anthony Williams game in 1988. If you could pinpoint a game that created the belief and momentum that eventually led to us getting into the AFL, it could be this one.

Also the 1977 grand final; the 1990 season (specifically the game following the news breaking that we had been dealing with the AFL to enter the comp, and the grand final; the 1994 grand final (the game witnessed by afl bosses that really convinced them that we had to be in the AFL); the 1982 prelim final when David Granger tried to maim and murder several opposition players...
Some of my best memories right there.