Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 24

The Adelaide Football Club strongly condemns the hurtful and abhorrent racist remark directed at one of its players via a social media platform.
There is no place for racism of any kind in our sport, nor the wider community, and it cannot be tolerated. Crows CEO Tim Silvers said the deliberate act of racially vilifying Izak Rankine was totally unacceptable and disgraceful, and the Club would not stand for it. “All of us have a responsibility to call out this type of reprehensible behaviour,” Silvers said.
Furthermore, why wasn't the next sentence of this press release "we have therefore made the easy and obvious decision to terminate Taylor Walker's contract effective immediately, and we apologise for ever letting him back into our football club?'

The Adelaide Football Club strongly condemns the hurtful and abhorrent racist remark directed at one of its players via a social media platform.
There is no place for racism of any kind in our sport, nor the wider community, and it cannot be tolerated. Crows CEO Tim Silvers said the deliberate act of racially vilifying Izak Rankine was totally unacceptable and disgraceful, and the Club would not stand for it. “All of us have a responsibility to call out this type of reprehensible behaviour,” Silvers said.
Tex Walker now deleting all social media history....

Forgotten the final comment by the male boundary rider to Finlayson the other night?
It made me ****ing angry. Why would you ask him that you dickhead.

Don't know what was said but * whoever said it, obviously. But is it time we stopped amplifying this s**t?

Feels like every second week we're coming out and condemning somebody's abhorrent social media racism. Trolls want attention. This is giving them what they want. The knuckle-dragging mouthbreathers who racially abuse players on social media are probably tugging their tiny little dicks at the thought of an AFL club putting out a press release about their idiocy and giving them the attention mummy and daddy obviously never give them.

Either just ignore them because they're not worth reacting to, or condemn them by name so there are some actual real world consequences for their behaviour. Statements like these give the racists the attention they're seeking but without imposing any actual consequences. It's the worst of both worlds.
Agree with most of what you've said, but please leave the 'tiny little dicks' insult out of it. Not all of us with tiny little dicks are racist and don't deserve to be lumped in with those sorts of characters just because of something we were born with and had no say in. It's incredibly hurtful. Almost on par with the behaviour you are condemning.

i agree leave the short dick men out of it. life has already dealt them a hard enough hand already.

#tinypenisally

Still think most umpires are losers who have no feel for the game and I think that's half the problem...

Other half of the problem is we play in the VFL.
Their job is impossible.

You just look at the decision to pay the free kick in the Carlton-GWS game for dissent. Its exactly what the umpire has been told to do - arms out, asking a questions = free kick against. Yet it gets scrutinised to hell because nobody else follows the rules.

Its been said to death but a lot of the problems from umpires come from the "interpretations" and the constant changes for no reason. There is not one person in Australia that knows what holding the ball or holding the man is now. Hands in the back is also a coinflip.

Their job is impossible.

You just look at the decision to pay the free kick in the Carlton-GWS game for dissent. Its exactly what the umpire has been told to do - arms out, asking a questions = free kick against. Yet it gets scrutinised to hell because nobody else follows the rules.

Its been said to death but a lot of the problems from umpires come from the "interpretations" and the constant changes for no reason. There is not one person in Australia that knows what holding the ball or holding the man is now. Hands in the back is also a coinflip.
So true, I've given up. My rule is when in doubt let it play on. Would like to know if 4 umps has meant more free kicks have been paid.

Don't understand this racist s**t...

We are all the same... Colour of our skin doesn't make a difference Ffs.
Because footy attracts idiot bogans, and when you combine groups of bogans with a shitload of booze and some competition this shit happens.

There's no fixing it unless you start fitting them with shock collars (and even then they may not have the intelligence to work it out), or maybe putting something radioactive in the groin area of the seats in all dual-cab utes and wait for it to sort itself out in a generation or two.