Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 25

This will of course re-ignite the discussion/debate over the effectiveness of helmets in reducing brain concussion in a high velocity, high impact game of Aussie Rules at the elite/professional level of AFL.
Anyone who understands the mechanics of what causes a concussion realises that helmets do not prevent concussions.

This will of course re-ignite the discussion/debate over the effectiveness of helmets in reducing brain concussion in a high velocity, high impact game of Aussie Rules at the elite/professional level of AFL.
I'd imagine the point of helmets will be sensory moreso than protective.

They will have sensors in them that will be used to determine when players need to sit it out.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Same here. If I had to name my 10 closest friends probably 6 or 7 of them are from my days playing at the Blacks. Visiting Choco's room during uni days was always good fun, given it was close by, when I was doing eco/commerce. One of those mates put down some words about Fred that sums him up nicely;

Today we said farewell to the most all-round talented man I've ever known. A SANFL footballer, he was North Adelaide B&F and a Grand Finalist, he was Professor of Economics and Dean of the Commerce faculty at Adelaide University, a talented musician and singer and, best of all, was his ability to deliver speeches that rivalled the best stand-up comedians, leaving audiences in stitches.
Vale Fred “Chocka” Bloch
I knew you would be touched by Fred. Anyone who met him was but your love of SA footballing history and those who have shaped it demanded it.

My history with Fred was less symbolic or footy related but affected me deeply nevertheless.

My first stab at Uni was in the 80s trying to get an economics degree. And taking Accounting 1 was mandatory back then.

I hated every bit of that subject except for Fred. His lectures were legendary his tutorials even better. 30% of the grading was based on finalising a set of books on fake accounts set by Fred. And all the accounts were from businesses from former NAFC greats. The holding company was Barrie Robran Pty Ltd. Reading a Uni assignment with tears of laughter streaming down your face is something I have never experienced before or since. I reckon no graduate has experienced it either.

I got a Distinction for Accounting I even though I hated it with a passion. My love of Chokka and his sense of humour is what got me that grade. He thoughts on life have been close to my thoughts ever since.

I dealt with him professionally in later years but it is that first contact that made its impact. Which is no better measure of the quality of someone imho.