Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 25

True - but if you look at the games I reckon it’s only Geelong and Crows out of Essendon, Giants, WB + Sydney who can win 2 from the next 2 and that gets them in. Also out of those teams some play each other so that deal with that.
Looking at it carefully I believe your correct.
Playing West Coast twice this year is a massive advantage.

You only had to take note of the look on Fly's face last night that he knows the wobblers are vulnerable.

Neither of Daicos or Moore will apparently be fit for the qualifying final, Hill is unlikely to make a great amount of difference on his own, and as pointed out by others they have more than their share of spuds, with Billy Frampton who was running around like a headless chook against the pressure of brisvegas being right at the top of their spud list, and he has more than a few mates, some of whom could be exposed big time in the cut and thrust of final's footy.

Given the probable composition of the top 4 at the completion of the minor round Port are likely to play the qualifying final in Brisbane which on current form should be harder to win than a game against the carringbush, and if as expected Melbourne finish in 4th spot it wouldn't surprise me greatly if they gave the wobblers a real touch up.

I absolutely wouldn't trust them to do it, but Essendon could knock off Collingwood next week and Collingwood could fall to second. If we were coming off a 3 game streak and lined up against a fairly injured Collingwood in week 1 I feel like you'd take that over playing Brisbane in Brisbane.

Win or lose you'd take the game at the MCG I reckon.

The only thing with losing and then playing Collingwood from 4th is it would mean we've dropped another game to end up there, which would worry me regardless of who we play. Really think we need to win the next two in reasonable fashion to have any degree of confidence going into the finals.

You only had to take note of the look on Fly's face last night that he knows the wobblers are vulnerable.

Neither of Daicos or Moore will apparently be fit for the qualifying final, Hill is unlikely to make a great amount of difference on his own, and as pointed out by others they have more than their share of spuds, with Billy Frampton who was running around like a headless chook against the pressure of brisvegas being right at the top of their spud list, and he has more than a few mates, some of whom could be exposed big time in the cut and thrust of final's footy.

Given the probable composition of the top 4 at the completion of the minor round Port are likely to play the qualifying final in Brisbane which on current form should be harder to win than a game against the carringbush, and if as expected Melbourne finish in 4th spot it wouldn't surprise me greatly if they gave the wobblers a real touch up.
I think Moore is 50-50 for the final, probably more likely to play than not.

But Collingwood without Daicos and Moore, means there there isn’t a better time to get Collingwood than the first final.

That doesn’t mean us needing to drop to 4th, if Essendon beat Collingwood next week Brisbane go to top. If Essendon beat the giants today, it makes the Ess V Coll practically an elimination Final for Essendon.

(Except the crows or anyone in a prelim)

It’s got to be the attitude, I hope they aren’t worrying about what’s happened in the past because that’s got us nowhere previously. The 2002-2003 QF’s and 2021 prelim are prime examples of us losing because of the fear of losing and suffering severe collective stage fright.

Some of our best finals wins we’ve appeared to have a more positive attitude and played with flair and confidence rather than fear. A couple of those on the road like the 2013 elimination final and 2014 semi final.

The way we attacked the 2004 QF versus the 2002 and 2003 QF’s were chalk and cheese. Which is an example of learning from previous failures.

The 2007 prelim we played with about as much confidence as I’ve ever seen from this club in an AFL final but for whatever reason that swagger completely deserted us the following week we were deer in the headlights.

2014 Richmond smashed us during our form slump (similar to the crows this year) and then we came out and obliterated them in the elimination final. A lot (including myself) were really worried we wouldn’t get it done that day. I don’t think we’ve ever played a half of footy as good as that one

The attitude needs to be this is our time and let’s flipping do this. I’d love to see our trio of rozee butters and jhf attack this finals series like their lives depended on it.

Yeah maybe I’m deluded but I don’t think there is any harm in having a positive outlook right now.

It’s got to be the attitude, I hope they aren’t worrying about what’s happened in the past because that’s got us nowhere previously. The 2002-2003 QF’s and 2021 prelim are prime examples of us losing because of the fear of losing and suffering severe collective stage fright.

Some of our best finals wins we’ve appeared to have a more positive attitude and played with flair and confidence rather than fear. A couple of those on the road like the 2013 elimination final and 2014 semi final.

The way we attacked the 2004 QF versus the 2002 and 2003 QF’s were chalk and cheese. Which is an example of learning from previous failures.

The 2007 prelim we played with about as much confidence as I’ve ever seen from this club in an AFL final but for whatever reason that swagger completely deserted us the following week we were deer in the headlights.

2014 Richmond smashed us during our form slump (similar to the crows this year) and then we came out and obliterated them in the elimination final. A lot (including myself) were really worried we wouldn’t get it done that day. I don’t think we’ve ever played a half of footy as good as that one

The attitude needs to be this is our time and let’s *ing do this. I’d love to see our trio of rozee butters and jhf attack this finals series like their lives depended on it.

Yeah maybe I’m deluded but I don’t think there is any harm in having a positive outlook right now.

This club has continually proven that by and large it prefers to play as the underdog. There's more reason to fear home finals than away finals.

Such a shame, we could have easily been the most successful club in the last 22 years if we were mentally stronger.

Imagine making a GF 02,03,04,07,14,20,21,23.

Obviously didn’t happen but we had realistic chances all those years

We should almost be tanking this week. Brisbane at the Gabba seem a much tougher task than a Moore and Daicos-less Collingwood at the G.

Nah fk that. We need to win.

Collingwood or Brisbane could lose next week too playing teams that need to win to make finals.

The top two or at the very least the order of the two isn’t set in stone yet.

True - but if you look at the games I reckon it’s only Geelong and Crows out of Essendon, Giants, WB + Sydney who can win 2 from the next 2 and that gets them in. Also out of those teams some play each other so that deal with that.

Essendon play GWS this weekend so whoever wins that stays 1 win ahead of the crows even if they win against Sydney.

Sydney are 1.5 games clear of them, could lose tonight and win the the next week and stay ahead.

Bulldogs play North so they stay 1 game clear, then a season decider v wounded Geelong. If the Bulldogs had beaten Hawthorn the door would have been slammed shut.

I think Geelong are in big trouble, Saints will be desperate to knock them over at Marvel because they have Brisbane the next week. Geelong lose to Saints and they will pack it in the next week playing #freekickbulldogs.

It comes down to the last round, every team will be desperate.

And if Sydney win tonight it's curtain time.

Brisbane wins against a Collingwood that is missing Moore, DeGoey, Daicos, Hill and loses Murphy who will probably miss the next game due to concussion protocols - he seemed very distressed on the bench.

Port loses against Geelong at Kardinia missing Dixon, Lycett, Aliir, Jones, Finlayson and Bergman and loses McKenzie who misses the next few games.

That’s the difference between second and third. It sure as shit ain’t about quality, cause there is absolutely nothing about what Brisbane is doing that makes me think they are anywhere near a fully fit Collingwood or Port.

4th is a bad spot because it puts higher stakes on the QF given we would really struggle to beat a red hot Carlton in a semi.

Our best path is finish 3rd, free hit at Brisbane, if we don't get it done then hope we can take care of a home semi and then have a red hot crack at Collingwood or Melbourne in an away prelim.

Makes a mockery of the Hinkleyphiles like Janus and their "hasn't got the list".

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app
“I’m not looking for the best players, I’m looking for the right ones.”

For example - tell me who from 2013 to 2020 filled Aliir’s role in our side? The answer is no one because we didn’t have an athletic intercept defender like Moore and Murphy are. Howard should have been that guy but he was too dumb to read the play.

Brisbane wins against a Collingwood that is missing Moore, DeGoey, Daicos, Hill and loses Murphy who will probably miss the next game due to concussion protocols - he seemed very distressed on the bench.

Port loses against Geelong at Kardinia missing Dixon, Lycett, Aliir, Jones, Finlayson and Bergman and loses McKenzie who misses the next few games.

That’s the difference between second and third. It sure as s**t ain’t about quality, cause there is absolutely nothing about what Brisbane is doing that makes me think they are anywhere near a fully fit Collingwood or Port.
They defintely are. Not much separates the top 4 teams when all fit. It comes down to who will get their players on the park and firing over the next 3 weeks. Fingers crossed we do, because we need them to beat any of these teams.

4th is a bad spot because it puts higher stakes on the QF given we would really struggle to beat a red hot Carlton in a semi.

Our best path is finish 3rd, free hit at Brisbane, if we don't get it done then hope we can take care of a home semi and then have a red hot crack at Collingwood or Melbourne in an away prelim.

This is my hope too.

I also don't feel like we're a team that copes well with having time off from playing. This was evident when the bye upset our rhythm.

The lower half of the 8 is really not impressive at all, so even if we lose to Brisbane up there, I'm confident we can win the home semi. From there anything can happen.