Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 26

I can't unsee the random chilli's in the mane of the devil and thus will call them the chilli's from here on in

Justin Longmuir confirms Brennan Cox will need surgery on his hammy. Likely to miss 12-15 weeks. Oscar McDonald knee issue not confirmed at this stage.

Tassie has 40k members so far. More than the Suns or Giants and approaching North.
At 10 bucks each mind you. I wouldn't be one of those 40k if not for that and I suspect those teams would've pulled similar numbers if they had the same initiative.

Was always going to be a Tassie state footy icons dominated.

With the North / South footy divide and the North West / North East subdivison it was hard to see them not taking a state footy focus.

And unless global warming causes hundreds of thousands and even millions to head to the colder southern part of Oz, its going to be a state team for the next 50 years or more.

Pity the Tassie NBL side took the Jackjumpers nickname. Would have to be the most unique nickname in all of the 50 or so advanced nations, and their major sports leagues.

At 10 bucks each mind you. I wouldn't be one of those 40k if not for that and I suspect those teams would've pulled similar numbers if they had the same initiative.
Yep.

It's nothing like a footy club membership. Not even remotely.

It's signing up to a marketing campaign around an idea - and you get a cool sticker that kids will love as part of it. All for the price of cup of coffee or two.

But watch Dillon market those numbers as something their not because it suits his agenda.

Tassie Colours, no surprise - Mrtyle (green), rose, primrose (yellow) state guernsey colours since 1908.
Nickname - Devils, nothing adventerous on that front.
Logo - as per below. There is going to be a public comp to give him/her a name.

INXS' Devil Inside to be their run on song??????????????????????????????/

View attachment 1931865

View attachment 1931907

And the Map of Tassie gets a good go.

View attachment 1931885
BYO shorts, or pants, for the tassies? Not launching in full kit? Only one guernsey?

Absolutely amatuer.

Timmy G and Scotty H pumping the fist in three varieties of top with footy shorts and socks pulled up, and studs on, is how any club with a sense of professionalism and theatre would do it.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Most of the wild population now have that nasty Devil Facial Tumour Disease so they might not have had a reference point. ;)

Membership page is up and running now:

$10 for a founding membership with a sticker (3 choices - get all 3 for $15). Smart marketing really - reckon people from all across Australia will be happy to buy one at that price and you'll be seeing that logo on cars all over the place by the end of next month.

All about creating momentum that the Tasmanian Government can't ignore, whoever wins the election on Saturday.
Yep, signed up. 👍

Yeah what's the go with one kid wearing collingwood shorts lol

Weak as piss, Richardson
They're all wearing their own local clubs, that kid plays for Devonport hence this logo (which feels oddl relevant to us as well)
1710761966551.png

I thought the same watching the game, but they probably need some sustained success to get more people going. The conditions were horrendous and they don't have much of a rusted on support base to sacrifice a warm dry night at home to brave those conditions.

At the moment they are just a vehicle for the AFL to play every week in Queensland and maintain their profile.
Which is why they chucked so many millions at Hardwick to come and coach them. If he can't get them to the finals, then I fear nobody will.

I'm still bamboozled by the fact that a team called the SUNS played and won a game at night. This doesn't make any sense to me.

Or the Crows who represent a supporter base made up of people who want to eat them.

A BF member (fargothegreat) created this mock-up design over a decade ago. Think it looks way better than the one they've gone with:

View attachment 1932062

But, as happened with us and Freo - I'm sure they will change their jumper design once they get up and running.

How did we change ours, wasn’t our initial guernseys exactly how they were launched in 1995?

Far out that tassie guernsey is repulsive. Easily becomes the worst guernsey in the afl. The map of tassie with a the letter T in it, **** me, it’s so flipping bad

Looks sensational.
I think so - the V panel at the top of the jumper is a stylised representation of the map of Tasmania btw.

IMHO the the Devil logo they eventually went with is a heck of a lot better than the stylised Minnesota Wild NHL team logo btw which I'm sure was one of the options they looked at.

1710783419057.png

But maybe this one from Hobart locals John and Margaret Kudelka would have been a better choice.

1710784268225.png