Game Day Ports vs. Saints

I almost had a tear, the bottom lip definitely quivered. Was personally just so pumped that we fought through all the adversity of incredibly bad umpiring and stick it right back in their ******* cheating faces. The fact we also finally won a game when we didn't play great was also huge!
Here here

In the last quarter, did that "Play On - Advantage" given to St. Kilda following a MARK in their back line, result in a goal to them too?

When I heard this I went bananas at the TV how can you pay a mark and than a different player run away with the ball with advantage! I'm pretty sure it wasn't a goal because if it was I would've exploded which I didn't but I might be wrong

Awful game, terrible skills by both teams ....
The Chinese kids who won the post-match exhibition game in Shanghai were at the game. That match was a good, open footy game like a Div 3 amateurs side. I was saying to my mate last night that after watching us they'd have been saying to themselves that they'd been playing it all wrong. They'd had forwards holding their positions and not running up the ground. They'd been kicking it up the ground, not out on the full etc.

For those that enjoy the emotional roller coaster from melts to euphoria, Page 45 is round about where Impey's kick gets intercepted. Jeez some people lose their shit...I just break mine. :)

Anyway, someone will know...

In the last quarter, did that "Play On - Advantage" given to St. Kilda following a MARK in their back line, result in a goal to them too?

As for the overall display from the umpires...I wish that they could either pinch our nipples of buy us a drink or three before going about f****** us! Horrendous performance.

David King and the AFC Employee weren't much better.
Correct, the umpire called 'play on - advantage' to a MARK - which of course is not within the rules. The umps lost control last night - deplorable. We got the worst of their calls however there was an incident in the last minute or so when Ollie crashed into a Saint - definitely head high - play on :eek:

He's also our top goal scorer, and by a comfortable margin. We're lucky to have a player that can dominate playing either role
We actually have two players that can do that and we still don't know how to use either to full potential consistently. Faarken. :(

Correct, the umpire called 'play on - advantage' to a MARK - which of course is not within the rules. The umps lost control last night - deplorable. We got the worst of their calls however there was an incident in the last minute or so when Ollie crashed into a Saint - definitely head high - play on :eek:

If you loose and complain about umpires you run the risk of being labelled a sore loser but we won so the umpires are fair game.

I called that play on from a mark at the time and you are right the umpires got it wrong. The worse decision was a non decision. Sam Gray was clearly held without the ball in the goal square in the last quarter. Then there was the decision against Trengove when he was flat on the ground that was another head shaker. The umpire tapped the side of his leg whatever that means. There was also a non decision when big Charlie was clearly impeded as he ran to contest a mark in the goal square in the last. If the AFL is going to have these hyper technical rules they have to be enforced consistently. On top of these howlers there was the inconsistency with the deliberate out of bounds kick. It goes on.

The worst exhibition of umpiring I have seen this year from three guys who umpired dry weather football on a wet day. Intelligence is obviously not a pre requisite for an umpiring career these days.

We won that game despite those clowns in yellow. :mad::mad::mad:

That ok considering olli should have got a htb a minute before that

I am pretty aware we didn't play well. We got out of a hole we digged ourselves. There is no disagreement on this.

My only point is that we are not the only team in AFL that looks like sh*t from time to time. The only consistently good squad this season is the Adelaide Crows. All others are unworthy of being in the Top-8 if we are not worthy.

So, under your criterion, AFL should cancel the Finals, since only one team qualifies. But, as I've said, I won't suggest giving the Flag to that team. I still prefer to play the Finals as scheduled, and see what comes out of it...

My only point is that we are not the only team in AFL that looks like sh*t from time to time. The only consistently good squad this season is the Adelaide Crows. All others are unworthy of being in the Top-8 if we are not worthy.

that looks like sh*t from time to time

"from time to time"???????? is this a slight exaggeration I thought we have looked liked poo for a substantial amount of time.

that looks like sh*t from time to time

"from time to time"???????? is this a slight exaggeration I thought we have looked liked poo for a substantial amount of time.

There is a natural tendency to demand more from the team we barrack than we do from others. We judge them with different standards. We overreact to things related to our team and underreact to those related to others. We wouldn't be where we are if the other teams didn't poo like us or more than we did.

Awoke this morning to find all the debris from the earth collapsing on our grey day caused by Gray had been cleared.
Congratulations on a tough game played in the rain in which you won well, shows you can handle the hard games which should keep you in good stead in the finals race.
I think for the first time this year we finally had the umpiring gods on our side, didn't do any bloody good though.:huh:
Good luck for the rest of the year guys & once again, well done.

Awoke this morning to find all the debris from the earth collapsing on our grey day caused by Gray had been cleared.
Congratulations on a tough game played in the rain in which you won well, shows you can handle the hard games which should keep you in good stead in the finals race.
I think for the first time this year we finally had the umpiring gods on our side, didn't do any bloody good though.:huh:

What a good post from a losing poster. Nice to see there are some who can accept the better side won, even in a heartbreaking fashion, and admit his team had the run of the green. Well done Grav, and congrats Port on a very good win.

If you loose and complain about umpires you run the risk of being labelled a sore loser but we won so the umpires are fair game.

I called that play on from a mark at the time and you are right the umpires got it wrong. The worse decision was a non decision. Sam Gray was clearly held without the ball in the goal square in the last quarter. Then there was the decision against Trengove when he was flat on the ground that was another head shaker. The umpire tapped the side of his leg whatever that means. There was also a non decision when big Charlie was clearly impeded as he ran to contest a mark in the goal square in the last. If the AFL is going to have these hyper technical rules they have to be enforced consistently. On top of these howlers there was the inconsistency with the deliberate out of bounds kick. It goes on.

The worst exhibition of umpiring I have seen this year from three guys who umpired dry weather football on a wet day. Intelligence is obviously not a pre requisite for an umpiring career these days.

We won that game despite those clowns in yellow. :mad::mad::mad:

When the ump taps his leg it means for the other umpire in the middle to rotate zones they're in I believe.

Thank you for coming over to post that.

When the ump taps his leg it means for the other umpire in the middle to rotate zones they're in I believe.

Haven't seen the replay but I think it was called for tripping. I assumed at the time Jacki had reached for the ball and made relatively minor contact with a Saints players leg. So of course they called it.

Ump zone changes, they sort of pat their hip or arse.

nice come back - well done

hope you guys roast your bandwagon fairweather 'supporters' who left the game early
Happens every Crows loss too, so get ****ed.

Not really critical of those who actually went to the game in the rain, it's more funny that they missed the ending. Those who didn't bother to even go can get ****ed though.

For those that enjoy the emotional roller coaster from melts to euphoria, Page 45 is round about where Impey's kick gets intercepted. Jeez some people lose their shit...I just break mine. :)

Anyway, someone will know...

As for the overall display from the umpires...I wish that they could either pinch our nipples of buy us a drink or three before going about f****** us! Horrendous performance.

David King and the AFC Employee weren't much better.
Ah yes, that play on advantage for a mark was certainly one the umpire made up, a complete doozie! Brought back memories of that day in 2015 at the G against the blue baggers.
Our good mate Nichols was involved of course.
1. He called play on advantage for a Carlton free kick, the player took that advantage and had a ping at the goals. Oh bad luck, he missed, never mind you can go back to where the free was and have another kick. Result a goal.
2. The Hoon took a mark that was acknowledge by the ump late in the last quarter within an easy kick for goal. But wait, a Carlton player came up to the Nichols and said, "Mr Nichols Sir, I touched that ball in flight so it's not really a mark". The result, a ball up.
3. There was something regarding the ball cannoning off an umpire, but I'm not sure of the details. I think the resulting decision was incorrect anyway.
4. And most importantly that game had the incident where Gibbs nearly killed Robbie with a spear tackle. If I remember correctly, after Robbie left the field on a stretcher it was a ball up and not a 50m free to Ports.

A couple of things about the above, Ports suffered through the umpires making a complete **** up and worst of all actually not knowing the rules. WHY US? And today Nichols is now considered by the AFL to be a top umpire! WTF!!

Ah yes, that play on advantage for a mark was certainly one the umpire made up, a complete doozie! Brought back memories of that day in 2015 at the G against the blue baggers.
Our good mate Nichols was involved of course.

2. The Hoon took a mark that was acknowledge by the ump late in the last quarter within an easy kick for goal. But wait, a Carlton player came up to the Nichols and said, "Mr Nichols Sir, I touched that ball in flight so it's not really a mark". The result, a ball up.

A couple of things about the above, Ports suffered through the umpires making a complete **** up and worst of all actually not knowing the rules. WHY US? And today Nichols is now considered by the AFL to be a top umpire! WTF!!

Yup, I remember the Hoon one. Nicholls IS a campaigner.

Game Day Ports vs. Saints