Autopsy Post Mortem vs Sydney. What a thriller! Pies by a point

No. He also needs the work on his centre bounce ruck work and his decision making when he has the ball. Still plenty of work for Grundy to do before he could be considered the best ruckman in the league.
That's the most exciting thing with Grundy. Already a gun, but with massive room for improvement. If he continues his rate of development, he has the potential to not only be the best ruckman in the league, but the best player.

I have to add to the chorus . . . WTF has personality got to do with it?
I had the AFL contract for several Melbourne clubs gear shops and can clearly remember several very nasty individuals around the clubs - not the least one K.S. Bomber great who was certainly not comfortable to be around whilst in the throes of alcoholic bliss.

This is a strange admission. We are surely concerned with football rather than personality here. There are many unpleasant personalities that do their job well in every sphere. Surely it is the job that counts.
Buckley has good football knowledge. In any case tactics can be brough in by assistants to suppliment. I always thought Malthouses tactical ability went down after Laidley left but Laidly didn't get enough out of his North players.

Buckley's personality is why he can't coach all types of footballers and why our list is as it is. It's he wasn't a great captian. Different personalities but the same for Judd and Ablett jnr. Great players but didn't lead their teammates like a Hodge does or a Tony Shaw did.

I have to add to the chorus . . . WTF has personality got to do with it?
I had the AFL contract for several Melbourne clubs gear shops and can clearly remember several very nasty individuals around the clubs - not the least one K.S. Bomber great who was certainly not comfortable to be around whilst in the throes of alcoholic bliss.
Ask anyone connected with The Dog's. What does Beveridge do better than McCarthy? What did Phil Walsh do better than Sanderson? It isn't footbnall knowledge that seperates them.

Post mortem thread about how we beat a top four candidate on their home turf turns into another why Buckley is shit thread.

Some things never change

The main thing that has kept us from being 3-0 is failing to nail some set shots. The game plan apart from that (and a few injuries and one or two players not quite yet in top form) seems to be pretty good. We are spotting up forwards sufficiently often 35 metres out from goal. Keep doing that and the wins will come.

Post mortem thread about how we beat a top four candidate on their home turf turns into another why Buckley is shit thread.

Some things never change

The main thing that has kept us from being 3-0 is failing to nail some set shots. The game plan apart from that (and a few injuries and one or two players not quite yet in top form) seems to be pretty good. We are spotting up forwards sufficiently often 35 metres out from goal. Keep doing that and the wins will come.

Yeah I think so far the team is performing ok. Ultimately, we have played both of last years grand finallists, and Richmond who are 3-0 so it has been as tough a start to the season as you can imagine.

I think though fair criticism is also warranted.

Yes, accuracy has been our major issue. As has basic skill errors. But there has been structural problems as well. I don't think the forward line realistically looks dangerous enough to out-score the best teams, and I think our backline still looks shaky.

In general though, we are getting enough inside 50s, and restricting our opposition entries. So the framework is there. We just need to hone in and put it all together.

While I feel as if people were premature to jump on us after 2 losses, I also don't think everything is hunky dory now that we won. Ultimately, the same issues presented against Sydney that did in the previous 2 weeks. So we need to be better.

Not sure about the personality comment. Thw problem is our key position stocks and putting too much reliance on darcy moore as the only key forward teams are worried about. I think with elliot coming back this week will be a huge in and the addition of greenwood over blair last week helped immensely. Think this week dunn should come in for possibly mayne and move reid up forward. A forward line of moore, reid, white, elliot, fasolo greenwood and then sidey or hoskin elliot resting there actually looks like a fairly dangerous forward line. Also not sure if anyone watches the post match but it looks like bucks personality has changed to be more aligned with the players all the players were around him smiling and very happy with the win so dont think thats a problem at all as they are all enjoying it.

Ask anyone connected with The Dog's. What does Beveridge do better than McCarthy? What did Phil Walsh do better than Sanderson? It isn't footbnall knowledge that seperates them.
Success in any endeavour - in fact in life itself - is all about timing. If you have it you can make a banquet out of a dogs breakfast, without it you can be elite in your chosen field of endeavour yet continually fail to ring the bell.

Personality will win over the shallow but without the proven ability to do what is asked of others you are just another side show freak.

Yeah I think so far the team is performing ok. Ultimately, we have played both of last years grand finallists, and Richmond who are 3-0 so it has been as tough a start to the season as you can imagine.

I think though fair criticism is also warranted.

Yes, accuracy has been our major issue. As has basic skill errors. But there has been structural problems as well. I don't think the forward line realistically looks dangerous enough to out-score the best teams, and I think our backline still looks shaky.

In general though, we are getting enough inside 50s, and restricting our opposition entries. So the framework is there. We just need to hone in and put it all together.

While I feel as if people were premature to jump on us after 2 losses, I also don't think everything is hunky dory now that we won. Ultimately, the same issues presented against Sydney that did in the previous 2 weeks. So we need to be better.

No, we just need a coach with a better personality apparently

Personality ties in with man management, motivation etc etc

Buckley has grated with some past players in his style. That's a fact.

It's also a fact that the younger players who are currently playing well really enjoy his coaching.

Personality ties in with man management, motivation etc etc

Buckley has grated with some past players in his style. That's a fact.
You have to break eggs to make an omelette. the first rule of management and leadership is that you have to be prepared not to be liked.
So have Clarkson, Sheedy, Parkin, Matthews, Malthouse and anybody else you care to name. Scratch the surface and Bevo will have alienated several. If he hasn't yet, I think he's about to alienate a star recruit and his father

Just watched the replay and some players played better than I thought when watching live but not much else.
The one thing I will say about watching it live was that when we had the ball locked in our forward 50, all our defenders were on the defensive side of their opponents, unlike the Richmond game where it was the opposite and we got torched a few times.
Of course any team can get torched if the opposition have players run forward of the contest and it spills their way but at least the structure was there.
Couldn't get a gauge on Bucks personality in the reply as he seemed to have the lights turned out.
Longmire though continued to use his hand to hide his utterances from the opposition employed lip readers.
C'mon Johnny, it just looks silly.

Random thoughts...

• Get off Moore's back...the kid is trying hard and sooner or later the marks will stick.
  • WHE playing deep forward, an experiment worth persisting with.
  • Pendles seemed to spend a lot of time in close proximity to Josh Kennedy, Kennedy did little... a coincidence ? I don't think so..
  • Smithy, if you keep making silly turnovers and long bombing to nobody you'll be experiencing the joys of the VFL very shortly.
  • Mr Treloar, you're a gun no doubt and you kick some speccy goals...but come on, stop wasting so many kicks.
  • Broomy...good come back, some of your in close work was special..with a bit of luck you would have kicked a couple of snags, stick around kid, stop thinking too much and just play.
  • Christopher Mayne...seriously ? It's time to start playing like a man, get involved, fly for marks and FFS practice those simple set shots, they are no easier in the VFL.
  • Goldy/Crispy...as you seemingly seem unable to pick up a ball that's at your feet, how about employing some soccer skills and sick the slipper..otherwise good job guys.
  • Brodie mate...powerful job on Friday, you'll need the 8 day rest...but sometimes I find myself wondering if you actually know where your team mates are at center bounces...just as well the boys in there seemed pretty capable of extracting the ball on friday anyway...but I reckon the stats flatter you a trifle.
  • Levi...you god !! Now make my day and run straight thru someone without even looking back...you know you want to.
  • Reidy, I reckon you're travelling OK, coming on nicely....but speaking of travel...cmon mate you have the turning circle of the USS Enterprise and I can boil an egg during your ball drop , how about making some allowances for that and get further back on the mark and try to move the ball on quicker...yeah I know some of that is a function of whats happening up field, maybe get a bit angry when nobody gives you an option.
  • Henry..seriously super job mate, I especially loved that short pass to the behind post in the last 30 seconds...class move, my heart rate jumped to 190...the down side is you'll be getting all the gorillas from now on, get some sleep...
  • The rest of youse blokes did what was expected....

Random thoughts...

Get off Moore's back...the kid is trying hard and sooner or later the marks will stick. WHE playing deep forward, an experiment worth persisting with. Pendles seemed to spend a lot of time in close proximity to Josh Kennedy, Kennedy did little... a coincidence ? I don't think so.. Smithy, if you keep making silly turnovers and long bombing to nobody you'll be experiencing the joys of the VFL very shortly. Mr Treloar, you're a gun no doubt and you kick some speccy goals...but come on, stop wasting so many kicks. Broomy...good come back, some of your in close work was special..with a bit of luck you would have kicked a couple of snags, stick around kid, stop thinking too much and just play. Christopher Mayne...seriously ? It's time to start playing like a man, get involved, fly for marks and FFS practice those simple set shots, they are no easier in the VFL. Goldy/Crispy...as you seemingly seem unable to pick up a ball that's at your feet, how about employing some soccer skills and sick the slipper..otherwise good job guys. Brodie mate...powerful job on Friday, you'll need the 8 day rest...but sometimes I find myself wondering if you actually know where your team mates are at center bounces...just as well the boys in there seemed pretty capable of extracting the ball on friday anyway...but I reckon the stats flatter you a trifle. Levi...you god !! Now make my day and run straight thru someone without even looking back...you know you want to. Reidy, I reckon you're travelling OK, coming on nicely....but speaking of travel...cmon mate you have the turning circle of the USS Enterprise and I can boil an egg during your ball drop , how about making some allowances for that and get further back on the mark and try to move the ball on quicker...yeah I know some of that is a function of whats happening up field, maybe get a bit angry when nobody gives you an option. Henry..seriously super job mate, I especially loved that short pass to the behind post in the last 30 seconds...class move, my heart rate jumped to 190...the down side is you'll be getting all the gorillas from now on, get some sleep... The rest of youse blokes did what was expected....

You should try bullet points.

Usually it's the quality of the list.
Usually.

(Have to have authority, be a natural leader etc, that's important. But nothing beats terrific players at your disposal)

Autopsy Post Mortem vs Sydney. What a thriller! Pies by a point