Training Pre-Season 2024

Ok sorry, yep fair call. We had very strong team those 2 years. Deserved a flag 2017 IMO but ultimately we choked on the day - was shattering to be there - , combined with crappy weather favouring Tiges, badly selected side (far too many immobile marking talls) and CC injured early. Plus all the normal disadvantages of Umps, crowd etc.

2017 - not many weaknesses besides some flaky wingers (Aitkins, Mackay), Hartigan was only Butts like and hopefully Murray/Curtin/Worrell will pass our previous KPD. Our on ball brigade led by Sloane who had a shocker (with his 5 game Tagger kicking 3 whilst keeping Rory ineffective) was useless and Douglas was truly horrid. Both Crouch boys did Ok.

i know I go off on tangents (sorry)..are you thinking our current side is projecting to be better than 2016/2017?
I think it will depend on what peak Rankine, Pedlar, Rachele, Thilthorpe, Curtin etc get to.

Yeh a certain poster thought it was racist………… I have never seen so many Porsches, Ferrari, and Lamborghini in one place as Guangzhou, and you are correct as to animal genitalia😲you just don’t ask, there is no waste, my wife is from a place called Baise, very traditional not a lot of tourism, so very authentic Chinese cooking, restaurants small and large great experience
I was surprised to see that what you had written was deemed racist :( Your wife is Chinese after-all. I was close to Baise recently when I went to Yunan. If it is anything like Yunan, then it is a beautiful place. I found that the skies in China are the clearest I have seen. Perhaps COVID, along with their multitude of electric cars and wind turbines? The food can be interesting at times. I did try a water cockroach, which just looked like a big cockroach in Australia. It was actually not disgusting and tasted sweet. I found out that I did eat cat during one meal, which I liked, but had no idea until I was told one month later.

Anyway, a bit off topic, so hopefully the boys are eating healthy during this pre-season :D

I was surprised to see that what you had written was deemed racist :( Your wife is Chinese after-all. I was close to Baise recently when I went to Yunan. If it is anything like Yunan, then it is a beautiful place. I found that the skies in China are the clearest I have seen. Perhaps COVID, along with their multitude of electric cars and wind turbines? The food can be interesting at times. I did try a water cockroach, which just looked like a big cockroach in Australia. It was actually not disgusting and tasted sweet. I found out that I did eat cat during one meal, which I liked, but had no idea until I was told one month later.

Anyway, a bit off topic, so hopefully the boys are eating healthy during this pre-season :D
Just got back from Hoa Tam restaurant feast. Best Asian restaurant imo, where you can get Vietnamese, Thai, Malaysian & Chinese cuisine.

Soft shell crab, Mongolian beef (Vietnamese style) & Thai fried rice.

And those Aussies eat kangaroo, the world's 2nd largest bird the emu, baby sheep, not to mention all the genitalia in a meat pie, some snags, or a stick of fritz. And would you believe, those Aussies literally drink milk from a cows breast!! It's almost like anything goes over there...

Oh, and I'm not racist, I have Aussie friends! I even have an Aussie wife...

Can we talk about footy? Chinese people don't eat bats. Nor do any other Asian peoples (except in very rare, small communities). It's not a common food whatsoever. Especially in China. You'd be given a big talking to by hr if you said something about Chinese people eating bat soup at any large company or corporation.
Cleanhands, if I read this correctly recently you have a Chinese partner? If so, have you had the chance to “experience” some of the food types available at many large, well regarded restaurants in Chinese major cities? It’s almost like anything goes….

Snake soup/snake fritter type things
scorpions
diverse range of small-medium birds
genitalia of various animals

one restaurant in Guangzhou, which was just of a mind blowing scale (6/7 stories, 5,000 seated customers at once and 500 chefs/cooks catering) would nightly slaughter a crocodile in the foyer at 6-7pm allowing hungry adventurous clientele to order it (certainly not me). Slaughter happened on the same level that the restaurants owner showed off his 3 most prized possessions - Ferrari, Lamborghini and something similar or even more impressive. It’s almost the most capitalist country in the world in some ways..

Ok sorry, yep fair call. We had very strong team those 2 years. Deserved a flag 2017 IMO but ultimately we choked on the day - was shattering to be there - , combined with crappy weather favouring Tiges, badly selected side (far too many immobile marking talls) and CC injured early. Plus all the normal disadvantages of Umps, crowd etc.

2017 - not many weaknesses besides some flaky wingers (Aitkins, Mackay), Hartigan was only Butts like and hopefully Murray/Curtin/Worrell will pass our previous KPD. Our on ball brigade led by Sloane who had a shocker (with his 5 game Tagger kicking 3 whilst keeping Rory ineffective) was useless and Douglas was truly horrid. Both Crouch boys did Ok.

i know I go off on tangents (sorry)..are you thinking our current side is projecting to be better than 2016/2017?

personally think it has more about it than that side. Ceiling is higher and we look to be batting deeper.

And those Aussies eat kangaroo, the world's 2nd largest bird the emu, baby sheep, not to mention all the genitalia in a meat pie, some snags, or a stick of fritz. And would you believe, those Aussies literally drink milk from a cows breast!! It's almost like anything goes over there...

Oh, and I'm not racist, I have Aussie friends! I even have an Aussie wife...

Can we talk about footy? Chinese people don't eat bats. Nor do any other Asian peoples (except in very rare, small communities). It's not a common food whatsoever. Especially in China. You'd be given a big talking to by hr if you said something about Chinese people eating bat soup at any large company or corporation.
Shrugs GIF

Ok, what would you call it?

To me, as much as I wish I didn't have to use the word more commonly associated with our poor feral cousins, I can’t see how it’s not deemed the C word.
We've been here before. I also don't see it as a choke.
Basically, for whatever reason, we couldn't cope with their relentlessness and probably didn't expect it.
The margin seemed to increase linearly across the match and we were never coming back.

I’d call it a choke if we got smashed in the 1st quarter
Can’t agree with that strict definition mate, Port Power choked in various early 2000’s finals including stuffing up last quarters when they were in a winning position.

IIrC, second quarters were our best in 2017 until the GF where we went goalless. I knew watching the players walk off with head down at half time that we were in trouble.

We SMASHED Tiges at AO and that result compared to The GF was a differential > 119

We've been here before. I also don't see it as a choke.
Basically, for whatever reason, we couldn't cope with their relentlessness and probably didn't expect it.
The margin seemed to increase linearly across the match and we were never coming back.
ok agreed mate, if debated heavily previously (not me personally) let’s move on…

He’s been good Rory. No issues. Has bulked up a little and is full of confidence
Mate, SO appreciate the training reports. Such a highlight of the day to see a “bigman training report” drop :cool:

Can I ask about the KPD? Keane really impressed me. Butts and Murray were incumbents before Murray’s ACL. Some are suggesting we play Keane, Butts, Curtin and Worrell but I think that’s zero chance, far too tall. Worrell plays and on,y 2 of the other 3 IMO.

Would much appreciate your analysis on our key defensive stocks training wise and your best guesstimate on how things may line up come R1 next year. Curtin up to it immediately? (I really hope so)

oh, and also The Fogs training form. Can he take over from Tex this year in his 7th year on the list??

yeah so Ned not making his PB must just be because his BP last year was ridiculous.

Many were very quick to write off Bond after a dreadful injury plagued 1st PS .....the guy though is an animal, with his rowing background .....so he'll leave nothing at the gate

Well Karl Gallagher .....this is Adelaide, Welcome ! ......30 degrees, 2 hour training sessions, and full oval run thru's ......can someone be on Airport Alert

Ok, what would you call it?

To me, as much as I wish I didn't have to use the word more commonly associated with our poor feral cousins, I can’t see how it’s not deemed the C word.
We were beaten by a better team. Bottom line.
History proved it as well.

Crows social team needs to lift their game.

bigman and Theo are giving more value than our paid staff.

Meanwhile teams like the Suns and Giants are absolutely churning out the content.
Teams like the giants and the suns have to though..

They need to 1) get as much shit out there as they can to attract new supporters and 2) need to keep their current supporter bases (which are small) engaged and interested..

Teams like the crows, who have over 50k members and a supporter base of around 6-700k, dont have to do as much.

Crows also have a very solid supporter base that isnt fickle in anyway (unlike their “tarps are required every now and then” poor cousins down the road) so they dont teally jump off the team in big numbers when they are down.

This is a good and bad thing.

Its the one thing I admire about the Powa supporters. They dont take shite performances from their club.. they simply wont turn up.

Can you imagine how tarped up AO would be in recent years at Powa games if port hadve had the same last 5 years the crows have had..

Just got back from Hoa Tam restaurant feast. Best Asian restaurant imo, where you can get Vietnamese, Thai, Malaysian & Chinese cuisine.

Soft shell crab, Mongolian beef (Vietnamese style) & Thai fried rice.
Thanks for the heads up, may check that up.:thumbsu:

I do like Empress Restaurant, classical Chinese cuisine.

Training Pre-Season 2024