Pre-season training. Bring it on!

Anyone catch the interview with the new recruits on the news tonight? Was hoping it'd be up on the site, but alas it's not...

Thanks for the report Drumm and the photos Crowfoot :thumbsu: Really appreciated. I would have loved to make it down today but had an all-day meeting I couldn't avoid.

Delighted to hear Smith is bigger, but mostly delighted to hear that Martyn, Craig and Shaw were on the track!! Finger's crossed they can stay on the track all summer and actually make a fist of their careers.

I for one am expecting at least one report out of today. Don't let me down. ;)

Pleeeeeaaaassssseeeee? :thumbsu:
Really missing the great reports we normally get. Would love to hear what work the boys are doing. Are they really doing a lot of wrestling etc....?

Can someone please get there and fill us in? (I would if I could!):eek:

I'm getting smashed at work at the moment. Missus also advised that if I was looking to take a morning off... It should be to go see my daughter at kindy or similar. Pprrrbbbt the girls love going to training.

I'm really keen to hit one session before Christmas.

More training reports, less card, Drum :D

....no bribe I swear.

Allegib, you can get smashed at training, with your daughter and bring the wireless laptop for some work. By work I mean write to us and tell us the goss.

I imagine a few posters will scamper down post draft.

Crows website has some precise figures on how much bigger brodie smith and david mackay are, 3kg and 5kg respectively.

Also saying good trainers thus far are porps, jaensch, dangerfield and sauce.

More training reports, less card, Drum :D

....no bribe I swear.

Allegib, you can get smashed at training, with your daughter and bring the wireless laptop for some work. By work I mean write to us and tell us the goss.

I imagine a few posters will scamper down post draft.
Yes Sir. :D ;)

Crows website has some precise figures on how much bigger brodie smith and david mackay are, 3kg and 5kg respectively.

Also saying good trainers thus far are porps, jaensch, dangerfield and sauce.
Excellent! :)

I had to work today, but that won't happen very often on Thursday's. I will be able to make the majority of Thursday training sessions. :)

Thanks ..love reading your reports Drum et al.. :thumbsu:Please keep them coming, Don't know how the rest of us will survive without them! :eek::D

I'll try and get back to training next week for a report. Had a few reports (of a different variety) i had to finish up yesterday and get into my manager, plus it was way to hot.

Next week should be a bit easier to manage a training session as well. :thumbsu:

Some better pics of the tat for Jenny

2cqdzww.jpg

2vwcosj.jpg

Bigger pics at http://oi42.tinypic.com/2cqdzww.jpg and http://oi39.tinypic.com/2vwcosj.jpg

I ventured down to training today for my first of the year.

I wont go into long details in each drill but will simply mention noticable differences to previous training (under Craig) and things I noticed.

The restricted group were Knighta, Shaw, Lyons, Stiffy, Truck, Lynch, Talia and Reily at times. While Craig left the track early.

• Knights, Shaw and Lyons spent alot of the session running.
  • Lynch was barely seen (came out for a light run).
  • Talia was first out on the track but only done walking as he recovers from surgery.
  • Truck spent a fair time on the exercise bike.
  • Pig dog was in and out of the main stuff (I assume he is only out of the contact drills).
  • Stiffy spent most of the day working with Bodey in running drills.
One of the most obvious differences I saw was the players willing to tackle with intent. In previous years in match simulation drills, if a player were to get tackled it would simply be wrapping your arms around them to stop the player. Today was ALOT different. If a player were caught, he would go down hard. Its almost like they were told to make them earn it which brung a smile to my face. Some of the best today were Bling and Tippo. The other thing I saw were multible tacklers. If one player held them up and couldn't get them down, a team mate would also wrap them up to bring them down.

I was very happy watching Bling today. He looked alot different to last season. He seemed alot fitter and in one running drill (5 minute run I think) he was not too far behind VB. His skills looked alot sharper, pin pointing 30m passes barely 1m of the deck. But the biggest difference was how clean he was gathering possesion. Alot of times last year he would fumble the ball running onto it. Today he would hit the ball at full pace and gather it in the one motion.
The other thing is he trained only with the midfield group :thumbsu:.

Lewis Johnston and Luke Brown played as defenders in the match drills.

If you need to know much more just ask and I will try to answer what I saw.

I was very happy watching Bling today. He looked alot different to last season. He seemed alot fitter and in one running drill (5 minute run I think) he was not too far behind VB. His skills looked alot sharper, pin pointing 30m passes barely 1m of the deck. But the biggest difference was how clean he was gathering possesion. Alot of times last year he would fumble the ball running onto it. Today he would hit the ball at full pace and gather it in the one motion.
The other thing is he trained only with the midfield group :thumbsu:.
Thanks for heading down Cheifton.

Such a confidence bloke. His hands were quite soft as a junior and the fumbles come from panic. Great to hear his running is good, and that he trained only in the mid group!

He's always been a ripper 'spear' kick, just that when the mind wanders, they spray. When he's on his kicks are great.

How's Otto moving? Mainly, how's he look with contact?

Tambling training with the mids is music to my ears. Let the bloke do what comes naturally and it won't take long to see results. Confidence up, fumbles down. Getting him real fit will help the confidence too.

Lynch got a corkie not long ago. Likely just a precaution and I'd imagine he'd be almost over it.

Any idea why Lyons wasn't with the main group? Wasn't aware if he had injury or surgery. Perhaps just a management thing?

Thanks for heading down Cheifton.

Such a confidence bloke. His hands were quite soft as a junior and the fumbles come from panic. Great to hear his running is good, and that he trained only in the mid group!

He's always been a ripper 'spear' kick, just that when the mind wanders, they spray. When he's on his kicks are great.

How's Otto moving? Mainly, how's he look with contact?

Otto looked to be running well and never noticed him back off in a contest. He was swapping between mid and back. Unfortuantly when he played in the back it was the other end from me so I couldn't keep a close eye on him.