- Sep 25, 2005
- AFL Club
- Collingwood
- Other Teams
- Gippy Power
Stole it.......just felt so good for Mick after seeing how much that win meant to him. I fear we may have played our GF and on top of that seem to have another couple of injuries and some serious form issues for players. Their gameplan was awesome. They broke us down and really hit the ball harder than us and spread was much better. I really thought their mids were better up until the last qtr. BUt anyway the Player Review.
Davis - was good in his sweeping role early but they applied fair bit of pressure and his efficiency was right off. Then got a bit worse for him and Puopolo towelled him in a couple of 1:1's which dont bode well for Neon for the GF and what the opposition might do to him. But much like the 1st GF last year he kicked a clutch goal off his left and did his bit. Wasnt the worst and hope he has a ripper GF.
Tarrant - How good was he - and how cruel it would have been if Buddy goal had of been the winning one. Was great one out, strong in the contest, terrific in holding his feet and even got offensive once or twice. Was good.
Didak - Well subbed on in the last and had 4 touches which was ok but not stellar. Something aint right. Just not sure you pick a bloke for a GF who cant tackle. If its hot and the game is expected to open up I guess you do but if its wet he doesnt play possibly.
Maxwell - Shocking for 3 qtrs. Didnt get to enough 3rd man ups. Had Whitecross and thought he got better of him. I was amazed they took Whitecross off him and after that Maxy got the structure of the defence up and running and just controlled that last qtr.
Krakouer - Just a deer in the headlights to many times early. Really struggled with the pace and the contest. Will be better for it and to be fair looked to be in some good positions at times but was ignored (eg the Pendles snap to Dawes should have gone to Kraks). I would leave him in though.
OBrien - Average. Kept Rioli under reasonable check but fumbled and just wasnt clean all night. Also made some errors defensively and just never seemed to settle. Forgot how he went in last qtr as was just all over the place.
Pendles - Ok but wasnt really damaging at all until the last half when seemed to be just so much more composed with his disposal. Also started to get better of Sewell and some super touches in close late. IN the end was very good but I wouldnt have said he dominated the game. They seem to put Sewell on him most of the night and I thought Sewell was good for them.
Blair - Good in and under but let himself down with poor fwd 50 entries on a number of occassions. Footy nearly went thru the TV when he was behind and and one out at FF in the last. But look he had a crack all night and whilst a few times he was caught he was good enough IMO.
Ball - very good but was on Mitchell at times and didnt control him. But look he was another who I thought just got a bit better as it went on and just seemed to control his man and then hurt the other way. The effort which led to Hodge goal in the last was poor. He should have been the other side and was caught out as he was in last years GF but he redeemed himself the little champ. What a goal and he made sure everyone calmed down in that last few minutes.
Thomas - Very poor early. Just couldnt get tempo of game and compounded it by doing dumb things. Provided almost no run and looked gone on so many occassions. He was good in close though and won a lot of contested ball (16) and had 9 tackles which was awesome. The tackle on Rioli late was just unreal and finished pretty well. IN fact he started in the middle in the last and had some handy clearances. How good was the kick over the head in the back pocket which was crucial in the passage where Dawes finished kicking the goal. Unreal. Will be much better next week.
Brown - Gave us nothing until the end. Given Jolly is likely to miss he keeps his spot but I wouldnt have taken him in otherwise. Only decent think he did was belt Lewis and then kick a ball around the boundary line. He is a worry.
Beams - Did he get a touch in the first half did he. ANyway was poor and just didnt have any run and couldnt stand a tackle at all. Nothing worked for him and he will be on the cusp albeit if Johnson is out I suspect he will stay in and be the sub.
Jolly - outstanding early wasnt he and kept us in the game in many ways. Thought Bailey got better of him as game wore on but wasnt sure he injured himself and probably the last time we see him for the year. Goal in the 2nd was one we desperately needed.
Reid - Poor and didnt look like he was in great shape to be honest. Didnt get beat though all night and was a credit to him. Early news is he may get up for next week. Might as well roll the dice with him as Keefe cant come in for that game and Brown was destroyed last time.
Wellingham - Wasnt great I didnt think. Again didnt give us the run we needed so desperately. The dropped mark in 2nd was bad...real bad and he just seemed to go out of the game after half time like he did vs WCE. He cant be right.
Sidebottom - A number of my mates thought he was ordinary but I thought he was really good actually. Was tough at the contest and whilst he slipped a few tackles which he should have stuck he at least was more involved and linked up when he needed to. Most importantly he started to run fwd which is when he is at his best. Set Dawes up in the last.
Johnson - Average but look he got a couple of beltings during the night so not sure how it impacted him. Has bleeding on the calf so he would be doubtful to play and thats a big loss bc his run is just so important and whilst he had a down night he is really crucial I reckon.
Dawes - Another who was a bit of deer in the headlights. His first three touches were awful but look he just kept on fighting on and I thought he was pretty good in the end. I cant remember many times where he didnt give a contest and I would say that was an improvement on anything he has produced since he has been back. Will get Lonergan next week and that will be hard but he needs to have a good one.
Cloke - Sensational - just bloody sensational and was the CHF who just took the game by the throat. He ran Gibson off his feet in the end and tore him a new a**hole in that last qtr. Just rapt for him!
Tooves - Didnt see that Toovey dash until he set Jolly up but little else achieved for mine. tackle on the Puopolo was good in the last and he did quieten him down after Leon was taken off him. Wasnt his best but will get better.
Swan - I thought their mids in general were better than ours up until half time and most of the third but Swanny just busted them in the last and noticed they tried Sewell and Lewis on him but they couldnt go with him. He and Cloke I thought were the difference in the last.
Shaw - Was shutdown early and really struggled with the slow tempo of the game but when it started to open in the last you could just see him lift. Cats will play a high tempo so will looking to next week and should be in good nick by then.
Davis - was good in his sweeping role early but they applied fair bit of pressure and his efficiency was right off. Then got a bit worse for him and Puopolo towelled him in a couple of 1:1's which dont bode well for Neon for the GF and what the opposition might do to him. But much like the 1st GF last year he kicked a clutch goal off his left and did his bit. Wasnt the worst and hope he has a ripper GF.
Tarrant - How good was he - and how cruel it would have been if Buddy goal had of been the winning one. Was great one out, strong in the contest, terrific in holding his feet and even got offensive once or twice. Was good.
Didak - Well subbed on in the last and had 4 touches which was ok but not stellar. Something aint right. Just not sure you pick a bloke for a GF who cant tackle. If its hot and the game is expected to open up I guess you do but if its wet he doesnt play possibly.
Maxwell - Shocking for 3 qtrs. Didnt get to enough 3rd man ups. Had Whitecross and thought he got better of him. I was amazed they took Whitecross off him and after that Maxy got the structure of the defence up and running and just controlled that last qtr.
Krakouer - Just a deer in the headlights to many times early. Really struggled with the pace and the contest. Will be better for it and to be fair looked to be in some good positions at times but was ignored (eg the Pendles snap to Dawes should have gone to Kraks). I would leave him in though.
OBrien - Average. Kept Rioli under reasonable check but fumbled and just wasnt clean all night. Also made some errors defensively and just never seemed to settle. Forgot how he went in last qtr as was just all over the place.
Pendles - Ok but wasnt really damaging at all until the last half when seemed to be just so much more composed with his disposal. Also started to get better of Sewell and some super touches in close late. IN the end was very good but I wouldnt have said he dominated the game. They seem to put Sewell on him most of the night and I thought Sewell was good for them.
Blair - Good in and under but let himself down with poor fwd 50 entries on a number of occassions. Footy nearly went thru the TV when he was behind and and one out at FF in the last. But look he had a crack all night and whilst a few times he was caught he was good enough IMO.
Ball - very good but was on Mitchell at times and didnt control him. But look he was another who I thought just got a bit better as it went on and just seemed to control his man and then hurt the other way. The effort which led to Hodge goal in the last was poor. He should have been the other side and was caught out as he was in last years GF but he redeemed himself the little champ. What a goal and he made sure everyone calmed down in that last few minutes.
Thomas - Very poor early. Just couldnt get tempo of game and compounded it by doing dumb things. Provided almost no run and looked gone on so many occassions. He was good in close though and won a lot of contested ball (16) and had 9 tackles which was awesome. The tackle on Rioli late was just unreal and finished pretty well. IN fact he started in the middle in the last and had some handy clearances. How good was the kick over the head in the back pocket which was crucial in the passage where Dawes finished kicking the goal. Unreal. Will be much better next week.
Brown - Gave us nothing until the end. Given Jolly is likely to miss he keeps his spot but I wouldnt have taken him in otherwise. Only decent think he did was belt Lewis and then kick a ball around the boundary line. He is a worry.
Beams - Did he get a touch in the first half did he. ANyway was poor and just didnt have any run and couldnt stand a tackle at all. Nothing worked for him and he will be on the cusp albeit if Johnson is out I suspect he will stay in and be the sub.
Jolly - outstanding early wasnt he and kept us in the game in many ways. Thought Bailey got better of him as game wore on but wasnt sure he injured himself and probably the last time we see him for the year. Goal in the 2nd was one we desperately needed.
Reid - Poor and didnt look like he was in great shape to be honest. Didnt get beat though all night and was a credit to him. Early news is he may get up for next week. Might as well roll the dice with him as Keefe cant come in for that game and Brown was destroyed last time.
Wellingham - Wasnt great I didnt think. Again didnt give us the run we needed so desperately. The dropped mark in 2nd was bad...real bad and he just seemed to go out of the game after half time like he did vs WCE. He cant be right.
Sidebottom - A number of my mates thought he was ordinary but I thought he was really good actually. Was tough at the contest and whilst he slipped a few tackles which he should have stuck he at least was more involved and linked up when he needed to. Most importantly he started to run fwd which is when he is at his best. Set Dawes up in the last.
Johnson - Average but look he got a couple of beltings during the night so not sure how it impacted him. Has bleeding on the calf so he would be doubtful to play and thats a big loss bc his run is just so important and whilst he had a down night he is really crucial I reckon.
Dawes - Another who was a bit of deer in the headlights. His first three touches were awful but look he just kept on fighting on and I thought he was pretty good in the end. I cant remember many times where he didnt give a contest and I would say that was an improvement on anything he has produced since he has been back. Will get Lonergan next week and that will be hard but he needs to have a good one.
Cloke - Sensational - just bloody sensational and was the CHF who just took the game by the throat. He ran Gibson off his feet in the end and tore him a new a**hole in that last qtr. Just rapt for him!
Tooves - Didnt see that Toovey dash until he set Jolly up but little else achieved for mine. tackle on the Puopolo was good in the last and he did quieten him down after Leon was taken off him. Wasnt his best but will get better.
Swan - I thought their mids in general were better than ours up until half time and most of the third but Swanny just busted them in the last and noticed they tried Sewell and Lewis on him but they couldnt go with him. He and Cloke I thought were the difference in the last.
Shaw - Was shutdown early and really struggled with the slow tempo of the game but when it started to open in the last you could just see him lift. Cats will play a high tempo so will looking to next week and should be in good nick by then.