Game Day Preliminary Final: Sydney v Collingwood

welcome to the Swans board Bobby :thumbsu:

Thanks,

Just thought I'd intro myself, I have been a swans supporter since 1977, the year we made finals and teazer won the Brownlow.

I was devo when the Swans left Lake Oval, but in the end it has worked out OK.

Have always liked them since and despite the tough times have enjoyed the past 15 years.

Am enjoying the chat here.

Go Swans.

i hope this JMac stuff is going to stop down here, i'm not being horrible, but its all about Collingwood, not his family who matter.

That's not being horrible that's a fair call. The players and people at Port and Collingwood (or any club for that matter) have every right to grieve and pay their respects but the family should be first and foremost not media speculation on how this will effect Collingwood's finals campaign.

i hope this JMac stuff is going to stop down here, i'm not being horrible, but its all about Collingwood, not his family who matter.

I know what you mean.

I was thinking earlier today that it's a huge call to have the team travel to his funeral the day before a prelim interstate. The players have every right to honour their good mate, after all there are lots more things in life more important than footy but equally, it would be perfectly understandable had they elected not to go with a premiership at stake.

Our depth is pretty concerning, no-one is really pushing for a spot besides Armstrong. TDL would be the closest and I agree with others that he is not right for this match.

A bit worrying that we've had the best injury run in the AFL this year, using the least players. What would happen if we had 3-4 more injuries?

I've been confident of beating the pies ever since it was conceivable we could play them in a PF. Now doubt is kicking in.
Would be bloody horrible to lose to them in a PF and poetry to break our losing streak. If there's objective morality in the universe then we'll win.
The footy Gods will be on our side this week I'm sure, or else or I may finally lose my faith..and its been tested a lot over the last 4 decades!! ;)

Our dismal record against the Crows meant nothing once the finals began - same to be so this week.

GO BLOODS 2012!!!!

Just flog them a do it early, seriously we all are shortining our life expectancy supporting this side.

How can this side keep beating us anyway. They have been good but to not win even one game in seven years i mean cmon

Our depth is pretty concerning, no-one is really pushing for a spot besides Armstrong. TDL would be the closest and I agree with others that he is not right for this match.

A bit worrying that we've had the best injury run in the AFL this year, using the least players. What would happen if we had 3-4 more injuries?

We would have more idea of other players.

Longmire will go grundy for mcglynn and put lrt forward we all know it.

Sub is parker probably

Just flog them a do it early, seriously we all are shortining our life expectancy supporting this side.

How can this side keep beating us anyway. They have been good but to not win even one game in seven years i mean cmon
1. ANZ vs. SCG - we all know our home ground is Moore Park-esk - the ground we play so very well.
2. Game plan under Roos compared to Longmire - suited the Pies magnificently well. Mick Malthouse knew it inside out IMO.
3. Buckley is the new coach - for the first time in a long time, we actually were the better side against the Pies a few weeks back. Just didn't take our opportunities (Goodesy!)

1. ANZ vs. SCG - we all know our home ground is Moore Park-esk - the ground we play so very well.
2. Game plan under Roos compared to Longmire - suited the Pies magnificently well. Mick Malthouse knew it inside out IMO.
3. Buckley is the new coach - for the first time in a long time, we actually were the better side against the Pies a few weeks back. Just didn't take our opportunities (Goodesy!)

But to not sneak one win in that time, defies all logic

Theres some pretty average player in the pies team.

Ok they have swan he will touch it 30 odd times anyway, just keep him from scoing, hes quite good near goal, but generall collects a lot of crap.

Pendlebury, beams, thomas, sidebottom are all going to hurt more, especially pendlebury.

Didak always plays well aganst us and Cloke has been average this year, not as bad as the media say and always a threat.

shaw is ok but the rest of the 22 last week are surprisingly average

Yeah, do not think TDL would be the right option this week. Yes he may enjoy the more open ANZ (opposed to the SCG) but a more defensive mindset will be required against the Pies IMO. I think it's a very very simple equation; we're down 1 McGlynn and up 1 Grundy. Nothing else needs to change.

I agree this is mot likely. If additional changes are made then i preume the contenders are armstrong and walsh as most recent ins. White was also emergency last time. Who else is in knocking the door down? Is Everitt fit? Id pick him before TDL

I've been confident of beating the pies ever since it was conceivable we could play them in a PF. Now doubt is kicking in.

Would be bloody horrible to lose to them in a PF and poetry to break our losing streak. If there's objective morality in the universe then we'll win.

Swans will win. You could argue the 2 sides are pretty evenly matched but the Swannies are rested and fit.
It's not like the Pies have dominated the past 11 games so that doesn't come into it IMO. History says the rested prelim finalists are near certainties to win through.

The big chance the Pies have is if it takes a while for the Swans to get back into 'finals footy' mode after a 2 week layoff and the Pies pounce early and put doubts in their heads. If it's close late the Swans should be fresher and finish off better.
Should be a tough good game to watch though.