PANTHERS
OLD SCOTCH
COLLEGIANS
OLD XAVS
OLD MELB

B Grade club A grade 1st XV111?? What you mean Rah Rah?? Still got jet lag????

PANTHERS
OLD SCOTCH
COLLEGIANS
OLD XAVS
OLD MELB

Translation - whilst Carey have a good list, particularly top end, they are a B grade club. Assuming he means calibre of person and supporter associated with them. Im sure this opinion cuts you to the bone!

Add grand plans,spruiking about them regulary and feeling the need to continuiosly justify them to the rest of the comp in the hope of acceptance from the estabilshed.

Think Chris Griffin and St. Bernards, Kid Boga from OEG and anyone from St Kevins and hopefully the penny may drop.

Add grand plans,spruiking about them regulary and feeling the need to continuiosly justify them to the rest of the comp in the hope of acceptance from the estabilshed.

Think Chris Griffin and St. Bernards, Kid Boga from OEG and anyone from St Kevins and hopefully the penny may drop.

You do realize that 99.97% of people involved at Carey would not even know what Bigfooty is? To use it as gauge here is to really overestimate the 3 supporters who have stumbled in here. Justify to the rest of the comp? What a dozen anonymous posters here? Gold.

1 – This is your first year in A section, peoples views will change if you can survive 3-4 years.
2 – Your 2’s side is very weak, if you get an injury run like De La have this year = bye bye and I don’t even think you have a 3rds do you?
3 – When a side wins the flag in B Section and come up to A they attract a lot of fresh players + Old Grammarians that have been playing elsewhere come back and it’s all one big happy footy club BUT!!!! This fairytale finishes pretty quickly and that’s when you see sides slide back down.
4 - I imagine he is also looking at the clubs infrastructure, no thirds (that I can see), under 19’s are in section 2 as are Clubbies etc.

Having followed A section for a while I have seen a lot of teams come up and have a pretty good year but then fall away the year after. OC have had a great year and I think any side that comes up and stays up should pat themselves on the back but I see the next 2 years as the ones that really count (In all honestly I hope you stay up, Bulleen is a lot closer for me than bloody Caulfield, Brighton or Oakleigh)

Great Win by the boys from Dairy Bell on the weekend keeps the season alive and finals within reach.

Xavs had a number of players out but it's the slowest and least functioning I've ever seen a side from Toorak Park. Full credit to De La who ran hard all day, not just to create but also get numbers behind the ball.

The umpires need to get a mention, as they twice dished out red cards reducing De La to 17 men (At least a half of football with one short) their was also no consistency with their decisions.
One last thing on the umpires and the VAFA it was the first time I could remeber that only one official boundry umpire was supplied for an "A" grade fixture. Not good enough

After I gave the coach a bake last week (he must read big footy) De La decided to work the ball up the middle as opposed to going round the boundry line - simple things work.

Always great to beat Xavs.

Would love to hear the thoughts of others who may have witnessed the game or other match reviews from over the weekend.

Anyone know whether the Xavs reserves player who was apparently knocked out in the final stages of the game on Saturday is o.k? Any tribunal implications?

Reports were that he is ok after receiving treatment from paramedics.

The De La player involved was reported at the time and will be attending the tribunal on Tuesday night, he was not given the chance to accept a prescribed penalty.

The player involved from what I understand was immediately remorseful for his actions and has apologised to the club (De La) for potentially tarnishing it's name and standing in the VAFA.

Reports were that he is ok after receiving treatment from paramedics.

The De La player involved was reported at the time and will be attending the tribunal on Tuesday night, he was not given the chance to accept a prescribed penalty.

The player involved from what I understand was immediately remorseful for his actions and has apologised to the club (De La) for potentially tarnishing it's name and standing in the VAFA.

Apparently it was one of the most disgraceful acts to be seen on a footy field - weak as p!ss effort from a bloke with a chip on his shoulder.

Impressive win by your boys on Saturday GY. The inclusion of 5 or 6 of your better players made a huge difference.

Sam Williams can play. Big engine, finds the ball and makes good decisions. How he wasn't mentioned in your published better players mystifies me. Clearly BOG for mine.

On the other hand, Xavs looked sluggish and slow and turned the ball over way too easily.

1. the de la coach didnt change tactics for the game, the players just implemented what he has been striving to for a while. there is nothing wrong with the coach

2.the incident in the twos is a shit one that shouldnt of happened but from all reports he niggled the player all day and said the big line hit me and the result was a punch to the face from front on. if all that is correct he shouldn get anymore then 4 weeks going by past tribunal results.

3. does the vafa have a rule against diving?

1. the de la coach didnt change tactics for the game, the players just implemented what he has been striving to for a while. there is nothing wrong with the coach

2.the incident in the twos is a shit one that shouldnt of happened but from all reports he niggled the player all day and said the big line hit me and the result was a punch to the face from front on. if all that is correct he shouldn get anymore then 4 weeks going by past tribunal results.

3. does the vafa have a rule against diving?

You're kidding. The Xavs player was in the coma position for 10 to 15 minutes and didn't move. An ambulance was called. No excuse for that crap. And I have no association with either team.

that is fair to say mate and i understand it is a tad left field but its one punch and its just unlucky the result. had he only got a busted nose or broken jaw would you still think its more then 4 weeks? does this xav's player ever have anything broken or was it just a sweet spot?

it was about 4 years ago a xav's player behind play and from behind ran past and put his elbow to an oppisition players head. broke his jaw and was lucky he didnt do more damage. could of easily had the same outcome but didnt, the force was there obviously.

that is fair to say mate and i understand it is a tad left field but its one punch and its just unlucky the result. had he only got a busted nose or broken jaw would you still think its more then 4 weeks? does this xav's player ever have anything broken or was it just a sweet spot?

it was about 4 years ago a xav's player behind play and from behind ran past and put his elbow to an oppisition players head. broke his jaw and was lucky he didnt do more damage. could of easily had the same outcome but didnt, the force was there

The fact you are trying to gloss over it says a bit. If had been off a footy field then the bloke would most likely go to the clink.

And your reference to the incident 6 years ago is ridiculous... Doesn't excuse anything. Both were disgraceful acts - xavs player got 6 weeks for that too. And had to do some hard time re: apology letters etc.

Let's see if the De La bloke does the same thing.

it was about 4 years ago a xav's player behind play and from behind ran past and put his elbow to an oppisition players head. broke his jaw and was lucky he didnt do more damage. could of easily had the same outcome but didnt, the force was there

The fact you are trying to gloss over it says a bit. If had been off a footy field then the bloke would most likely go to the clink.

And your reference to the incident 6 years ago is ridiculous... Doesn't excuse anything. Both were disgraceful acts - xavs player got 6 weeks for that too. And had to do some hard time re: apology letters etc.

Was a very ugly incident, nothing that you want to see at a nightclub let alone the football feild.
The player was extremely remorseful, hes a good kid and will do all the right things and come back better for it.
I am in NO WAY CONDONING THE HIT (so before i get an angry response to this)its a weak act BUT...the player who was hit was niggling all day, constantly hitting him, at times tripping him from behind and laying plenty of late hits (THIS DOES NOT EXCUSE THE HIT) its unfortunate that he was knocked unconscious wish the player hit him in the guts or something. Hope both players learn from this.

well fair enough i was just trying to put it into perspective and figure out how many weeks he will get. if it was six back then, he shouldn get anymore then that. oh and that xav's player who did hard time and apoligised, sure he did buddy. though before we go tit for tat, i dont agree with what happened. he should of waited till finals and beaten him the fair way.

A few questions being posed about De La V Xavs so here is a collective response

Reserves incident – not good. Offending player has already apologised to Xavs, DLS and personally to the player. I am told that by Sunday he had of his own volition written letters to all parties. I believe Xavs player has recovered and will be right to play this week and has graciously accepted the apology form the De La player, who was reported and is pleading guilty. Is a cleanskin but will reckon he will get a decent suspension and rightly so. Just crap going on all day in that game and unfortunately it led to this. Incident not condoned by anyone at De La. Perhaps some strong officiating earlier may have avoided this but concede that the men in white are ‘club’ umpires doing a tough job. At the end of the day player needs to be accountable. He is very remorseful and embarrassed and will wear the consequences. My recollection of the Xavs king hit from a few years back was that the OX player got 4 which at the time seemed a bit light on so not sure if that is a reasonable precedent or not. Being objective that case is probably irrelevant to this matter.

The 2 DLS players sent off. Absolute joke and it could have cost them the game. I am told one of the reports was withdrawn at the end of the game. While the report was withdrawn they could not get back the 15 minutes they played a man down. A glaring mistake by an experienced umpire. Could have changed the result as Xavs kicked at least 1 and maybe 2 of their 5 goals in this period. Same umpire got the other De La bloke in the last ¼. Was worthy of a free kick but not a send off and report. As we know if you front the VAFA tribunal you are long odds to get off but he is a good chance to beat this.

The game – Xavs been up for while and probably due for a loss. De La been ordinary for a while and due for win. Some good inclusions but still too many with season ending injuries to really threaten. Xavs better on the wide expanses of EP and the heavy track probably didn’t suit them. They did look a bit top heavy but will be a big show if they make it.

And agree Williams stiff not to be in the best but so were several others.

Impressive win by your boys on Saturday GY. The inclusion of 5 or 6 of your better players made a huge difference.

Sam Williams can play. Big engine, finds the ball and makes good decisions. How he wasn't mentioned in your published better players mystifies me. Clearly BOG for mine.

On the other hand, Xavs looked sluggish and slow and turned the ball over way too easily.

Thanks Ammo Man, Williams and Harris clearly best on ground. Maybe someone from the club was wathcing a different game to me.

If you punch, niggle, taunt, pinch and trip another player all day I’m sorry to say it but you need to be ready for retaliation at some point. I was not there but it sounds like the Xav’s bloke deserved to cope something in return, maybe he’ll think twice before he niggles someone else all day.

Take it to King Street mate...

word is, its 4 weeks for the hit. pretty fair and it only makes the finals more interesting come sept.