B Section Premier B 2011 Part 2

your talking absolute crap with your reference to an injured/innocent taking the fall - the real truth is Hampton Rovers tried to pin it on an innocent player and went to great lengths to convince the tribunal. The guilty party then came forward and took his penalty which included missing finals that year and the start of 2008

Oak and HR will always have this discussion and quite frankly after seeing 2 blokes from Oaks get 11 weeks for headbutting I doubt Oak have any credibility on BF or VAFA at the moment.

Just glad you and the ever so 'silent' Oakleigholdboys are not on BF defending the actions or ridiculing the decision.

Surely AFL Victoria should look at this, its just disgraceful- 11 weeks for headbutting - never been seen before and hopefully never will.

Stuff TVN Gates, gets some culture into your club or give it away and stay at the races 'W' head.

The bloke mentioned in Private Eyes post is a feral, he attempted to bite one of our blokes a couple of weeks ago, not good.

History suggests not to write Oakleigh off. Don't want to re-hash old ground with them, but an act of thuggery back in '07 resulted in one of our players being helped from the field in the Rd.18 clash. Oakleigh were playing for top spot and we were playing for the double chance. The incident happened behind play and the photo evidence wasn't enough to have the players sanctioned. If I recall correctly there were stills of the incident provided from a video, but not the running video. In the end, no Oakleigh player could be correctly identified and I think an injured/innocent Oakleigh player took the fall and they went on to win the flag. Sometimes a win at all costs attitude can prevail.
Don't worry UM, this shit goes on in their juniors from u/9 up. Its the culture ,had a look at their u/16's a few weeks ago and some of these fella's will end up doing weeks as they get older.

Don't take it personally, Keano. They've got a habit of choking in the big games. You only have to look at last year's GF and the previous year's straight sets outing after going through undefeated to understand why the forumites have their doubts.

No I get all that. The Fields have to prove themselves on the big stage. I'm just shocked CC isn't laying the boots in as well?

Same old Oakleigh? It is a shame because some of those twits can actually play footy!

No I get all that. The Fields have to prove themselves on the big stage. I'm just shocked CC isn't laying the boots in as well?

Same old Oakleigh? It is a shame because some of those twits can actually play footy!

How can I, to busy eating humble pie from prediction from start of year.

However!!!....if you go out in straight sets I'm going to vomit the whole lot up mail it to ya!

Well that is not only disgusting but an embarrassment to the VAFA, club, supporters and sponsors.

7 weeks for a headbutt!, must have been an animal act by the looks.

No place for thuggery like that in the VAFA and I hope the club turfs them out.

Try working out why Dion got 4 weeks [minimum +1 for attempting to beat it] and he has 3 priors in the last couple of years?? Should have been double. Reckon the old VAFA tribunal recorder might have erred & forgot to notify the old beaks??? :rolleyes:

Let's all calm down a little...

Oakleigh player C.Hogan will appeal. Yes there was a clash of heads. Hogan has cut under his eye which shows impact point, this was in a brawl of 30 blokes after Oakleigh player was felled late and has broken collarbone. Video shows Hogan in there trying to drag his own players out and has a perfect record in 20years of football.

Lucas' prior was attempting to trip - 3 weeks. You thought St Bernies bloke was stiff with 4 weeks for actually tripping? He deserved 4-weeks this time though IMO.

The other report was withdrawn and laughable.

I like Uncle Mick and have had a beer with you after most Hampton games but the bloke that punched your player got 2 weeks and missed a grand final so let's get that right, won't mention your bloke threw first punch but it doesn't justify retaliation.

Two suspensions and two busted shoulders means Oaks year over anyway

This forum is ideal for opinions with no facts so hope this helps a little?

As I said, not interested in re-hashing old ground, so let's agree to disagree. I was simply making the point that a win at all costs attitude can be effective. Oakleigh are a good side and have an impeccable record over the past 5-7 years. We've got a great rivalry that has been bitter at the best of times, but importantly it's been one where we're all able to have a beer afterwards. It's a shame it won't happen again for at least 12 months, but hopefully they're still up in B in 2013 and we're back here aiding them in striving to put the district clubs on the map.
I'm sure Dion will cop his right whack and hopefully he'll start to grow up a bit - although at his age he's starting to run out of excuses. He's a good kid who just needs his angry pills cos he has a tendency for dumb moments on a footy field. Even his sledging on the cricket field has a bit to be desired.

as i said, not interested in re-hashing old ground, so let's agree to disagree. I was simply making the point that a win at all costs attitude can be effective. Oakleigh are a good side and have an impeccable record over the past 5-7 years. We've got a great rivalry that has been bitter at the best of times, but importantly it's been one where we're all able to have a beer afterwards. It's a shame it won't happen again for at least 12 months, but hopefully they're still up in b in 2013 and we're back here aiding them in striving to put the district clubs on the map.
I'm sure dion will cop his right whack and hopefully he'll start to grow up a bit - although at his age he's starting to run out of excuses. He's a good kid who just needs his angry pills cos he has a tendency for dumb moments on a footy field. Even his sledging on the cricket field has a bit to be desired.

maybe we should read back and hve a look at prevoius post about d. Lucas...spitting head butting trainers??? It is becoming a habit

Oakleigh player C.Hogan will appeal. Yes there was a clash of heads. Hogan has cut under his eye which shows impact point, this was in a brawl of 30 blokes after Oakleigh player was felled late and has broken collarbone. Video shows Hogan in there trying to drag his own players out and has a perfect record in 20years of football.

Lucas' prior was attempting to trip - 3 weeks. You thought St Bernies bloke was stiff with 4 weeks for actually tripping? He deserved 4-weeks this time though IMO.

I like Uncle Mick and have had a beer with you after most Hampton games but the bloke that punched your player got 2 weeks and missed a grand final so let's get that right, won't mention your bloke threw first punch but it doesn't justify retaliation.

No one can get to every game, so I will rely on the Tribunal to sit through and source the facts and ratify it by penalty (right or wrong), and when you are talking about the disgusting act of head-butting and getting 7 weeks then I'm fairly well rock solid in my Opinion that the tribunal got it right. Remember by appealing he could actually get more weeks - good luck with that one.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/tonners-go-down-in-nasty-clash/story-fn53khnc-1226114765042

I don't believe much of what is said on here so I checked the incidents on dartfish myself, exactly 3min in 3rd qtr for the one mentioned in bold. The action didn't look good, it was a stupid move by the oak player. Not enough force to warrant a suspension though.

As for C.Hogan, I'm not sure how a clash of heads when guys are just standing next to each other, and not in motion, can result in a busted jaw/pallet..? The OB guy had a mouthgard in too by the looks of it!

Also, the guy who got felled initially by OB, if he had a broken collar bone from that incident he wasn't showing it when he got up and the physio's attended to him. It was a late hit from OB, but a hospital pass from oak's team-mate!

The Lucas one isn't on video. It doesn't need to be when it involves him though!

Good luck with that appeal!

Oak and HR will always have this discussion and quite frankly after seeing 2 blokes from Oaks get 11 weeks for headbutting I doubt Oak have any credibility on BF or VAFA at the moment.

Just glad you and the ever so 'silent' Oakleigholdboys are not on BF defending the actions or ridiculing the decision.

Surely AFL Victoria should look at this, its just disgraceful- 11 weeks for headbutting - never been seen before and hopefully never will.

Stuff TVN Gates, gets some culture into your club or give it away and stay at the races 'W' head.

And to follow up from you Chazz -

Firstly, wish player Homann (No.4) a speedy recovery - he's a strong competitor and a good player whether in the ruck or at full back. Those who wish to view the incident can check out the Dartfish, from Q2, 28 min 10 secs with Oakleigh player (No 13) being felled at 28.46. Player Homann doesn't enter screen until 28.58 (from the left) with player C.Hogan entering (also from left) at 29.08 and makes his way to right of screen clearly trying to pacify the situation. Its later that player Homann and Hogan come within close proximity of one another and another Oakleigh player, Hunt (No. 19). While its difficult to see what happens next, from the tape you can see one or two arms (29.21) go in the direction of Hogan and Homann that I assume would be from player Hunt and there is a clash of heads (Homann and Hogan) with player Homann recoiling and turning his head to his right. The umpire is mostly obscured (from the camera) but is pretty much directly behind player Hogan at the point of impact, and immediately reports Hogan.

What is fact, is that player C.Hogan has played over 300 senior and junior games and never been reported.

Just picking up on a few other matters - Bedford - many a young person of shady character or who has had a troubled upbringing has been helped by having a good footy brain and or silky skills and we (me and you, and I believe you are a decent person, and the wider community) as decent men should be supporting those kids of working class families who grow up in Oakleigh or in and around the high-rise of Port / South Melbourne in less than fantastic circumstances.

Chief, like your style but your friend in the Reserves may have been stretching it a bit. Old Brighton players were brave all the way, didn't shirk an issue for the rest of the game from what I saw.

And a thumbs up for Old Brighton co-captain Perrett who tried to pacify the situation as well as Oakleigh captain Harold who clearly did same as well as looking in on his badly injured team-mate while all this was happening.

OOB

Chris Hogan is terrific young bloke. Plays it hard and fair but certainly not a dirty player. I was not there and did not see the incident so cannot comment other than to say anyone who knows Chris would be staggered at this. If he is infact guilty as alleged it is very out of character. Lucas on the other hand……

OOB & Bedford - Just some balance on the working class kids from Oakleigh and junior club culture thing. Chris is from a middle class family and went to a private school like all of his brothers (and many of the Oakleigh players). He did not even play juniors for Oakleigh so nothing remotely relevant about either argument in this case.

A lot of this comes down to the umpires on the day (except Lucas).

I witnessed the biggest flog of all time last week umpiring the main game. I have never seen anything like him, he threatened to reoprt a Beauy player who accidentally brushed past our water boy(right in front of me) and amongst other things, threatened to report our ruckman because of ''the way you ruck''....seriously, if Benny Goodman saw this bloke he wouldnt let him umpire an Auskick game.

Having said that, maybe Goodman should be sending these Gestapo type ego maniac umpires to the potentially more volatile games, which would include any relegation battle as well as any game our mate Dion plays in.

Last word on the C.Hogan thing before the appeal tonight, correct me if I am wrong OakelighOldBoys, but the tribunal said they AGREED THE CONTACT WAS ACCIDENTAL but due to the nature of the injury here is 7-weeks.

So, will see what happens tonight.

And agree 100% with OOB...Wish the OB player a quick recovery of course. Apart from the brawl and three serious injuries (2 x Oak, 1 x OB) it was a very good game of football...Pity.

Geez, for someone wanting to bring sanity and truth to the board, perhaps you should change your location from Adelaide to where you really live, unless of course you are just speaking complete second hand garbage.

A lot of this comes down to the umpires on the day (except Lucas).

I witnessed the biggest flog of all time last week umpiring the main game. I have never seen anything like him, he threatened to reoprt a Beauy player who accidentally brushed past our water boy(right in front of me) and amongst other things, threatened to report our ruckman because of ''the way you ruck''....seriously, if Benny Goodman saw this bloke he wouldnt let him umpire an Auskick game.

Having said that, maybe Goodman should be sending these Gestapo type ego maniac umpires to the potentially more volatile games, which would include any relegation battle as well as any game our mate Dion plays in.

Maybe you and 'Bobby' should take the trouble to check out who actually coaches the fieldies these days and who actually makes the appointments.;)