Autopsy Q-Clash XXIV vs Brisbane Lions @ Brisbane Cricket Ground - 20/05/23 - 7:30pm

I don't think so. Day played decent game against Eagles and Chol needs another wake up call. If Chol is not careful he may end up in reserves permanently and who knows what will happen next year with Walter coming in.

This.

Lmao Dew is not risking his career to get Day life membership. Come on guys.

Day in over Chol (and either of them in over a small) is very much classic Dew.

But in saying that, Chol does need to learn continued effort is required, not just a one-off game or even patches throughout a game, especially with King back up and running out of full-forward.

I don't think so. Day played decent game against Eagles and Chol needs another wake up call. If Chol is not careful he may end up in reserves permanently and who knows what will happen next year with Walter coming in.

I’m not saying he didn’t play well but they did talk up his upcoming 150th

Not much different from King, Chol and Casboult all in the same forward line.
Yes it is. King and Chol are very mobile and provide ground help.
Casboult and Day are blocks of marble that can't do shit after a marking contest. It slows our forward line down and creates opportunities for oppo defenders to move the ball out easier.
Shame Berry has lost his spot.

I can see Luko having a big game on the weekend. Lions don’t exactly have a great match up for him.
Maybe they go
Payne on King
Andrews on Casboult
Lester on Lukosius
Starcevich on Day

Can’t imagine they’d be too worried about day ripping them to shreds. He’s only kicked more than 2 goals SIX times in 150 games.

Yes it is. King and Chol are very mobile and provide ground help.
Casboult and Day are blocks of marble that can't do s**t after a marking contest. It slows our forward line down and creates opportunities for oppo defenders to move the ball out easier.
Shame Berry has lost his spot.
Casbolt is so much better than Day in every aspect.
Casbolt has been good at ground level and contests in the air 100 times harder.
Days career highlight reel is going to consist of One run down tackle.
Casbolts will be a full half hours viewing.

On CPH2333 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I like how clubs are starting to say who the sub will be. Clubs should be able to name the 23 at the time rather than making the player think they arent included.

Former Lion Tom Berry is also listed as an out, but will be named as the SUNS substitute to face his former side.

Maybe they go
Payne on King
Andrews on Casboult
Lester on Lukosius
Starcevich on Day

Can’t imagine they’d be too worried about day ripping them to shreds. He’s only kicked more than 2 goals SIX times in 150 games.
Yeah that’s a good point, but I don’t think we’ll ever have all four on the ground.

I think it’s more likely it’ll be Payne, Andrew and Lester vs our four talls. And although Andrew and Payne play close to 100% tog, Lester won’t, so there will be a lot of situations where we’ll have a 195cm+ forward (likely Luko or Day) against someone almost 10cm shorter.

Potentially huge game for the Suns, I had a loom at what needs to go right for the Suns to make finals this year. It mostly boils down to: the best players need to play their best.

1) Luko and Benny have to kick straight
2) Rowell, Anderson and Miller have to play like the Demons midfield
3) King must be top 5 in the Coleman
4) Ballard/Andrew partnership has to find its groove
5) Powell has to play every game

What has to go right for Gold Coast to make finals?

Potentially huge game for the Suns, I had a loom at what needs to go right for the Suns to make finals this year. It mostly boils down to: the best players need to play their best.

1) Luko and Benny have to kick straight
2) Rowell, Anderson and Miller have to play like the Demons midfield
3) King must be top 5 in the Coleman
4) Ballard/Andrew partnership has to find its groove
5) Powell has to play every game

What has to go right for Gold Coast to make finals?
I would add Weller needs to return ASAP, and a few of the younger players (eg Humper, Davies, Rosas, Jeffrey, Hollands , Flanders) need to take another step up.

Maybe they go
Payne on King
Andrews on Casboult
Lester on Lukosius
Starcevich on Day

Hey Suns supporters,

Interesting forward line to match up on, very tall!

I suspect Payne will get King, partly because Andrews has struggled with him in the past. It might mean Andrews has a bit more of an ability to at times zone off Casboult and help Payne out.

Agree with Lester on Lukosius - am i right in thinking at 195cm he doesn't play super 'tall'?

Starcevich quite good in the air so he should be okay on Day - although as others have noted all 4 might not be on the ground a lot.

Must admit i am relieved Chol is out - sounds like he has been struggling for consistency but i am still haunted from the 4 he kicked against us in 2021.

Rosas / Ainsworth / Humphries not big household names but seem handy pressure players and bob up for goals.

The odds seem totally wrong to me. Suns had an ordinary start to the year but in their BIG tests they knocked off the cats and got oh so close v Dees. Being at the gabba would have to help Brisbane but the Suns played about as well as any side their last year. 2 miraculous goals early in the last quarter got us going, without them it was looming as a Suns win most of the night.

And the game at Carrara was the least convincing 52 point win i've seen! Suns won inside 50s and plenty of other stats. Lions were incredibly efficient on the day in particular Bailey.

8 in a row for the Lions. Surely the Suns come out primed. Should be a big crowd meaning we avoid our lethargic starts we sometimes put in.

Happy with the ins as expected.
Reckon Chol should be embarrassed the selectors considered Sam Day a better option than himself.
Simple all about effort.
Expecting a tight game to the end .

Happy with the ins as expected.
Reckon Chol should be embarrassed the selectors considered Sam Day a better option than himself.
Simple all about effort.
Expecting a tight game to the end .
Was thinking the same thing. Jed Walter already looks to put in more effort than Mabior. Some of Chol’s efforts last week were not AFL standard. He could be a star if his effort matched his undoubted talent.

Sounds like a bigger Jack Martin....

At least Chol put together one good season...

Jack Martin is the biggest disappointment in my time of watching footy. Jaeger at least has a reason, he ****ed his knees so bad. Martin is just a lazy flog. I was so awed by his junior career and he looked like he could be a great.

My best mate actually tapped down to him and he also said at the time, man this kid is the best player I have ever seen. This was in state champs and he has played with some really bloody good players who had huge AFL careers.

At least Chol put together one good season...

Jack Martin is the biggest disappointment in my time of watching footy. Jaeger at least has a reason, he ****ed his knees so bad. Martin is just a lazy flog. I was so awed by his junior career and he looked like he could be a great.

My best mate actually tapped down to him and he also said at the time, man this kid is the best player I have ever seen. This was in state champs and he has played with some really bloody good players who had huge AFL careers.
100%. I was always waiting to see him become a superstar and was always disappointed with his effort.
Just didn't seem to "want it" bad enough.
Super talent wasted as The Blooz are finding out now

Autopsy Q-Clash XXIV vs Brisbane Lions @ Brisbane Cricket Ground - 20/05/23 - 7:30pm