Review R19: Adelaide v Carlton - Crows n’ da Hood: Cripps v Crudds (Grumble Responsibly)

From ground level this looked like what happened all over the ground.

Yeah certainly in the centre we are immobile. We have zero dynamics. The midfield is the key to playing well as a team. Urinate off Camporeale. Same old stale unimaginative stuff.

Have not had a chance to make some observations until now, but being in Victoria I don't get to many games but did make it to the MCG, been suffering ever since. Here are my observations:

Team has not changed much since the North Melbourne debacle earlier in the year, we are not getting better so what are we doing?

We looked really overweight and unfit, many players were cooked in the first quarter, what is going on.

Even though we were mostly bigger than our direct opponents (Cripps a notable exception) we could not out muscle them at any time, this is only attitude based, nothing else.

Not sure what our game plan was, we did not run and our kicking at times was deplorable, how could this be?

Often we had two small forwards only in the forward line, and kicked the ball high on top of their heads?

No chasing at all basically, once Carlton got the ball they ran away from us.

Poor umpires must be finding it so hard to umpire this game as they made mistake after mistake, not favouring any side really although Carlton supporters were yelling for ridiculous decisions, sometimes it worked.

We had too few who tried really hard, specially thanks to Riley O'Brien for his efforts.

Clearly all is not well at the club, players and officials should be ashamed of dishing up this type of effort, as our opponents were not that good either, yet easily beat us and at least tried when it counted.

I normally like to be positive but at the moment it's not easy, at least there are no more games in Melbourne so I won't have to suffer at the ground, I feel for all those in Adelaide who will still go to watch them live and be served up this rubbish.

You’re spot on, but will they do this?
Highly doubt it .....it'll be coined that we owe it to the club, players, and supporters to continually strive to win each game ......you know the hype I'm talking about

Have not had a chance to make some observations until now, but being in Victoria I don't get to many games but did make it to the MCG, been suffering ever since. Here are my observations:

Team has not changed much since the North Melbourne debacle earlier in the year, we are not getting better so what are we doing?

We looked really overweight and unfit, many players were cooked in the first quarter, what is going on.

Even though we were mostly bigger than our direct opponents (Cripps a notable exception) we could not out muscle them at any time, this is only attitude based, nothing else.

Not sure what our game plan was, we did not run and our kicking at times was deplorable, how could this be?

Often we had two small forwards only in the forward line, and kicked the ball high on top of their heads?

Poor umpires must be finding it so hard to umpire this game as they made mistake after mistake, not favouring any side really although Carlton supporters were yelling for ridiculous decisions, sometimes it worked.

We had too few who tried really hard, specially thanks to Riley O'Brien for his efforts.

Clearly all is not well at the club, players and officials should be ashamed of dishing up this type of effort, as our opponents were not that good either, yet easily beat us and at least tried when it counted.

I normally like to be positive but at the moment it's not easy, at least there are no more games in Melbourne so I won't have to suffer at the ground, I feel for all those in Adelaide who will still go to watch them live and be served up this rubbish.
Great post ....just highlighted the key words that keep appearing in most posters comments

I had to suffer thru this game last season .....so it was a strong NO from me to put myself thru that again ......but I did switch the game off at HT & went and hung some memorabilia up, which I must say, was very satisfying

These 3 are things which have been evident all year.

The first 2 appear to be coaching / structure and the 3rd attitude. It's got nothing to do with talent.

We’ve played Gold Coast twice, how lucky are we?
You could not get an easier draw .....but our losses at Adelaide Oval demonstrate where we are as a team

I would like to know more about our assistant exodus. I kinda understand why Teague left...it was the club he played for although I reckon we should have fought harder to keep him. But what happened with Francou who seemed to leave in bitter circumstances and do we know why? Taesler as well

Something smells in the state of Denmark (loose Shakespeare) and the greatest post Tippett stuff up coincides with the arrival of B-B-B-Burton. We are wallowing in incompetency.

Neal Balme had a profound impact at RICH .......Noble also at BRIS

Burton has had the opposite impact at ADEL .....blind freddy can see this
Burton is.a cancer on our club who needs to be removed asap.

Hart only has a job because of Burton.

Best football department my arse.

It is stale with a stench of too many AFC expats.

Significant shakeup needed or we will get more of the same.

You could not get an easier draw .....but our losses at Adelaide Oval demonstrate where we are as a team
Yep and a healthy list, absolutely no excuses.

Really we all hoped the Hawks loss was a one off but really that was just a prelude of where we are at.

We stink with so many issues, I honestly think on and off field we’ve haven’t been in worse shape.

Yes that's true .....our window was 17 & 18 .....but we do have the foundations of a quick rebuild ....some very good up & coming players

But heads have to roll now !!!
Yes, we can turn things around quickly, if we change the football department & make smart squad changes.

Yep and a healthy list, absolutely no excuses.

Really we all hoped the Hawks loss was a one off but really that was just a prelude of where we are at.

We stink with so many issues, I honestly think on and off field we’ve haven’t been in worse shape.
We clash on most things .....but on this we agree .....something really stinks !!

This team talent wise & experience, should not be playing this horribly .....no injuries to speak of

It’s like that old saying, better to be silent and thought a fool than open your mouth and remove doubt.

Better to be thought of as incompetent than back in a few kids and be proved to be incompetent the whole time. They probably still have a bad taste in their mouth from having to finally play ROB and be proven to have been holding a ruck far better than Sauce in the SANFL for no other reason than Sauce didn’t want a week off.

Yes - How good is the 'complete'game playing from ROB ! Even his ground level stuff is showing something.
Comfortable incompetency has reigned for some time at A F C.

Need more than just Kane on the bandwagon. Critism from him is like copping it from Rucci.

They’ve cried wolf too many times, it’s easy to shrug them off as port flogs.

We’ve been so bad though, I expect a few to sink the boots in. Good.

Didn’t Rowe have a similar crack last week?

This team is broken ....what exactly broke it since the byes is interesting ......but clearly this team is fractured, since the byes and can't be repaired this year

Lots of yelling at teammates and finger pointing yesterday .....not seen that B4 at the AFC

This brings up the argument of team selection .....if the players believe the wrong players have been elevated or dropped, that can have a big impact on team morale

WHY -EEEE - ESSSS.........twice !

Just as an aside

They're talking about Ross Lyon on the Sunday Footy Show. Has brought back Sandilands and Hayden Ballantyne. Dropped three kids this week.

Maybe he'll be our next coach?

It's amazing, isn't it, we're having our worst month since ... alright, I'll go as far as to say 2011 - and they still can't jump over us on the ladder. Sad.
But they have blooded some great youth & will leapfrog us next year .....at least Port had a realistic understanding of where they sat in the pecking order

This team is broken ....what exactly broke it since the byes is interesting ......but clearly this team is fractured, since the byes and can't be repaired this year

Lots of yelling at teammates and finger pointing yesterday .....not seen that B4 at the AFC

This brings up the argument of team selection .....if the players believe the wrong players have been elevated or dropped, that can have a big impact on team morale

Pyke in presser ‘I’ve not spoken with the playing group’, something along the lines of leaving it to the other coaches.

Therein lies the problem - too many players, coaches etc. with different philosophies, looking after themselves ahead of the group.

An interesting game to watch from my vantage point at the MCG yesterday.

The energy I saw earlier in the year against St Kilda, West Coast and Gold Coast (Melbourne member who travels occasionally) had morphed back into the level I witnessed against North Melbourne at Marvel in the early rounds.

Carlton outhustled, outenthused and outperformed for the four quarters, yet I think in a poor sign for them, won by four and a half goals. A good side beats Adelaide by 50+ yesterday and I think all those watching the game would acknowledge that. Thankfully in part, the umpiring gave Adelaide a hand. Had the Crows had that umpiring at Metricon recently that game would have finished with a 150+ point difference.

Watching yesterday, the much maligned back-six was not the problem yesterday. I defy any back six in the league to mop up consistently on a clearance difference of 27-52. It’s not possible. The back six issue is with oppositions being comfortable allowing Keath/Talia/Hartigan handling the football as often as possible. I was surprise to hear Keath is being managed due to an injury, yet he was an emergency yesterday. That is a player welfare concern for mine.

Three players outside the back six seriously concerned me yesterday.

Matt Crouch
I was gobsmacked that he was listed as one of the three best players yesterday. That could only come from a ‘journo’ who looks at a stats sheet.
He is a very good decision maker in traffic – a positive. He is however, on yesterdays effort, near incapable of making a chance to his decision. Case in point, coming off half back (kicking right of screen), the Crows had an overlap and Crouch had Atkins on for a handball to carry and run. Crouch held it…held it…held it…held it…and then gave the handball to Atkins, who had nothing upfield.
No issue if Crouch goes first time, however in the time between he determined he would handball to Atkins, and actually handballing, Walker had Weitering beaten once, and then had position on him a second time. Weitering had help on Walker by the time Atkins received the football.
Hark back to 2017 – quick ball movement and the forward line was dynamic. Its now most static and show me the forward in modern football who can overcome that. Walker was solid yesterday, despite copping the Adam Goodes treatment from the Carlton fans. Not his fault, or Jenkins when the ball is coming in so poorly.

Tyson Stengle
I’m not copping the “he’s a young AFL footballer” excuse. He is an AFL footballer, he’s been at a Premiership club and played in a Premiership season and is at year three on an AFL list. By now, he should know what is required from a player who plays his position at AFL level.
His positioning yesterday was awful, often waiting at the back of packs for the ball to go over the top and so he’s away. Anyone else remember the Akermanis goal in the GF from being front and centre? His movement was anything but dynamic, which it has to be for some success as a small forward. He got lazy from the Gold Coast game, falling into the trap of thinking everything would come so easily over the back. I’m not worried about the goals or possessions from yesterday, I’m concerned about his lack of energy for a young fourth gamer. Chayce Jones has shown more effort in each game he has played this year. I’m OK with Stengle getting a chance against St Kilda, but I’d try a partnership WITH Eddie Betts again, not in lieu of Eddie.

Rory Atkins
He’s the Adelaide Crows version of Mark Waugh. I’m sure internally he is trying, but externally it looks like third gear is as far as he will go. His decision making however is poor. Receiving the ball in front of the MCG members yesterday he was on his left foot, but stopped and tried to get onto his right foot while under pressure. “This will work well for me.” was his thinking. It didn’t.
He DOES have a fifth gear. We’ve all seen it, but it takes drastic measures for him to reach it. If he is not under pressure to retain his position this week I’ll be surprised.

On the positive for the Crows yesterday, Hawthorn and Port both lost, so it keeps the club with that tiny break, but the margin for error is thinning. We keep hearing Pyke talking about how everyone is working hard or working harder. Work smarter, not harder. Actions speak louder than words. Action is required against St Kilda this coming weekend.

And if anyones position should be under threat at the Adelaide Football Club, it’s Justin Reid. He won’t be first looked at, but he should be.

Review R19: Adelaide v Carlton - Crows n’ da Hood: Cripps v Crudds (Grumble Responsibly)