tigs2010
Pick 1...
I just read it on here, no journo slantI think sometimes you need to hear the question and answer, and not a journo's slant on it.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
I just read it on here, no journo slantI think sometimes you need to hear the question and answer, and not a journo's slant on it.
Maybe I should have said just not second hand!!I just read it on here, no journo slant
Wasn't gonna go tonight but was fortunate to get a call from some mates who had a box for tonight. So the free food and drink while catching up with blokes in the industry was good.
Let me say a few things.
Cotchin was unbelievable. His running capacity is simply amazing. Gut running. We have not much of this at all and the captain went and showed the way. He tried and will this team on.
The last quarter he was in the forward line, does anyone know why? Was he injured? Thought that cost us a heap.
Think he'd worked so hard all night he had blown himself up a bit. Watched him pretty closely tonight and he covered a heap of ground
Deledio played all game forward and it was a good move because he is injured. But the fact he is playing at all is criminal.
Yeah, I think the fact that at 70% he's better than others like Titch at 100% means he will keep playing. Agree he shouldn't be but think he will anyway.
Martin was good but decision making is an issue. But in the bests.
Agree re his decision-making. Sometimes goes for the 2 in 10 kick from the wrong parts of the ground....
Ellis. Wow. Had a heap of it but his errors cost us the most. His running capacity is brilliant, he works so hard from defence to forward but his kicking and decision making is deplorable.
Hating his chip kicks at the moment.... he is a beautiful long kick, that is how he and Martin should be kicking it.... not every time but more often than they are at the moment
Conca wasn't ready. Rushed back in for no reason.
I was sure he was going to be a late withdrawal.... Would have been a better sub than Thomas and would have suited him more. DH def stuffed up that one.
Thomas. I'm at a loss.
Miles. Very good young player. His kicking was better tonight and inside work is very good. Needs to be in the side from here on in.
He plays the Tuck role but with better finesse and just as good if not better goal-sense
Riewoldt is a one man forward line. We need a mobile, good marking run heaps center half forward to help him. That number one or two pick this year is something that could change us.
Or if Griff could grow a pair and keep the intensity he sometimes shows. Needs to present the way Azza normally does at the ball carrier.... Needs mongrel in him. Or we just get a better forward like you say!
Thought Matty Dea was very good. Was shocked he was subbed. When he went off their mid tier forwards took some control. Parker, Cunningham etc.
My only criticism with Dea was that on occasion he took too long to get the ball on.... tried to step through tackles when flicking/knocking it on would have sufficed. Got away with it at times tonight but he just needs to be consistently playing... he'll learn
Sydney are just a better side and we're not at their best. But they are winners. That's the end of the discussion really.
That's the bottom line.
*sigh*
Dimma makes it sound like he;s going to keep playing the has-beens.
We are NOT better than 3-10, Dimma. Stop talking like that. The record is a fair indicator.
Yeah that's why I was asking the question, I wasn't having a crack at Dimma about it. Was genuinely curious how he meant it.Maybe I should have said just not second hand!!
Not picking on you mate 'cos you're a great poster, but what the hell happens to some of you blokes in the time between Vickery's last passenger effort and the time before he's being touted to come back into the side??
I'm willing to take a chance and say he's still the same player lol.
Honestly, I'd rather just go in a man downThat's exactly what I said.... he is, was and always will be better than Hampson.... Vicks is still having a dog of a year and despite that is still better than Hampson.... thus he gets a game by not being Hampson, not because he's earned it on form!!! It's the sad state of affairs at Tigerland.... who else could come in? Orren? Doesn't help team balance.... McBean? Can't ruck, he'd get killed with his body shape.... Elton? Does he even ruck at all? Griff would be my choice but is injured and out of form....
No options.... so TV it is....
Yep I knew that.Yeah that's why I was asking the question, I wasn't having a crack at Dimma about it. Was genuinely curious how he meant it.
next skipper young vlasThought Vlastuin was extremely good other that one mistake. Not sure who he played on but dominated him, kid continues to play like a veteran.
Saw a stat before the game.... we have the best percentage of any side that has been 3-9 since 2004, which I would assume is now the best % of any 3-10 side since 2004..... Wow what a fantastic stat!!! So maybe DH could say that instead.... Yes we are 3-10 but we are the best performed 3-10 team in a decade!!!
I actually thought grimes had a great one, and same with dea, houli, rance, chaplin and batch...ecstatic with all of them . Not worried that Dea was subbed - doesn't mean he should be dropped next week.Worst peformance was Dylan Grimes' pathetic effort on Goodes on the wing. Looked like an obese 60 year old.
lets f****ing hope notMy guess for changes
Out: Dea
In: Grigg
Hampson to his credit slotted one goal - for vickery to have made a winning difference he would have needed to kick 3.Silly as it may sound...
AmenHow much better are we without Grigg in the side?
who?
That Pick 1 this year is a game changer. It won't be something to worry about if we get it. Exactly what we need and lack.
Matt Thomas gets as many or more possessions than both Edwards, Pettered and Vlas in a quarter of footy!!! Strange call for him to be sub.
Chaplin and Foley played their best games of season. Chaplin was very solid defensively and was cool under pressure.
Pettered undid all his good work from previous weeks with a pathetic effort marking wise, countless attempts at chest marks that lead to a turn over. 9 tackles though no denying he has a crack.
The worst part about it is that we looked so good in patches alar the north game piling on goals then we STOP running!
Houli and Elis were everywhere tonight but both made some bad errors more so Ellis.
Hampson actually hit the score board! But I think he makes way for Tyrone.
I'd keep Azz Edwards in, he will work better with Vickery . That was out best combo last year and our forward line flowed smooth.
Miles is fast becoming a cult hero.
Best tonight were Miles, Chaplin, Foley and Martin.
Is there anyone that has less influential games than cotchin when he racks up 30 plus???
14 possession from Vlas and 12 for Titch without hitting the scoreboard not good enough for either .