Dramoth
Premium Platinum
If he does well in training, he gets a run in the VFL for 2.5 quarters.Chuckie C is back next week? You know or hope?
campaigner worked his arse off to get Freo back into the game… but for once Eleni got some decisions right going our way and balanced his shit decisions out.And Nathan Williamson disgraceful cheating effort late in the second quarter with free kicks against Cripps and Jones
I actually feel we haven’t nailed that part yet. We held on to the ball in our back half far too long in the 2nd and 3rd and let freo press us and coughed up too many turnovers. Clearances and defensive setup when we lose clearances are also big issues. We look our best when we play & run aggressively. DT game plan only works when we push the tempo. When we slow down, especially after an intercept mark, we invite pressure from the oppo. We can only slow down in general play. Everyone then moves up the ground and we kick it long to a contest and get the forward half pressure game going. If we get an intercept mark in OUR defensive 50 we should just go, go, go!! Jones kept holding onto the ball when he intercepted instead of looking for a handball option. It was absolutely frustrating.You can see the change in game plan from earlier in the year.
Instead of playing chaotic, play on at all costs footy, they’re controlling the tempo and thinking through the disposal.
Next step is to cut the 45, because the movement becomes too predictable over a full game. Eg, the 2nd and 3rd quarters tonight.
Last year thanks to the covid shit.What ever
What a load of garbage ..
His Brother was delisted a couple of years ago..
That’s almost as bad as watching videos of O’Shea.I'll try and hunt down some footage of Demetriou running the brownlow count...
The team don't have the legs to play on as much as we were, and it cost us dearly through the midfield and by extension defensively in most games.I actually feel we haven’t nailed that part yet. We held on to the ball in our back half far too long in the 2nd and 3rd and let freo press us and coughed up too many turnovers. Clearances and defensive setup when we lose clearances are also big issues. We look our best when we play & run aggressively. DT game plan only works when we push the tempo. When we slow down, especially after an intercept mark, we invite pressure from the oppo. We can only slow down in general play. Everyone then moves up the ground and we kick it long to a contest and get the forward half pressure game going. If we get an intercept mark in OUR defensive 50 we should just go, go, go!! Jones kept holding onto the ball when he intercepted instead of looking for a handball option. It was absolutely frustrating.
Yes, definitely need to find that balance. We held up okay tonight, however, there’s a concerning pattern by the same players who simply don’t understand how to play the way DT wants. Deep entry into d50 = spoil. Shallow entry = intercept mark and attack. I’ve seen the team do it on many occasions to great success but there are times where we take the option that best suites the individual rather than the team. I highlight Jones because with all the hard work he does intercept marking it all gets undone because he’s marked it exactly where the oppo wants him to.The team don't have the legs to play on as much as we were, and it cost us dearly through the midfield and by extension defensively in most games.
There's probably a happy middle ground, but if they hold up in the back half as much as they were tonight and last week, they need to be prepared to cut the angle and switch, like they did in the first quarter tonight. The team looked much better opening up the ground and getting the link up game flowing.
Was going to post about this at the time, 7 mins left in the game clinging to a 7 pt lead, hits up at the ball outnumbered & out sized, gets ball to ground, knocks it on to a team mate without giving away a lazy undisciplined free kick (take notice Harry)..... was an important moment !!At one stage we had Cripps, Casboult and H on the bench, think it was in the 4th quarter, maybe 3rd. Betts brings the high ball to ground when he was the one in a two on one.
He played a brilliant game. Pressure, effort, really really appreciating watching him play.
Seemed that Newman was often that sweeper loose in defense at times, was important by foot late mopping up the great 1 on 1 work from Weitering and co.Watch loose man in defence May get All Australian alongside commentators pet Andrew’s.
If Weitering had long hair that blew in the wind like Moore he’d be first defender selected. Aha x
I did something stupid at the game based on a lot of that. To keep warm went to the TAB downstairs at half time. Whilst there the big video monitors on of Foxtel footy feed and one shows inside the Carlton rooms at half time. I see Luke Power talking to midfield and instantly feel far more optimistic than I felt in sometime because before this, I knew Barker was guy talking to them. Recklessly I decide to put a bet on Carlton at half time whilst in the feel good mood.Makes you wonder what the f*ck was going on pre Barkers exit. He exits, Power takes over Midfield and Kennedy and Dow are thrown straight into the midfield. Both play their best few games for the club and we win two games of those we most probably would have normally dropped ( yet equally horrific spectacles)
Having no emotional crazy supporter like agenda and objectively looking at it all, the last little 'post Barker' bounce prob builds more concerns than it answers, in terms of where do the drivers of change sit.
Kennedy's first game for the club for me was my first 'we are on the right track' moment, 30 odd touches, a young midfield duck to water. Does his ankle and is treated like a fringe rookie there on in. Martin 'greatest potential' going round, Dow number 3 pick, made to look and feel like a kid plucked from the wilderness, yet clearly is not after what we have seen. Yada yada yada. Yet we have seen with the removal of one non-key individual and placement into a role of another, quite transformative outcomes. How this translates coach wise I have no idea and therefore can't really comment. But it is clear to see it is a fine line between getting it right and 10 yrs more and a wasted list.
Tired of typing but things would seem to be close, yet equally as precarious. Change is needed but it needs to be considered. I personally have changed tack on a number of fronts a number of times, but I feel the last few weeks have provided more optimism than I could have thought as long as change is implemented. Sayers and the review will be interesting and knowing his modus operandi professionally I think it will garner far more results based out comes than his predecessor. What he was doing sitting on a board for 10 years doing SFA while running PWC I have no idea. Baffling. Barker removal pre review seems to be a good start. Let's hope it continues. Am getting off track but feel strangely optimistic.
Quick question: when was the last team we beat a team twice in the same season? you would have to think it pretty rare.
Did anyone else see Weitering the robot blow a fuse on the 3/4 time siren? Completely warranted and literally first time I've ever seen him show emotion. He may be due for a service and oil change.
Really needs to improve his goal accuracy thoughMartin is sh*t
Sent from my CPH2005 using Tapatalk
Trying to watch stocker on the replay to see who he matched up on, saw him side by side with Walters at some points. Hate to remind the poster who said they would SPEW UP if it happened. No need to worry mate, stocks is on the job.
Overrated stat for mine. He was putrid last night.....againBurnt 2 shots, but had 2 assists and a total of 9 score involvements.
Passengers don't get 9 score involvements.
Yep again hunted the ball with intent and extracted out some hard earned balls to handball to a teammate. Been a different player since that game at the SCG when he let Pitto get the ball. Reckon there was something said after that game to clear his mind and play on instinct and hunt the ball like he wants to.Honestly reckon Dow showed more strength (and confidence to use his strength) and smarts than he did burst speed tonight. Excited to think that might be something he can add back into his game