Autopsy Rd 19 Coachkilling Blues smashed by last placed Roos

Who played well for the Blues in Round 19 vs the Roos?

God I love Carlton supporters...

We have a bad season because of injuries... sack the coach!
Our list sucks... sack the coach!
The board is sh*te... sack the coach.

Our president fu**s the club over big time and we're still getting over it a generation after our last premiership... sack the coach... ohh that's right, he did... he sacked the coach and got in a "premiership" coach... how did that go... what about in 2012... sacked the coach because one of our big money benefactors had lined up Malthouse, another "premiership" coach, through his connections on the board.

I reckon if you lot were around when we lost to St Kilda and Shitney in 1995, you would have been screaming "Sack Parkin" from the rooftops.

Ok... what happens if we get in a new coach and in 2-3 years time, we still haven't won a ******* premiership... are you all going to be shouting "sack the coach" again... because that seems to be the Carlton way. If you think that a new coach is going to come in and things will instantly get better, you are out of your minds. There are more cliques in Carlton than at a flamenco dancing contest.

If we want to improve the culture then the likes of the Pratts, the Elliotts, and the Mathiesons all need to be told to fu** off. We need a bunch of successful independent businessmen to sit on the board with no ties to the big money "benefactors" who have been treating the club like their private toy box for the last 50 years.
Agree and disagree.

With Ratten, I thought he was incredibly hard done by and should never have been sacked. We saw marked improvement under him, made finals, won finals we probably shouldn't have. Then we have terrible luck with injuries in 2012, forget what he's done up to that point, and go for the messiah.

It's different with Teague. We played our best footy under Teague in his caretaker period. That was due to him favouring mature players over kids who clearly weren't ready, some minor tweaks to Bolton's gameplan and an incredible ability to lock the ball inside our forward half for repeat stoppages.

2020 comes along and while we're still decent, the longer the season wore on the worse we got. We were still relying on the senior players at the expense of the kids (the balance should have been somewhere b/w Bolton and Teague's approach, ala the last 5 weeks). For mine, the more we implemented Teague's gameplan, the worse we've gotten. Our ability to lock the ball in our forward half completely fell away, and teams transition it against us with ease. In Teague's defence, we were pretty competitive most weeks, and were top 4 for quarters won for most of the season. It was the lapses that were killing us. My hope over the off-season would be that we tighten up on the one bad quarter each week and that'd drive our rise up the ladder.

Season 2021 comes along and for mine, we've gone backwards again. Injuries haven't helped, but I'm seeing bigger issues in the gameplan. We're no longer able to maintain the ball inside 50 at all. We're decidedly more average across 4 quarters, and when we do win, it's often due to an inspired quarter where we pile on goals as opposed to consistent effort across the game. The rhetoric has been that we've improved in the past 4 or 5 weeks, but for mine it's simply been a matter of opposition - we've come up against average teams and we've been good enough to win them. One thing that we've shown under Teague is that we're a team that loses the games we should lose, and wins the games we should win (today being an obvious exception).

So all that said, unlike with Ratten, I don't think it'd be an overreaction to sack Teague. He simply hasn't performed. I don't care if we end up winning more games this year than we have in years. We've got a talented list and the best we can hope for at the moment is that we play to our potential. Good coaches inspire teams to play above expectations, and I just haven't seen that with Teague this year, and for most of last year.

And on supporters, I can't f'n stand them, Carlton or otherwise.

Still absolutely at a loss to understand how a side 6 years into a rebuild and spruiking their finals aspirations, come up against the bottom of the table side, a side many joke about booting off to Tassie, a side who couldn't hit a target to save themselves in the first half, and proceed to make them look like the Harlem ****ing Globetrotters in the second half.

A terrible team performance. Seemed like there was a malaise across the entire playing group. Conditional defensive efforts and poor work rate. McKay wouldn't have saved us today. Very few positives today. Sigh.

He sprinted 60m, and was continuing to run through to try and cover the ground ball spill for a snap at the top of the square because he thought he'd missed the tackle opportunity. Stephenson stopped on a dime and caught both Jones (who had left his man to close down the space in front of JS) and Murphy by surprise.

Amazingly, the veteran with a dodgy ankle couldn't change direction fast enough.

The way you've worded this is more than a bit wild
Wow, that is an apologist way to analyse that play... 😂

And people want to bin Cotts. He's currently at the brainless Robbo stage right now. Another year or so on the list and he should start coming good.

Just had a squiz at the GPS data, he was right up there in almost all categories.

Third for total distance.
First for total distance at high speed.
First for average speed (in all three categories - overall, in attack and in defence).
Second for total sprints.
First for total repeat sprints.

We absolutely should persist with him on the list. It just doesn't have to be in the 1s all the time. Nothing wrong with him bouncing in and out of the senior side a bit while he learns how to use his speed and tank more efficiently, and works on his disposal.

Can you tell me Thursday nights powerball numbers in a DM please?

Sent from my CPH2005 using Tapatalk
I don't know... you're the person making out like a fortune teller here. A lot of people probably thought that Ed Curnow wouldn't make 200 games... but here we are.

The way you've worded this is more than a bit wild
It hurts me to write it. Only a
Yep, sets a shocking example time and again. No wonder we are culturally bereft as a club.
It's not about his on-field performance. I'd hope we're mature enough as a club to separate on-field performance from coaching ability. He strikes me as entitled and a bit of a sook.

Agree and disagree.

With Ratten, I thought he was incredibly hard done by and should never have been sacked. We saw marked improvement under him, made finals, won finals we probably shouldn't have. Then we have terrible luck with injuries in 2012, forget what he's done up to that point, and go for the messiah.

It's different with Teague. We played our best footy under Teague in his caretaker period. That was due to him favouring mature players over kids who clearly weren't ready, some minor tweaks to Bolton's gameplan and an incredible ability to lock the ball inside our forward half for repeat stoppages.

2020 comes along and while we're still decent, the longer the season wore on the worse we got. We were still relying on the senior players at the expense of the kids (the balance should have been somewhere b/w Bolton and Teague's approach, ala the last 5 weeks). For mine, the more we implemented Teague's gameplan, the worse we've gotten. Our ability to lock the ball in our forward half completely fell away, and teams transition it against us with ease. In Teague's defence, we were pretty competitive most weeks, and were top 4 for quarters won for most of the season. It was the lapses that were killing us. My hope over the off-season would be that we tighten up on the one bad quarter each week and that'd drive our rise up the ladder.

Season 2021 comes along and for mine, we've gone backwards again. Injuries haven't helped, but I'm seeing bigger issues in the gameplan. We're no longer able to maintain the ball inside 50 at all. We're decidedly more average across 4 quarters, and when we do win, it's often due to an inspired quarter where we pile on goals as opposed to consistent effort across the game. The rhetoric has been that we've improved in the past 4 or 5 weeks, but for mine it's simply been a matter of opposition - we've come up against average teams and we've been good enough to win them. One thing that we've shown under Teague is that we're a team that loses the games we should lose, and wins the games we should win (today being an obvious exception).

So all that said, unlike with Ratten, I don't think it'd be an overreaction to sack Teague. He simply hasn't performed. I don't care if we end up winning more games this year than we have in years. We've got a talented list and the best we can hope for at the moment is that we play to our potential. Good coaches inspire teams to play above expectations, and I just haven't seen that with Teague this year, and for most of last year.

And on supporters, I can't f'n stand them, Carlton or otherwise.
Teague was appointed b/c the Board were too lazy to go thru the proper interview process. Teague was not experienced or qualified to be Head coach, and I think everyone has agreed on this point. How can you expect to attract good assistants when you have a second rate coach.
No, Teague needs to be shown the door. If he coaches next year then forget 70,000 memberships and forget finals.

Didn’t run back this week. Time and time again we had to hold up forward entries as no one was there. Goal kicking should of applied score pressure but we didn’t nail or even reach distance. Tackling was looming up to tackle then we propped and the ball came out . Keep going right through them. Very ****ing disappointing today. Very ..

We won’t win another game this season.

The Board should instruct Teague to play the younger players who haven’t had a go and rest Cotterell et al.

The Board should also appoint a coaching sub committee to commence the search for a new coach. The new coach should then have a say about list management decisions at the end of the year.

The board should announce an immediate expansion of the review to include the ****ing board. 25-30 years of their mismanagement brings us here.

A <20 game ruckman supported by Jack are the negatives that played right into the hands of a strong Norfs midfield. Not even one KP tall made for lack of structure up front.

Game was always going to be a grind and alikely loss - the smarter commentators in pre game thread knew this - but somehow it comes as a suprise to all those people who are entitled to something...

Disapointing to see the total capitulation in the third quarter - Williams was a big loss at Half time from defence as was Weitering when he was sent forward as a hail Mary. However more dispointing was the run of missed set shots in Q1 - sucks the life out of momentum and confidence in what was always going to be a slog.

My bests for the day were TDK | Martin| Saad | Williams ( when on ground) and Newnes

I dont see Fisher | Cottrell as starting 22 players tbh.

As far as coaching goes - I would have thought that Weitering ( or Jones) to forwards and Kemp in as a defender ( he was an emergency) may have been a good addition to trying Cripps forward.

Would have been a more interesting game if half the set shot misses in Q1 I sarcastically pointed out in that thread went through for goals - would have put the 'shinboners' into next weeks game - unfortunately they didnt and ( again) Carlton actuallyt put petrol into the tanks of opposiiton by missing them.

Have to say Fisher/Cottrell were close to useless - well in Cottrells case I think he has mastered the ability to run so well he gets to stuff up more plays than anyone should be entitled to - time to move on from him Teaguey - the anti-LoB thing is looking pretty stoopid as is persisting with a coupel of really old blokes that cant run anymore - they are done Teaguey well and truly done.

I think lack of structure had more to do with player availability ( or lack of ) than Teague - which is not to say I am any more or less inclined to see him coach next year. Still it is an open question - what would we look like if just half the starting outs were available- maybe even just one KP forward at least?

Just had a squiz at the GPS data, he was right up there in almost all categories.

First for average speed (in all three categories - overall, in attack and in defence).

We absolutely should persist with him on the list. It just doesn't have to be in the 1s all the time. Nothing wrong with him bouncing in and out of the senior side a bit while he learns how to use his speed and tank more efficiently, and works on his disposal.
Absolutely. He's a hard at it player who is young and has a lot of brain farts ATM. Look at Robbo... his first few years had more than a few brain farts (2013 Elimination final anyone?), but now he's an essential part of the Brisbane side and he has matured into the footballer he was supposed to be. That could be Cotterall in a few years time.

Dow is the same. Those two at a contest together just shouldn’t happen

Yep, it is amazing the same people who bemoan our poor performance because we have a 'great list' but lack the required effort laud Dow and Cripps. Dow and Cripps just simply don't defend. And it impacts the entire team. Our work without the ball is by far the worst in the league and has been for years.

I have been in the positive camp for a while and still have hope that we are close to a big jump but if we don't get some midfielders who defend maybe my optimism is just blind faith. Cripps is a big big part of the problem. People in the club know that but they don't know how to fix it.

They're "budgie smuglers" (the brand) I think most player wear them, club supplied.

Too tight fitting

Lacked the coaching required to wear them properly

Blame goes to the clothing manager. Not enough larger sizes, too many smalls.

God I love Carlton supporters...

We have a bad season because of injuries... sack the coach!
Our list sucks... sack the coach!
The board is sh*te... sack the coach.

Our president fu**s the club over big time and we're still getting over it a generation after our last premiership... sack the coach... ohh that's right, he did... he sacked the coach and got in a "premiership" coach... how did that go... what about in 2012... sacked the coach because one of our big money benefactors had lined up Malthouse, another "premiership" coach, through his connections on the board.

I reckon if you lot were around when we lost to St Kilda and Shitney in 1995, you would have been screaming "Sack Parkin" from the rooftops.

Ok... what happens if we get in a new coach and in 2-3 years time, we still haven't won a ******* premiership... are you all going to be shouting "sack the coach" again... because that seems to be the Carlton way. If you think that a new coach is going to come in and things will instantly get better, you are out of your minds. There are more cliques in Carlton than at a flamenco dancing contest.

If we want to improve the culture then the likes of the Pratts, the Elliotts, and the Mathiesons all need to be told to fu** off. We need a bunch of successful independent businessmen to sit on the board with no ties to the big money "benefactors" who have been treating the club like their private toy box for the last 50 years.
This 100%. Except try and keep the big money benefactors. Just find someone who can keep them dipping in cash but ensuring they have no influence over club policy

The effort is there but his execution is beyond poor. Misses far too many targets for me.

A
Game was always going to be a grind and alikely loss - the smarter commentators in pre game thread knew this - but somehow it comes as a suprise to all those people who are entitled to something...

Disapointing to see the total capitulation in the third quarter - Williams was a big loss at Half time from defence as was Weitering when he was sent forward as a hail Mary. However more dispointing was the run of missed set shots in Q1 - sucks the life out of momentum and confidence in what was always going to be a slog.

My bests for the day were TDK | Martin| Saad | Williams ( when on ground) and Newnes

I dont see Fisher | Cottrell as starting 22 players tbh.

As far as coaching goes - I would have thought that Weitering ( or Jones) to forwards and Kemp in as a defender ( he was an emergency) may have been a good addition to trying Cripps forward.

Would have been a more interesting game if half the set shot misses in Q1 I sarcastically pointed out in that thread went through for goals - would have put the 'shinboners' into next weeks game - unfortunately they didnt and ( again) Carlton actuallyt put petrol into the tanks of opposiiton by missing them.

Have to say Fisher/Cottrell were close to useless - well in Cottrells case I think he has mastered the ability to run so well he gets to stuff up more plays than anyone should be entitled to - time to move on from him Teaguey - the anti-LoB thing is looking pretty stoopid as is persisting with a coupel of really old blokes that cant run anymore - they are done Teaguey well and truly done.

I think lack of structure had more to do with player availability ( or lack of ) than Teague - which is not to say I am any more or less inclined to see him coach next year. Still it is an open question - what would we look like if just half the starting outs were available- maybe even just one KP forward at least?

Yeah jab I thought newnes played well and completely put his body going back with the flight and marked. Brave passage .

Autopsy Rd 19 Coachkilling Blues smashed by last placed Roos