he is carrying the whole team.Hope Crippa isn't carrying something, never seen him with only 1 tackle before.
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
he is carrying the whole team.Hope Crippa isn't carrying something, never seen him with only 1 tackle before.
Just in case anyone hasn't been paying attention, if the season ended right now, we would end up with the #1 draft pick, we are on the bottom of the ladder and may be there for some time.
Well I am! We are 2-3 years and half a dozen players away from really having sustained success. We we're never going to make finals this year and we will still get 6 or so wins while the list and kids mature.
If the season ended now, Richmond finish 9th.
Don't see the point of this at all just after 3 rounds.
Well then, let's just close down the forum then.
Not sure where the 6-8 wins are coming from TBH. I cant see where a win is coming from with the way the team is playing.Exactly
You totally missed my point.
The sooking continuestwenty disappointing years you meant to say?
Not sure where the 6-8 wins are coming from TBH. I cant see where a win is coming from with the way the team is playing.
I'm not normally a doom and gloom sort, but the lack of pressure over the ground in the last 2 rounds is disturbing.
There was a point ??
Coming up to Rnd 4 & you are already talking pick 1.
Richmond couldn't buy a close win in the first half of last year. They were 82 points down at half time against the Saints. This team went on to beat all of their top 4 rivals by 8+ goals in the finals. How could this be?Not sure where the 6-8 wins are coming from TBH. I cant see where a win is coming from with the way the team is playing.
I'm not normally a doom and gloom sort, but the lack of pressure over the ground in the last 2 rounds is disturbing.
Richmond couldn't buy a close win in the first half of last year. They were 82 points down at half time against the Saints. This team went on to beat all of their top 4 rivals by 8+ goals in the finals. How could this be?
Dustin Martin is a helluva drugHird methods?
True.Dustin Martin is a helluva drug
no sooking just pointing it outThe sooking continues
I reckon the same goes for insomniacs right now...I'll sleep deeper than our midfield runs..........
Posted early in here, finally caught up with it.
******* hell.
I don't get it. We have an honest coach, who hasn't said anything other than what he has said throughout the last two years, the way he has said it over the last few years in a press conference. People have spent 50 ******* pages of this thread reading into body language, reading ridiculous between the lines stuff, doing whatever they can to misinterpret Bolton, the players and the club.
He's never put a win/loss ceiling/floor on this year. He's never done anything, except examine games on a case by case basis; criticising execution, not players. He's never been anything other than honest, save about questions he won't answer, and he'll tell you when he won't answer a question.
I'll be honest; I thought this year could have gone very differently. I thought we were a chance to roll Richmond round 1; when we didn't, I knew it'd be a struggle to get up against Gold Coast, purely because this is the first time they had the combination of new coach bounce, a mature squad, and the right man for the job. Eade was done, well before he got up there; it's taken Dew this long to get a gig not because he wasn't ready or he's bad at it, but because he was content where he was.
Marshbank was SMASHING it before injury; no coincidence that we dropped off defensively when he went off. AFL's a game of momentum, and it's rather often that sides who innovate reap the benefits; they lacked their top two goal scorers from last season, so they had to innovate to compensate, and to no-one's surprise it worked. How much more dangerous did the Pies look, kicking to a fast Treloar, or over the pack to a waiting Ben Reid? How many weeks in a row is Josh Thomas going to kick 5 straight? They also kicked 16.4; how many matches are they going to do that? We were put to the sword during a period of dominance where they kicked 9 straight goals; not due to a critical mass of entries, but pure straight kicking.
Collingwood's weakness is their kicking, to the man and for goal. That they kicked exceptionally well for goal is a massive reason they won.
As for 'effort', I don't buy the gave up argument. If we did, explain why we came back at all? Explain why we kept kicking goals; why we ended up finding a way both to win the ball and to score? Our issue right now is our inability to stop the opposition from scoring, and the answer to that - should our coaching wish to do it - is obvious; go back to the gameplan of the last two years, slow kick/marking. Issue is, that's not a great way to teach midfielders to run both ways, or to show forwards where to lead, or - you get the point. We have a lot of kids whose games are actively not developing, should we recourse to the old method.
Richmond spent the entire 2016 season teaching their squad their 'give it to Dusty' gameplan; keep him well rested, to let him smash the opposition in the third and fourth terms. Their ball movement change to a faster style that better suited their squad was an almost completely obvious change - at least, in hindsight - and their hard work was rewarded last year, with him winning the Charlie, the Norm Smith and the Premiership, all in one.
Why cannot we spend time developing our talls, backline then forward, so that when we obtain a number of meat and potatoes midfielders they've someone to kick to?
Our time is NOT now. Our time begins in two years; it's all the coaching department, the president, the CEO and the CLUB have ever said. The reaction in here is the result of failed false expectation. Calm down a bit.
Shit guys and girls.
How's LOB feeling after the weekend?
Posted early in here, finally caught up with it.
******* hell.
I don't get it. We have an honest coach, who hasn't said anything other than what he has said throughout the last two years, the way he has said it over the last few years in a press conference. People have spent 50 ******* pages of this thread reading into body language, reading ridiculous between the lines stuff, doing whatever they can to misinterpret Bolton, the players and the club.
He's never put a win/loss ceiling/floor on this year. He's never done anything, except examine games on a case by case basis; criticising execution, not players. He's never been anything other than honest, save about questions he won't answer, and he'll tell you when he won't answer a question.
I'll be honest; I thought this year could have gone very differently. I thought we were a chance to roll Richmond round 1; when we didn't, I knew it'd be a struggle to get up against Gold Coast, purely because this is the first time they had the combination of new coach bounce, a mature squad, and the right man for the job. Eade was done, well before he got up there; it's taken Dew this long to get a gig not because he wasn't ready or he's bad at it, but because he was content where he was.
Marshbank was SMASHING it before injury; no coincidence that we dropped off defensively when he went off. AFL's a game of momentum, and it's rather often that sides who innovate reap the benefits; they lacked their top two goal scorers from last season, so they had to innovate to compensate, and to no-one's surprise it worked. How much more dangerous did the Pies look, kicking to a fast Treloar, or over the pack to a waiting Ben Reid? How many weeks in a row is Josh Thomas going to kick 5 straight? They also kicked 16.4; how many matches are they going to do that? We were put to the sword during a period of dominance where they kicked 9 straight goals; not due to a critical mass of entries, but pure straight kicking.
Collingwood's weakness is their kicking, to the man and for goal. That they kicked exceptionally well for goal is a massive reason they won.
As for 'effort', I don't buy the gave up argument. If we did, explain why we came back at all? Explain why we kept kicking goals; why we ended up finding a way both to win the ball and to score? Our issue right now is our inability to stop the opposition from scoring, and the answer to that - should our coaching wish to do it - is obvious; go back to the gameplan of the last two years, slow kick/marking. Issue is, that's not a great way to teach midfielders to run both ways, or to show forwards where to lead, or - you get the point. We have a lot of kids whose games are actively not developing, should we recourse to the old method.
Richmond spent the entire 2016 season teaching their squad their 'give it to Dusty' gameplan; keep him well rested, to let him smash the opposition in the third and fourth terms. Their ball movement change to a faster style that better suited their squad was an almost completely obvious change - at least, in hindsight - and their hard work was rewarded last year, with him winning the Charlie, the Norm Smith and the Premiership, all in one.
Why cannot we spend time developing our talls, backline then forward, so that when we obtain a number of meat and potatoes midfielders they've someone to kick to?
Our time is NOT now. Our time begins in two years; it's all the coaching department, the president, the CEO and the CLUB have ever said. The reaction in here is the result of failed false expectation. Calm down a bit.
Shit guys and girls.
Don't worry mate by the end of next year your son will love the Blues. Once it starts it could happen very quickly.Ok I’m calm, I think. If we are into the 3rd year if a 3 year rebuild why do we need 2 more years... that would make it a 5 year rebuild no? In that plan was there an implied understanding that we would get worse as the rebuild progressed. Are we not allowed to win until 2020? I didn’t get that memo.
We have turned over 42 players in 3 years. There are only 11 on the list from 2015.
Two years from now it will be only 2 certainties Docherty and Cripps, add maybe Jones, Kruez, Murph on last legs with Ed C?
That’s not a rebuild it’s a farking obliteration. I figure the fabled “green shoots” should be delivering fruit by 2019.
I expect nothing this year except watching kids develop and praying my son comes to the footy, not to placate his delusional dad, but because he believes in Carlton, I even took him to the Ghosts of PP tour just to give him a sense of the history, the institution that has existed for more than 150 years. Sadly, we are a laughing stock.
I get that we need to do this right but I simply cannot accept the dog sh1t we served up particularly against GC.
In short I expected a little more by now.
Have you watched the saints this year? Did you see Essendon play yesterday? North is currently sitting 11th with 1 win and are an injury to Ben Brown away from being a complete basket case. How often are Collingwood going to kick 16.4?If you can honestly mount a case for us to not finish bottom two then I'm all ears.