Play Nice Referendum - Indigenous Voice in Parliament - Part 2

Link to the proposed Referendum, from the Referendum Working Group:
(Edited 6 April 2023)

These are the words that will be put to the Australian people in the upcoming referendum as agreed by the Referendum Working Group (made up of representatives of First Nations communities from around Australia):

"A Proposed Law: to alter the Constitution to recognise the First Peoples of Australia by establishing an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Voice. Do you approve this proposed alteration?"

As well as that, it will be put to Australians that the constitution be amended to include a new chapter titled "Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples".

The details would be:

View attachment 1636890

The Prime Minister has committed to the government introducing legislation with this wording to parliament on 30 March 2023 and to establishing a joint parliamentary committee to consider it and receive submissions on the wording, providing ALL members of Parliament with the opportunity to consider and debate the full details of the proposal.

Parliament will then vote on the wording in June in the lead up to a National Referendum.

The ANU has issued a paper responding to common public concerns expressed in relation to the proposed Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Voice here:

Summary details of the key points from this paper may be found in Chief post here:
The Uluru Statement from the Heart:
Not specifically No. In any case it does not form part of the Referendum proposal.

View attachment 1769742
Seeing as things have gotten a bit toxic in here, let's try to return things to a more civil tone.

The following will result in warnings to begin with, and if said behaviour continues will be escalated:
  • referring to another poster as racist without direct provocation.
  • dismissing or deriding another poster's lived experience.
  • personal attacks or one line posts designed solely to insult or deride.

You might notice that the final rule is from the board rules. Thought we should probably remember that this is against the rules in case it's been forgotten.

Let's play nicely from here, people.

Yeah not surprising. The old 'sick of getting it shoved down my throat' chestnut. Interestingly, I read a lot of social media comments today from No voters saying their big smoking gun was all 'the D grade celebrities and big companies telling them how to vote' - I'm sure if these celebrities and companies supported the No vote then they would just automatically vote Yes then.

Dumbarse hypocrites
It’s the sheer childishness of these sort of ‘celeb-telling me how to vote’ comments that amaze me- just such babies!

So why don't Australian greeks or Aussie poms or Aussie Vietnamese or Aussie Malaysians or any other Aussie race group get given the same ability as Indigenous do in the voice to parliament proposal?

That is because it is a special right being solely given to Indigenous over others.

In recognition of their indigenous status.

Just give us a fair go and stop getting fat off of the money that's meant to go into developing the communities up here.
Interesting comment in the video of Marcia Langton getting abused by Warren Mundine.

Claims that federal money goes to the state, where it gets siphoned off for other things, with not much money hitting the ground.

Thoughts on that?

Do you think a local voice might have been able to highlight that sort of thing?

I don’t understand why people are getting stuck into the debate about offering First Nations people privileges.
The constitution did offer them some minor privilege of having a say above others. But who the * cares, they need some extra support.

The Constitution IS BRITISH. It offers them an advantage.

When the British came to Australia, they DID NOT ask First Nations people on how to frame the constitution. In fact... They murdered them.

Could you imagine the comments if they had social media back in the 60s?

Was privileged to know Peter Norman extremely well and blessed to meet Tommie Smith several times. The signed photo Tomie gave me with a personal message is something I treasure greatly. Both heroes of mine.

Attachments

• Tommie Smith.jpeg
    Tommie Smith.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 23
No - what’s the conspiracy theory I’m putting forward? Answer.
You have been banging on about additional rights for the indigenous. That's the conspiracy. Trying to play devils advocate as well in every answer when that doesn't exist either. If your actually being factual with what your saying than play on but your not. Suggest you do some research on what the Voice was about and than have a say

No - what’s the conspiracy theory I’m putting forward? Answer.
The one about all the Greek culture that has been in Australia for 65,000 years but can't get any consideration in the constitution.

On one hand they don't want it because it won't do anything, then on the other hand they don't want it because it might do everything.

....and wearing a white sports coat and a pink carnation is the "Don't Know? Vote NO" pearler. They're all dressed up for the dance
For the most vocal in here, with Roby, i bet you wont go out bush and get your hands dirty...

You've done literally 1 letter more effort than a no voter yet a hell of alot more whinging. Hop off your high horse and go do something constructive and there'll be less need for a "voice". Just a thought

Nothing but slacktivism from you.

Interesting comment in the video of Marcia Langton getting abused by Warren Mundine.

Claims that federal money goes to the state, where it gets siphoned off for other things, with not much money hitting the ground.

Thoughts on that?

Do you think a local voice might have been able to highlight that sort of thing?
I said a few pages back there should be a complete audit on it all to see whos skimming the money. Seems a reasonable option. Unsure why any yes voter would be against this? Its obvious the funds aren't getting there so lets find out where its going...

Will achieve more than the voice would. Suspect some career pollies have too much to hide here

An AFL round compared to a permanent voice in Parliment. Check mate :drunk::drunk:
The Voice wasn't a permanent voice in parliament. Deliberate misinformation on your part.

Pride round and indigenous round are now filtering down into local footy and also junior footy in both men and women’s competitions where they are even getting jumper designs and sock designs made up.

It is getting bigger and bigger.

Maybe focus on that wonderful growth.
It's certainly happening in Sydney footy.

For the most vocal in here, with Roby, i bet you wont go out bush and get your hands dirty...

You've done literally 1 letter more effort than a no voter yet a hell of alot more whinging. Hop off your high horse and go do something constructive and there'll be less need for a "voice". Just a thought

Nothing but slacktivism from you.

'Go bush'????? Is that the only place you find Aboriginals who struggle? Is there kangaroos jumping around everywhere as well. Be careful a boomerang doesn't hit you on the way through.

It’s the sheer childishness of these sort of ‘celeb-telling me how to vote’ comments that amaze me- just such babies!
Any excuse to parade for voting no.

It's certainly happening in Sydney footy.

I’m loving it. It’s so nice to see the videos coming out and the background and meaning to the jumper design. I know it costs clubs $60 a jumper but so worth it. Some games are having a little smoke ceremony pre game now too.