Rich, Hartlett, Sidebottom, Ziebell and Yarran

Re: Ziebell v Hartlett

talk about getting carried away! daniel rich is a ball magnet but only kicks on his left - he's not overly quick so forget the judd comparisons. if anything he's more a drew banfield type. will play a lot of afl but doubt he'll be winning brownlows. solid draft choice as no risk really but not as much upside as some others.

as for ziebell and hartlett its no contest as for as i'm concerned. hartlett easily - good pace, skills, can get his own ball as well as receive and reads the play well.

however i reckon the kid from tassie (mitch robinson) might be better than all of them.

Hartlett would suit Fremantle's needs better.

Fremantle are crying out for a quick mf with good skills.
we need guys with footy brains, good footskills and natural instincts around clearances more than we need pace imo

so after reading this thread it looks like opinion is pretty even when it comes to these two. i am going to stick with ziebell, versatility is pretty important these days

Hamish Hartlett

[youtube]qgmX2KuTLUA[/youtube]

[youtube]ObMnBw-QV74[/youtube]

Jack Ziebell

[youtube]APLABJ5XQ3g[/youtube]

[youtube]zGPHFBBp9VE[/youtube]

Hamish Hartlett

****ing gun! :eek:

Thanks for posting that. :thumbsu: :)

Hartlett looks like Gibbs because he has great touch and no one can lay a hand on him.

But Hartlett appears to have a touch more legspeed.

How quick is Hartlett over 20 metres?

Gibbs ran a 2.93 over 20 metres or something like that in the pre-season, but his speed doesn't really show up in games because he's so smooth.

talk about getting carried away! daniel rich is a ball magnet but only kicks on his left - he's not overly quick so forget the judd comparisons. if anything he's more a drew banfield type. will play a lot of afl but doubt he'll be winning brownlows. solid draft choice as no risk really but not as much upside as some others.

as for ziebell and hartlett its no contest as for as i'm concerned. hartlett easily - good pace, skills, can get his own ball as well as receive and reads the play well.

however i reckon the kid from tassie (mitch robinson) might be better than all of them.

I agree with all of this. For those on this forum who haven't seen Rich play, I think you will be in for a bit of a let down. Fantastic player, but not the world beater people are making out. He won't break games open. Hartlett has that rare quality that all the best midfielders have - he is strong overhead for his size.

Hamish Hartlett

[youtube]ObMnBw-QV74[/youtube]

Jack Ziebell

[youtube]APLABJ5XQ3g[/youtube]

[youtube]zGPHFBBp9VE[/youtube]
cheers for those vids TBU. did you create those? and if so, are there more on the way?

I agree with all of this. For those on this forum who haven't seen Rich play, I think you will be in for a bit of a let down. Fantastic player, but not the world beater people are making out. He won't break games open. Hartlett has that rare quality that all the best midfielders have - he is strong overhead for his size.

I take it you missed Subiaco vs. South Freo the other week.

Rich is very strong overhead for his size too.

cheers for those vids TBU. did you create those? and if so, are there more on the way?

I compiled the videos from the last round (July 9th) of the 2008 U18 Championships - shown by Fox Sports (DaveTheMan put up the others). There's plenty more to come - should have everything up before the National draft.

these are the two guys i expect freo to be seriously considering with pick 4. unless naitanui is there in which case we would snap him up

who would you take and why?

from the little i have seen and heard, ziebell is the taller and stronger of the two, but there are question marks over his pace and his position at afl level. while hartlett is quicker and a more genuine mid, he doesn't have the match winning potential of ziebell

tough choice :thumbsu:

No chance, if he's available Port WILL take him. Looking at the Dockers midfield, I'd take Ziebell, because from what I've seen you guys need someone flashy more than an in and under player.

A bit of a contradiction...Ziebell is in and under, and gets shitloads of clearances :confused:

ahh what?

Ziebell is the in and under player.

Looks like Hartlett is more of the flash but he too is good in the thick of the action.

Ziebell's kicking reminds me a bit of Stewert Dew. That's a serious weapon that kid has got.

Hartlett really does remind you of Gibbs with the way he moves through traffic, but he doesn't seem to have Gibbs' penetration by foot.
In a good way or bad?

A good way.
Ah right

I don't think that there's a bad way to replicate Stewart Dew's kicking...

If he said that his weight reminded him of Dew, that would be concerning, but Dew's kicking is pretty much a universally good thing.
Nah i didnt realise he meant kicking...I thought he was saying Ziebell reminded him of Dew as a player fullstop. If I took Ziebeel, I'd want him to be a better player than Dew (no disrespect intended)

Ah right

Nah i didnt realise he meant kicking...I thought he was saying Ziebell reminded him of Dew as a player fullstop. If I took Ziebeel, I'd want him to be a better player than Dew (no disrespect intended)
The only thing that Dew and Ziebell have in common are their kicking..

Although i'd say it's more Goddard like and also the style is similiar...:D

ziebell/hartlett/sidebottom

just wondering if anyone could give some info on these 3. i seen a little bit of sidebottom during the tac cup grand final but dont really know much else about him or the other 2. who do you guys rekan would be the best pick up out of these 3. and if anyone had any photos or footage of these guys that would be sweet as well. so yeah i basically just wana discuss about these 3

Re: ziebell/hartlett/sidebottom

Hard to split.

Hartlett is the man if you wan't pace and ball winning abillity, but is a mid only. Not versatile.

Ziebell is a clearance king and very versatile, but lacks a bit of pace. The lack of pace won 't stop him from becoming an AFL star.

Sidebottom is the lesser of the 3. Not sure about the kid. Don't get too pumped about ten goals in the TAC cup. Will be a good AFL player, but can't see him becoming a genuine superstar, but Hartlet and Ziebell look to be 250 game stars.

If all three players are available when carlton have pick 6, I would go for Hartlett over Ziebell by a nose. His pace and ability to break the lines would compliment the likes of Gibbs, Murphy, Judd etc very nicely,

I still believe that Sidebottom might fall to the pies at pick 11.

Rich, Hartlett, Sidebottom, Ziebell and Yarran