Richmond vs Brisbane - NAB Challenge - Friday 13th @ 7:30pm @ Gold Coast Stadium

The new recruit was swamped by his teammates after snapping through a goal on the run midway through the first quarter.

He finished with 31 touches

I was standing by the fence 15 metres and right behind from where Cuz got the free,...... watched him play on and cooly snap it for his 1st Tiger goal. If he can stay injury free, by round 5 he will have the fitness and has more upside obviously.

IMO I doubt he will ever be as good as his best, but he showed tonight he will likely have a big impact in a lot of games.

Tambling did some good things.
Schulz kicked some goals and was happy with his game for a change.
Raines and Edwards were frustrating. I think the Edwards down back experiment should be abandoned immediately.
The massive redhead didn't win a lot of ruck contests that I saw, but looked OK around the ground especially getting his hand on the pill in contested ball situations in packs.

My take on the last quarter fade out was because there wasn't much of the chipping around at any stage and was quite a fast moving game and it is likely they ran out of legs. Not sure if some key players were pulled also, but all in all it was a good hit out.

Had a kick of the footy on the ground after the game with my 9 y.o. and he didn't even seem too worried or out of place with his No 9 on the back!!

I told him to look forward to seeing Cotch up here later in the year and to hopefully put the Crows away with Cotch, Lids and Cuz standing in the centre together:cool:.

Hey guys!!

How did Raines go? It is great to see Richmond doing well! I am very glad to hear Cuz is finding some of the awesome form we all know he is capable of.

Cheers!! :)

I just got back from the match. Everything I was going to type 'gotigers01' has already mentioned. He is 100% spot on, and by the sound of things was sitting just near me.

Also it must be mentioned that Brisbane kicked maybe 5 or 6 goals from frees given inside 50, which flattered the scoreline. For the most part Richmond didn't play the rugby style 'lets handball 15 times acrossways and backwards' style play we've done lately. We used our feet a lot more and did a lot of small kicks along the boundary line it seemed. We used the corridor sometimes too, but it would be good to see more of that.

By half time it was very apparent that we were the superior side. The difference was they made the most of their opportunities and we were very wasteful in front of goal. Simmonds, Brown, Richo and a couple of others missed very gettable goals. Simmonds miss was from about two metres out on a slight angle. All he had to do was snap with his right instead of his left. Richo marked everything that came his way and was everywhere. It also must be mentioned that Bowden did some very smart passes in heavy traffic. I'm sure it will surprise some of you that I saw Tambling and Morton do a couple of good tackles. I thought our backline was very good, spoiled very well and looking like a very solid cohesive unit. Cousins played very well, got it alot. Probably handballs a little too much and still a bit rusty, but you can just tell in a few weeks time he will step up another notch and hit his straps. His snap for goal from near the boundary was total class and he made it look so easy. Unfortunately the other ruckman (sorry forget his name), looked like a bit of a lumbering unco to me. The redhead kid Browne looks promising and already quite comfortable.

The main worrying thing besides our wayward goal kicking was we were almost twice their score at one stage in the third quarter, but Brisbane came back hard. The really dominated the first half of the fourth quarter and looked fitter than us. We really ran out of gas and were lucky to steady on and win.

And yes, McMahon did play. Didn't do too bad, did a couple of good runs with the ball and much less clangers than usual!

Also the rain held out all night and only started about 20 seconds after the match finished which was great timing! :thumbsu:

Positives: defensive set up; Moore, Thursty and McGuane:thumbsu:
Raines did some good stuff, as did hello Newman. Richo made some fumbles, but also performed some magic. Brown pulled in some classic snaps.

Negatives: some of the w@nker tiges supporters who make us all look like spitters. Booing as the lions ran on, port adelaide low; and the tools banging on about Cuz as if he were our only player, really shows the bandwagoners. Especially the fat moron at our goal end in the 1st qtr intimidating anyone around him, including children, who dared barrack for the other team. People actually moved away from him. I hope it has something to do with queenslanders still learning to support without sinking to such embarrasing lows.

Apart from that, Luke= BOG:thumbsu:

Not a fan of the beach or niteclubs TigerSurvivor? :D

Heading off in about halfy, see you all there fellow tigerheads :thumbsu:

Nah mate, I'm pale as a ghost and can't go out in the sun for more than fifteen minutes. Good thing I live up here aye..? :eek:

And yeah the nightclubs are great if you like top 40, but absolutely shithouse if you like guitar oriented music. Occasionally a good local band plays and that's about it. I'm glad the footy season's about to start!

The return of the rangas, :D great to here of Browne, watched training a couple of weeks ago and he didn't join the main group , instead spent the whole training with Monkey, he walked past at one stage and looked quite raw and goofy.
Interested to here how Rance , McMahons games compared as I think they might be fighting for a spot and how did White go as think he might be under the pump from Polo also ?

My take on the game:

• Scoreboard not a true reflection - Tigers were by far the better side. Maybe 4 or 5 lions goals were from soft free's and a couple of dubious 50m penalties from midfield, gifting them a shot from 25m
  • Richmonds defensive pressure was excellent and a big difference between the 2 sides
  • Tambling impressed me in the first half. 2nd half missed a few marks he should have taken but at least went hard after the mistake to try and make amends.
  • Cuz - sure knows how to get the ball and will no doubt be better for the run. Set up a couple of goals with passes to the chest of the leading forwards. I was more impressed with his defensive effort, had some great tackles and overall effort was excellent
  • Deledio - class
  • Schulz - was impressed with his 1st half. Didn't notice much in the 2nd half but may have been off ground for a while
  • Rance - should play some senior footy this year
  • Goalkicking still needs lots of work. Bowden miss from set shot from 40m straight in front which only just managed a score was terrible. Morton marking 25-30m out on 45 degree angle and then refusing to take the kick worries me. He kicked to a contest which Richo was good enough to mark (and missed goal) but Mitch is paid to kick those goals. I was right behind him and couldn't believe he didn't take the shot.
  • Brown - good game. I thought Cuz and Browny seemed to be starting to understand eachother a bit more so Browny should benefit with some quality entries into the 50
  • Jackson -first possie was woeful and I thought it was going to be a long night for him but he actually did a few good things after that and set up one of the first goals with a good pass. Still not sure.
  • McMahon ok
  • Browne showed a bit and is definitely a good size - some potential.
  • Raines - still frustrating, just tries to take on the 1 extra player and then gets caught.
Overall a good solid pre-season hit out and good to see the boys playing with intensity. :thumbsu:

Good summary Blinky. Our intensity was pleasing.

I was standing on the boundary fence right near the Tigers interchange and Schulz limped off at one stage, he went back on so it probably was just a knock, but may explain him being a little quieter later in the game. One thing about Sarge, you could never accuse him of not having a crack.

I made a note of watching Tambling and he absolutely lacks confidence, it is so obvious. He dropped a mark right in front of me that he would usually swallow. He got frustrated as he gave away a couple of frees for late contact. It was almost like he was trying too hard out there, I can't explain it but when the ball went to him it was like you feel the tension.

Rance is a very likely type, good size and agility and skills good too.

Browny is pure class, he put on a clinic in small forward play.

Cousins is an absolute ball magnet, and like quiksilver. It was like the Lions players didn't want to go near him in close.

Richo dominated early, quiet later in the game but might have pulled the handbrake a little.

I liked Browne, still fairly hit and miss in the ruck (he fell over after a contest a few times - goofy is definately the word:D) but definately something to work with. Gus only played the 2nd half and did some nice things too, doesn't look as lost as he once did.

Other than that same old from the others, but we looked very slick at times. Backline very solid, no standouts but Bradshaw and Brown - whilst kicking a few goals - were very quiet. I hardly noticed them with the footy. There was still some overuse of the footy and skill errors, but I don't remember any diabolical clangers from anyone. And we didn't panic when Brisbane came at us in the last either.

Funniest scene of the night was Richo screaming for the ball on the lead right in front of where I was standing, and Simmo on centre wing ignoring him or not looking and kicking inboard. Richo goes "have a f***** look!!" much to the mirth of the crowd. The ball was kicked to him about 15 seconds later and the crowd went up!! :D

Everyone's reviews are spot on.

Highlights of my night. And the most pleasing things to me were.

Forward pressure. We did not want that ball to leave our forward 50.

Browne. This guy can play and i think he should be in our senior team. He is not afraid to mix it with the big boys. Went straight up to brown and gave him two big elbows to the ribs. Always shepherds when he gives a handball off. Liked him alot in the ruck.

Cousins. Goal right in front of us after a free kick. Played on and kicked a great snap. This guy was everywhere. love him.

I will post more soon. GO THE TIGERS

For this who were close to that spot. I was the guy that had just shaved for a cure. Bald head with a big patch in the back where the clippers broke.

I was sitting with the richmond supporters group, that was brilliant, those guys are so friendly and it was such a good atmoshpere. on to the game, heres what i think; everyones already said much of the same stuff, i'll give a low down in what i saw in regards to the younger guys.

- white tried to break a tackle EVERY time he got the ball and got pinged about 3 times. he prob needs to start dishing off more often. but he is def all heart and will be an important cog with his speed.
- Big Red(browne) is going to be a great player, but only in a few years when his fitness is better. looked f******, but jeez was hard at it and contested.
- tambling, while good, loped a bit. when he wanted to, he was awesome and looked all class, but has a turning circle of the titanic defensively, and a couple of times allowed his opponent to run thru the guts with him about 15m behind jogging, and his man received and set up some attack. however as i said, when he turned it on, he was classy.
- schulz was good without being super impressive IMO, but he created contests which is what you want key forwards doing when they cant mark, however we had noone at his feet most of the night. he missed a sitter early on, but i thought he didnt lead hard enough all night. a lot of the times the ball was on half back line/wing and he wasnt demading the footy on a 45 m lead (brown, lloyd, buddy style), he sort of waited ill it got closer to the 50. hopefully thatll improve suring the year. he was named second best, i wouldnt have him there, prob 5th or 6th best. but def enough to be 1st FF for year, and hughes will need to improve 150% to take it from schulz.
- backline was great; bradshaw kicked 3 of his goals from soft free kicks, but rebound was great and skills out of back line was greatly improved.
- shane edwards - see matt white.
- angus graham, i honestly thought he was left footed when he made his debut a few years ago. tried hard and should improve. but browne looked better to me. hopefully they prove to be a good combo on a few years, with vick being key forward.

overall good night had and our top strength side, on it's day, could beat anyone, which is a great feeling. cant wait for round 1.

does anybody know of any highlights videos from the game..i've checked afl.com.au, superfooty, realfooty and foxsports, nothin

Just an observation but a lot of people seem to be caught up with Browne being the next big thing as far as our rucks are concerned. That might have something to do with our lack of decent rucks in recent years (Simmonds excluded).

Perhaps everyone could just ease up on the excitement and instead of talking him up like we have with others who have performed well early, we can just let him develop as a player and let his actions do the talking.

Remember how much in love with King everyone was end of 07 start of 08 only to throw him out like last weeks milk once he had gone off. Would hate to see the same thing happen to Browne if he doesn't live up to the expectations that some people seem to be putting on him.

Does anybody thnk White is under pressure??
He has'nt been performing at his best
Is he sought of a hog

Just an observation but a lot of people seem to be caught up with Browne being the next big thing as far as our rucks are concerned. That might have something to do with our lack of decent rucks in recent years (Simmonds excluded).

Perhaps everyone could just ease up on the excitement and instead of talking him up like we have with others who have performed well early, we can just let him develop as a player and let his actions do the talking.

Remember how much in love with King everyone was end of 07 start of 08 only to throw him out like last weeks milk once he had gone off. Would hate to see the same thing happen to Browne if he doesn't live up to the expectations that some people seem to be putting on him.

People aren't talking him up heaps they're just excited and suprised by what he's done, given his very raw. He lacks a fitness base but none the less he's still outperforming our supposed 2nd ruck option by all accounts. Don't see people putting expectations on him as you suggested though, he's not even on the senior list yet.

Let me put it to you this way, if he turns out to be a total dud in a few years time I don't think people will be let down too much as the rookie list is really hit and miss.

People aren't talking him up heaps they're just excited and suprised by what he's done, given his very raw. He lacks a fitness base but none the less he's still outperforming our supposed 2nd ruck option by all accounts. Don't see people putting expectations on him as you suggested though, he's not even on the senior list yet.

Let me put it to you this way, if he turns out to be a total dud in a few years time I don't think people will be let down too much as the rookie list is really hit and miss.

Totally agree

Thats the point though Barnzy, because he is apparently out performing our second ruck, people start to talk him up. Take a look at the which rookie should get elevated thread. Prior to his performances last week and last night I doubt anyone would have suggested he should be the one, but suddenly everyone is of the opinion that he should be.

I wonder if anyone has realised that Graham has been playing limited game time in the last 3 weeks? That might explain why he hasn't been as noticable. I just don't want to see the weight of expectation on Browne to be greater than it should be. He is a rookie ruck who will be playing for Coburg most of the season unless something drastic happens before round 11 when we will be able to promote a rookie regardless of whether we have an LTI or not. As it stands right now, the fact of the matter is at present there is no-one on our list who is LTI eligible.

pfht!

up against Angus Graham, he looks like the next Dean Cox

Honestly Graham is rubbish - WHY he was kept and we persist with him is beyond me. People claim he is "depth" but a first year ruckman could spank him around

Thats the point though Barnzy, because he is apparently out performing our second ruck, people start to talk him up. Take a look at the which rookie should get elevated thread. Prior to his performances last week and last night I doubt anyone would have suggested he should be the one, but suddenly everyone is of the opinion that he should be.

So whats your point?:confused:

Of course no one would have said he should be promoted prior to seeing him play. Of course if he plays two good games (the only two games we have ever seen him play) we all think he should probably be on the senior list. He is out performing Graham already, i've never seen Graham have an impact like Browne did last night - and he only played half a game!

He needs to work on his fitness, but his ability and his want shits all over Graham

we need a back up ruckman and he is better than Graham, thats why we think he should be promoted:thumbsu:

So whats your point?:confused:

Of course no one would have said he should be promoted prior to seeing him play. Of course if he plays two good games (the only two games we have ever seen him play) we all think he should probably be on the senior list. He is out performing Graham already, i've never seen Graham have an impact like Browne did last night - and he only played half a game!

He needs to work on his fitness, but his ability and his want shits all over Graham

we need a back up ruckman and he is better than Graham, thats why we think he should be promoted:thumbsu:
My point is people are getting excited about a rookie who has struggled to run out a half of footy in both games. While it is a positive that he can win hitouts & that he doesn't mind a bit of crash and bash, he isn't going to be playing AFL this year unless something drastic happens.

Perhaps you need should watch the Freo game from a month ago when Graham was competing with and occasionally beating Sandilands and constantly beating Bradley. Graham is not going to be one of the all time greats but he is more than handy as back up to Simmo for 5-10 minutes per quarter.

Richmond vs Brisbane - NAB Challenge - Friday 13th @ 7:30pm @ Gold Coast Stadium