Richmond vs Brisbane - NAB Challenge - Friday 13th @ 7:30pm @ Gold Coast Stadium

the grass down at punt road might actually need some still.

Sure does

P1130702.jpg

Wins a win. Brown and Bradshaw kicking a few goals in a hurry doesn't concern me too much. They will do it against 14 other sides:thumbsu:

Hi guys,
Just got back home from the game tonight and was good to get that win before round 1. For most parts i felt we controlled the game and certainly we able to hold up brisbanes run through the middle.

I think the usual suspects brown, cousins, richo, tuck, bowden are all in good touch and should have a ripper year.

Young browne in the ruck showed plenty and would be my 2nd pick in the ruck over graham thats for sure.

Dissapointing parts would be edwards with a couple of turnovers and tambling let himself down on a few occasions i.e. dropped marks, missed goals. Tambling cetainly has it but just needs to get those few errorrs from his game.

To all richmond supporters we should enter this year with plenty of optimism from what i have witnessed tonight. Our skills, field set up and pressure put on their ball carrier make me believve we will win more games than we lose. We just need to kick goals with these forward opportunities not points, if we had of kicked staright tonights margin could have been at least 30points.

p.s Ben cousins still has it, hhe will be very important as the season wears on. I dont think we will see the best till about round 5 but he is a very handy player to have running on the hff line/centre.

Nice summary gotigers01 tah

Some nice raps on the ruck prosect, Brown from someone giving commentry on SEN at the minute . Also impressed with Thirsty Raines and co ...

He seems to think Foley looked okay despite the injury..hope his right

I also saw foley injure himself in front of me, i think it is only a rolled ankle he hopped up and hobbled for a bit but then put a chase on someone just after it. I would say they just took him off and put the ice on it as a precaution. From what i saw it didnt look that serious and if it was the real season i reckon he would have come back on.

terrific Pre season win that v a full strength Lions outfit most pundits consider a certainty for the 8...well done tiges...I assume taking the foot off the pedal was richo and co rightfully sitting on the bench in 4Q:thumbsu:

Thanks for the score updates during the match.

Great win, well done....Good luck for the season and great to see Cousins back playing good footy.

Just so you can put your win into perspective Lions were not full strength but you can only beat who was out on the park. I'm sure you guys were missing players too.

Lions missing tonight:

Black
Charman
Brennan
Merrett
Hooper
McGrath

Once again good luck for the season Tigers!

RICHMOND has weathered a late surge and a five-goal haul from Daniel Bradshaw to win their NAB Challenge match against the Brisbane Lions on the Gold Coast.

The Tigers had secured a 29-point buffer at three-quarter time, only for the Lions to pile on five goals to two to give themselves a chance of stealing the match.

A brilliant running goal from Josh Drummond from outside 50 gave Brisbane the momentum and got them to within eight points with 10 minutes to go.

But the Tigers were able to stem the flow with two steadying goals from Jack Riewoldt and Shane Tuck to ensure a 12.13 (85) to 11.4 (70) win.

The Tigers, fielding a near full-strength team, also celebrated a solid performance from Ben Cousins, who played all four quarters and kicked his first goal in the yellow and black.

The new recruit was swamped by his teammates after snapping through a goal on the run midway through the first quarter.

He finished with 31 touches
, one of the best performing Tigers of the night, along with Brett Deledio and Troy Simmonds in the ruck.

Matthew Richardson may have failed to register a goal on the scoreboard, but he had a hand in several others and was prominent all over the ground.

He pulled in a brilliant defensive mark running backwards into the Lions' forward 50 late in the last quarter to stem Brisbane's late surge.

The Tigers lost the final quarter five goals to two, but it was enough to take the spoils.

Veteran Bradshaw was a stand-out for the Lions, finishing with five goals - nearly half his team's total score.

He opened the goalscoring for the night, kicking two of the Lions' three for the first term.

In a low-scoring affair, that was enough to keep pace with the Tigers, who threatened to race away several times in the first half.

They kicked four goals in the second quarter to the Lions' two to set a 16-point lead at halftime, before stretching that to 29 with a quarter to play.

Richmond 3.4 7.6 10.9 12.13 (85)
Brisbane Lions 3.1 5.2 6.4 11.4 (70)

GOALS
Richmond: Brown 3, Morton 2, Schulz 2, Cousins, Moore, Riewoldt, Bowden, Tuck.
Brisbane Lions: Bradshaw 5, Drummond 2, Brown, Dalziell, Johnstone, Stiller.

BEST
Richmond: Richardson, Schulz, Deledio, Cousins.
Brisbane Lions: Bradshaw, Drummond, Adcock, Power.

By the way i was really impressed with bowden, he looks really fit so many times he was able to thread a handball to a player in space or pinpoint a pass to open up the play. He will also be an important player for us this year.

RICHMOND has weathered a late surge and a five-goal haul from Daniel Bradshaw to win their NAB Challenge match against the Brisbane Lions on the Gold Coast.

The Tigers had secured a 29-point buffer at three-quarter time, only for the Lions to pile on five goals to two to give themselves a chance of stealing the match.

A brilliant running goal from Josh Drummond from outside 50 gave Brisbane the momentum and got them to within eight points with 10 minutes to go.

But the Tigers were able to stem the flow with two steadying goals from Jack Riewoldt and Shane Tuck to ensure a 12.13 (85) to 11.4 (70) win.

The Tigers, fielding a near full-strength team, also celebrated a solid performance from Ben Cousins, who played all four quarters and kicked his first goal in the yellow and black.

The new recruit was swamped by his teammates after snapping through a goal on the run midway through the first quarter.

He finished with 31 touches, one of the best performing Tigers of the night, along with Brett Deledio and Troy Simmonds in the ruck.

Matthew Richardson may have failed to register a goal on the scoreboard, but he had a hand in several others and was prominent all over the ground.

He pulled in a brilliant defensive mark running backwards into the Lions' forward 50 late in the last quarter to stem Brisbane's late surge.

The Tigers lost the final quarter five goals to two, but it was enough to take the spoils.

Veteran Bradshaw was a stand-out for the Lions, finishing with five goals - nearly half his team's total score.

He opened the goalscoring for the night, kicking two of the Lions' three for the first term.

In a low-scoring affair, that was enough to keep pace with the Tigers, who threatened to race away several times in the first half.

They kicked four goals in the second quarter to the Lions' two to set a 16-point lead at halftime, before stretching that to 29 with a quarter to play.

Richmond 3.4 7.6 10.9 12.13 (85)
Brisbane Lions 3.1 5.2 6.4 11.4 (70)

GOALS
Richmond: Brown 3, Morton 2, Schulz 2, Cousins, Moore, Riewoldt, Bowden, Tuck.
Brisbane Lions: Bradshaw 5, Drummond 2, Brown, Dalziell, Johnstone, Stiller.

BEST
Richmond: Richardson, Schulz, Deledio, Cousins.
Brisbane Lions: Bradshaw, Drummond, Adcock, Power.

Big Sarge may have turned the tide! Four goals and in our best players last week backed up by another serviceable performance tonight.

Richmond vs Brisbane - NAB Challenge - Friday 13th @ 7:30pm @ Gold Coast Stadium