AFL Autopsy Rnd 1: Done by the Hawkes

They also let us take a 40 point lead. So we’re both sh*t and inconsistent. Not that surprising given both teams are pretty strongly tipped to finish bottom 4.

Playing devils advocate but this is the most obvious thing to take from this game.

The leadership from our senior players has always been poor and seems to be on show once again despite guys like Heppell, Hooker, Zac Merrett being amongst our leaders

Asking myself why on earth is Ned Cahill playing seeing he was very underwhelming in the practice games but if you look at the list there's very little option.

I reckon we'd be better off playing BZT and releasing Ridley and Francis until the other guys comes back from injury.

I was thinking the same thing there. People hating on Francis but imagine Red playing on Breust instead of Ceglar? Would be a much more confident that way. We can **** off Laverde from defence as well

I was thinking the same thing there. People hating on Francis but imagine Red playing on Breust instead of Ceglar? Would be a much more confident that way. We can fu** off Laverde from defence as well

IMO Laverde has just played the two best games I have seen him play.

Playing devils advocate but this is the most obvious thing to take from this game.

The leadership from our senior players has always been poor and seems to be on show once again despite guys like Heppell, Hooker, Zac Merrett being amongst our leaders

Leadership is going to be a longer term fix. Nothing we can do about it right now. The club knows the problem exists which is why they sought out Dunkley and why they are working more leadership training into the likes of Merrett and McGrath but it will be a process over 3 or 4 years. I have no doubt they will target another leader again next year. I also have no doubt our recruiting has moved away from just Adrian and his team to a model that includes more discussions with the footy department and senior coaches. I know it seems on the surface that Mark Harvey has been pushed away to a minor type role but I hear his role in identifying targets from other clubs was a strategic role which has been covered in part cost wise by him also having the coterie role.
They are 100% working on fast tracking the leadership. They know it is a massive hole. Trouble is there is no short term fix.

We played into their hands by bombing long to our outnumbered forwardline, and by trying to maintain our frenetic pace for most of the third quarter.

A more switched on team would have seen the first 2 or 3 goals in that third quarter and tried to take the sting out of the game by playing some possession footy for a few minutes just to calm things down.

Heppell had a good first half but I had hoped this was the kind of thing he would be able to encourage in the third. Nonetheless, we kept trying to go at them and continued to let them intercept us.

The breakdown of our stoppage game in the third too is one that will have to be looked at.

On the plus side, I thought McGrath played a very good first half in particular and did a much better job weighing up his options and using his pace.

Fun fact. McGrath’s first kick (touch?) was at the 11.02 minute mark on the countdown clock of the first quarter.

I could never recover if Harry Kane and Zac Merrett leaves.

Daniher last year hurts enough

same boat. Joey from last year didn't bother me. i'm sad we didn't pull the trigger in 2019.
Saad hurts though.

Zach will be wanganeen levels of hurt for me.
Kane too.

Better than what though, the game he kicked three and then totally went missing against Port?

Better over 4 quarters. Better at being involved as far as being effective in the game plan. The backs where under some serious pressure last night and he stood up 75% of the time. Not bad for a bloke who has not played back since he was 16/17.
The time he and Francis looked dicey where 99% caused by either our turn overs or the outside of our defense through the middle being exposed. When the team defense worked well enough they where able to play well enough. Lets face it we are really waiting for Zack Reid and I suspect Cox to come through as defenders anyway.

Leadership is going to be a longer term fix. Nothing we can do about it right now. The club knows the problem exists which is why they sought out Dunkley and why they are working more leadership training into the likes of Merrett and McGrath but it will be a process over 3 or 4 years. I have no doubt they will target another leader again next year. I also have no doubt our recruiting has moved away from just Adrian and his team to a model that includes more discussions with the footy department and senior coaches. I know it seems on the surface that Mark Harvey has been pushed away to a minor type role but I hear his role in identifying targets from other clubs was a strategic role which has been covered in part cost wise by him also having the coterie role.
They are 100% working on fast tracking the leadership. They know it is a massive hole. Trouble is there is no short term fix.
we need leaders, then we need them to build a culture like that of the swans/cats/hawks when it comes to effort and mindset.

Merrett & McGrath look like the right options for captain and VC.
Other than Draper really pushing himself for the better of the team, i'm not seeing a whole lot elsewhere.

Simple
our club is mired in mediocrity and a culture of failure
their leaders stood up and ours didnt
heppell, merrett, Shiel, McGrath have no physical presence- no leadership
there is very little to get excited about as our players were not prepared to run hard in the second half when things were tough
rutten looked passive, without charisma or ideas sitting on the bench
we simply have to bottom out and have tools like brasher, dodoro and Campbell be honest
there are going to be hard times
we will get another top 5 draft pick this year, get another good pick for Zac merrett and build from the ground up.
gee Logan MacDonald looked pretty good for the swannies....................

Nik Cox did some neat things to I thought.

Agree with the rest though

Rutten was appointed coach without a formal process
no advertising, no interview no nothing
anyone who says he is best qualified to do the job is simply not honest

Sounds familiar

Thompson?
Hird?
Worsfold?

When. Will. This. Club. Learn?!!

Maybe a shake up wouldn't have hurt. Get rid of the pretzel lover and bring in a pretzel hater type. Zach mightn't be the ideal but maybe he'd be a bit more demanding of his team mates than Dyson she'll be right good one dave.

we need leaders, then we need them to build a culture like that of the swans/cats/hawks when it comes to effort and mindset.

Merrett & McGrath look like the right options for captain and VC.
Other than Draper really pushing himself for the better of the team, i'm not seeing a whole lot elsewhere.
Think Caldwell has some potential. But the fact is there is not a lot but hey I have been pushing that wheel barrow for 10 years.

Sounds familiar

Thompson?
Hird?
Worsfold?

When. Will. This. Club. Learn?!!

What you think they have not actually done anything since the start of last year ?
Nothing they could do about the coach then but from what I hear Truck is making all the right moves behind the scenes and has been massive in pushing for a change of culture and improved leadership. Where it goes I do not know but they are 100% making an effort to move away from what we have been for the last 15 years and move towards what Sheedy gave us when he came on board and shook things up.
I would say the club has learnt a lot in the last 6 months.

Sydney were just as young and inexperienced as us. We played bottom 4 Hawthorn at home and they played top 2 Brisbane away.
It's just another excuse for a poor performance.

The young and inexperienced players weren't the reason we lost. It's the likes of Hooker, Shiel, Smith, Langford, Redman, Francis etc that capitulated in the second half. Hooker kicks a goal from 10 metres out and we win that. Shiel forces a stoppage when we're ahead with two minutes to go and we likely hold on.

That's where the disappointment comes from.

giphy.gif

Many people in this very thread

Better over 4 quarters. Better at being involved as far as being effective in the game plan. The backs where under some serious pressure last night and he stood up 75% of the time. Not bad for a bloke who has not played back since he was 16/17.
The time he and Francis looked dicey where 99% caused by either our turn overs or the outside of our defense through the middle being exposed. When the team defense worked well enough they where able to play well enough. Lets face it we are really waiting for Zack Reid and I suspect Cox to come through as defenders anyway.
No team defence could stand up to the bits of the game I watched. Turnover city.

Fun fact. McGrath’s first kick (touch?) was at the 11.02 minute mark on the countdown clock of the first quarter.

Not sure where he started but that's pretty amazing given he finished the q with 9 touches and the half with 21.

Looked like he was holding onto the ball longer and using his pace a bit more.

Rutten was appointed coach without a formal process
no advertising, no interview no nothing
anyone who says he is best qualified to do the job is simply not honest

The hiring process is one thing.

But two second video cuts to the bench after a Hawthorn goal aren’t really enough to know whether he is bereft of ideas

same boat. Joey from last year didn't bother me. i'm sad we didn't pull the trigger in 2019.
Saad hurts though.

Zach will be wanganeen levels of hurt for me.
Kane too.

Who is a worse campaigner?

Daniel Levy or Adrian Dodoro?

AFL Autopsy Rnd 1: Done by the Hawkes