Preview Rnd 7 - Carlton vs Essendon* Sunday 2 May 3:20PM @ MCG - Team Post #1104

I havent watched any Essendon games this season until today but the most annoying thing is they seem to have picked up some really good kids.
They always Do. If he trades a player he makes sure he gets his pound of flesh then replaces them with young "Footballers". I cant See us Playing some of these kids in an ANZAC blockbuster, and and couldn't see any of our kids given the confidence and development to perform like theirs.

I'm not quite as over the line as yourself, but certainly, would not want to be losing next week and heading into the WBD and MEL at 2-5.

Could quickly come out the other side in serious internal and external turmoil at 2-7. Nasty.

I may simply be deluded, but I don’t think there’s a huge gulf in class between us and the bombers - just that their best is actually pretty good and we’re rock bottom in confidence.

Watching their transition play today, I was picturing our midfield just standing there while they pretty much danced around us at will.

To be fair, I’m a pessimist most of the time so hopefully I’m proven wrong.

Eddie kicks three and we probably come back and win it, so arguing to get rid of him is insane. He chases, harasses, shares and encourages, which is more than half the others do. Yes he is getting on, but he is still valuable in this set up.
An Essendon supporter I work with warned me about Saad. He plays when it suits him, and goes missing when the heat is on and is very good at getting cheap stats.He proved that last wekk in the final quarter when the games was dead. That probably sums him up to date. Williams is another one that goes missing when the heat is on. Cripps and Walsh created all of the drive.

We will beat Essendon next week, no doubt. Hopefully we will see 4 quarters of solid footy.

Ok, that is just - borderline ridiculous. He can barely run for more than 10 meters. He absolutely can not kick a goal - and literally doesn't tackle anyone while handing off every shot he is specifically being paid to take.

An Essendon supporter I work with warned me about Saad.

Sorry I should have read the rest of your post before responding - didn't realise your were joking all along.

So have we. Thats whats annoying me the most. Ours don't play because - marketing and membership sales are booming.
I am intrigued as to the relationship between marketing/membership sales and not playing kids.

That was the worst team the Pies have fielded in a decade. We just need to play properly and we will win.
Agree with the pies team fielded, I am just looking at the effort and skill set of the bombers. The first 3 quarters they played like us heaps of forward 50 entries with lees reward. you must admit they gained confidence and really opened the game up once fatigue set in. they began to lower their eyes and changed the game.

I am intrigued as to the relationship between marketing/membership sales and not playing kids.

Eddie Betts was brought in for marketing and to a lesser extent to help us get Williams. It was the reason given and part of the reason why Silvagni eventually left. The epic failure of Betts is an indictment on the club - it has been soooo bad.

Murphy is there for similar reasons along with this 300 game bonus.

Either way - both holding out kids for politics / marketing / back room deals.

Pretty much everyone in the AFL community, past players, commentators, opposition supporters and even players, along with almost total unison on this board - the one thing everyone agrees with is Teagues absolute main failure is bringing in kids who have smashed it, absolutely BLITZED in the VFL to then play them out of position, deny them access to the ball, cripple them with demands on proving themselves "defensively" and then dropping them immediately even though there are plenty of others who did worse.

And you come in - and do exactly what everyone, literally everyone, is condemning Teague for.

"Stocker - dont worry about your free running game where you were doing 50 meter bombs to advantage breaking the game wide open with 38 possessions, half a dozen inside 50's - can you go one on one with that half back pocket guy and just nullify his game - don't worry about touching it - well leave that to the older guys"

"Stocker looks like you had a quiet game - back tot he ressies mate"

It really is insanity what is going on. Are you David Teague ???
yeap he had 38 possessions and it was his first game in a while in the seniors so i realise its a bit harsh to drop him after one opportunity. tbh i dont know what to think anymore and i have no idea where we are at. but based on my viewing its not working. there is no proper player development in ressies or seniors and young players coming in and having a few games doesn't seem to be working either. until there is proper development i dont see much changing.

We'll win two of the next three.

At some point it will click and we will knock off a big name. We give ourselves soo many chances but just continue to butcher them. Not just shots at goal but unpressured entries that don't turn into scores.

In the next few weeks we will have a game where it all goes right.

On Pixel 2 using BigFooty.com mobile app

it' one of this week's fresh conspiracy theories. IF we see something positive happening at the club like increased memberships let's tie it in with a perceived negative consequence rather than giving credit where credit is due. You know, the whole Club is a basket case from top to bottom, etc.

I may simply be deluded, but I don’t think there’s a huge gulf in class between us and the bombers - just that their best is actually pretty good and we’re rock bottom in confidence.

Watching their transition play today, I was picturing our midfield just standing their while they pretty much danced around us at will.

To be fair, I’m a pessimist most of the time so hopefully I’m proven wrong.

If they beat us, that is definitely how they'll do it. Attacking the corridor, exploiting our midfield's poor defensive running (namely Cripps) and certain defenders (namely Jones and Docherty) overcommitting and leaving players free out the back. Plowman will valiantly protect the last line but the surge will be too great.

Cuningham is the key. Start him in the middle and let him roam akin to last year's fixture, and we'll win.

If they beat us, that is definitely how they'll do it. Attacking the corridor, exploiting our midfield's poor defensive running (namely Cripps) and certain defenders (namely Jones and Docherty) overcommitting and leaving players free out the back. Plowman will valiantly protect the last line but the surge will be too great.

Cuningham is the key. Start him in the middle and let him roam akin to last year's fixture, and we'll win.

Also, the Pies tall forwards had success today and it doesn’t look like Francis will be available against us. Harry could have another big day, but that depends on us getting and using the ball properly...

I'm not quite as over the line as yourself, but certainly, would not want to be losing next week and heading into the WBD and MEL at 2-5.

Could quickly come out the other side in serious internal and external turmoil at 2-7. Nasty.
Yup agree with you, but I’ll come around slowly to accept more pain until at least Rd 10 against Hawks, we may have a chance then , but not certain.

Yup Parish is presenting well, Bombers are confident and reasonably skillful too playing watchable footy. They won’t be push overs, should be a good match.
Keep our fingers crossed, however it will be very hard for us to bring home the 4 points, can’t see it.

Watching parish play like this today gives me hope for dow and obrien. Really wasted a year of development on them during covid. Fingers crossed they can show growth in the next 12 months

Not really a great comparison. Parish was a B-grader from day 1 in the AFL. The criticism of his selection is lack of upside/improvement.

Setterfield is a more similar comparison. Currently played out of position and no one would be surprised if he took some big steps forwards if allowed to play as an inside mid.

Langford and Laverde are reasonable comparisons of players who looked like busts but have turned into AFL standards players.

Exactly what I thought after watching their game. They’re going to be way too quick, especially when we turn the ball over and they counter attack.

At least I can see it coming a mile away so won’t be too irate next weekend...

Can’t see Essendon having any answers for McKay. Reckon general play will be relatively even but with Carlton being too efficient going forward and winning by 3-5 goals.