Round 1 trades

what happens if Gilbert scores 40 this week? and someone like Houlihan or Petterd or Frawley or Cheney scores 100+? Gilbert may turn out to be the right choice but you're relying on a helluva lot of luck basing your trades off just the one game. if you have an emergency covering Raines you basically get a free look at round 2 before any prices change.

My back bench is Broughton and Rance.

I am convinced that Gilbert will play 22 games, if not injured.

I watched Gilbert very closely last year and IMO he will develop into a very good player for the Saints.

My opinion though :)

You gotta take a gamble to win though;)

My back bench is Broughton and Rance.

I am convinced that Gilbert will play 22 games, if not injured.

I watched Gilbert very closely last year and IMO he will develop into a very good player for the Saints.

My opinion though :)

You gotta take a gamble to win though;)

fair enough but i would've thought both your emergencies were a big chance to play this week. Rance might come straight in for Raines and Broughton has to be close.

would it be worth trading David Hille to McIntosh? Hille has started poorly, and i know big mac wont score 150 every week, but he looks likely to average 90 or so. This would also give me 140k to add to raines's replacement. Should i persist with hille, or is Mcintosh the smarter option?

Stick with Hille as he will come good. Mcintosh is just average at best and won't pull those scores every week. Don't forget that he was only playing against a rookie list ruckman.

Hille >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Mcintosh :D

I agree with Judd Magic - stick with Hille, as consistent rucks are as rare as hens teeth. HMac's score was boosted by playing against rubbish.

Ok here's my dilemma:

b: Goddard, Drummond, Petterd, Dempsey, S Stevens, Chornes, Raines, Hurley, Petrenko
m: Tuck, Gibbs, Vince, Selwood, Hasleby, J McVeigh, Rich, L Anthony
r: McIntosh, Cox, White, Jacobs
f: Higgins, Chapman, Skipworth, Deledio, Houlihan, Krakouer, Fev, M Brown T Walker

Happy with everything except: McVeigh, Raines and L Anthony, but most of all the $283,400 which is burning a hole in my pocket. Tried to go a little bit too unique on McVeigh, and I'm regretting it now.

Ordinarily I would wait for round 2 before making a trade, but I will waste a trade this week for the following reasons:
1. McVeigh is not elite
2. I have cash in the bank
3. I figure that if I get an extra 50pts outta the new guy next week it will actually translate to 100pts, as I'll put them as el capitano.

Options basically are the guys who scored big this week: Power, Gazza, Dal Santo, etc etc.

I reckon I should do the McVeigh + 178K for Mr G Ablett. Raines and L Anthony can wait till round 2. Thoughts?

I agree with Judd Magic - stick with Hille, as consistent rucks are as rare as hens teeth. HMac's score was boosted by playing against rubbish.

Ok here's my dilemma:

b: Goddard, Drummond, Petterd, Dempsey, S Stevens, Chornes, Raines, Hurley, Petrenko
f: Higgins, Chapman, Skipworth, Deledio, Houlihan, Krakouer, Fev, M Brown T Walker

Happy with everything except: McVeigh, Raines and L Anthony, but most of all the $283,400 which is burning a hole in my pocket. Tried to go a little bit too unique on McVeigh, and I'm regretting it now.

Ordinarily I would wait for round 2 before making a trade, but I will waste a trade this week for the following reasons:
1. McVeigh is not elite
3. I figure that if I get an extra 50pts outta the new guy next week it will actually translate to 100pts, as I'll put them as el capitano.

Options basically are the guys who scored big this week: Power, Gazza, Dal Santo, etc etc.

I reckon I should do the McVeigh + 178K for Mr G Ablett. Raines and L Anthony can wait till round 2. Thoughts?
should have stuck with the KISS theory bogan.

get ablett. while you can, then possibly gilbert from the saints in the backline. just an idea, take it for what it's worth

Ok here's my dilemma:

1. McVeigh is not elite

Sounds good to me mate. Get Ablett while you can if you have the spare moola as you may regret it later when he is totally out of reach at $800,000. :D

Will definitely wait til after round 2 for this one, but at this stage, what are people's thoughts on this scenario:

I have $19,400 in the bank;
My last 3 defenders (inc bench) are Hill, Petrenko and Broughton;
My last 3 mids (inc bench) are Robinson, Rich and Anthony.

i) I'll trade Broughton for Cheney, which would leave me with $8,600
OR
ii) I'll trade Anthony for Dangerfield, leaving me $8,600 also.

My dilemma is that i can't do both trades due to cost....

So my question is, which trade has more potential, i.e. who will improve more out of Cheney and Dangerfield??

Just finished my trades

Mackie Out > Mcdonald In

Cousins Out > Pearce In

Good? No good?????

As a Geelong fan I did query Mackie as a supercoach pick, from watching a lot of him he does get a lot of the ball, but his disposal at times can be terrible, doesn't hit a lot of targets with his kicks, ala T. Cloke. Awesome DT Player tho.. And he's still a great player so don't take anything out of my SC assessment :p

Waiting to see if Hill is named in final 22. Does anyone know when sundays proper teams arrive?
If in, no trades. If out, Spangher-> Cheney or Petrenko or petterd

OUT: Raines, Collier
IN: Gilbert, Cheney

I think we have a winner. Just leave Anthony on the bench tis week and switch him for the rookie that will go up the most next week. Gold. :D

OUT: Raines, Collier
IN: Gilbert, Cheney

I think we have a winner. Just leave Anthony on the bench tis week and switch him for the rookie that will go up the most next week. Gold. :D

Very smart trading Carlton Kid, I like what you have done there. :thumbsu:

As for me I think I will leave trading for one more week and then probably go Raines >>> Cheney and Anthony >>> Rich. :)

Well I have Raines, Collier, and Hill in my starting back line. Have to do one trade this week and just swapped Collier for Cheney. Big risk but hoping this pays off. Next week will trade Raines and Anthony and thus will be keeping a close eye on the performance of cheap backs and cheap midfielders this week. Praying I have made the right decision with Cheney :cool:

I traded in Robinson for Anthony.

Didn't want to make any changes until the end of this round but with Tuck out injured and none of my midfield emergencies playing, it needed to be done.

Next week i will be trading out one of Hurley and Raines, probably Raines?
Which means i must have Petrenko and Dawson both starting this week :thumbsdown:

i had to make two trades, out raines, s stevens,

in cheney, gilbert. hopefully these two do very well, then i had to move tuck to the bench for rich. so that's ok for now. but here's the thing, now in my salary cap $333,700. good god what do i do with the money??

i had to make two trades, out raines, s stevens,

in cheney, gilbert. hopefully these two do very well, then i had to move tuck to the bench for rich. so that's ok for now. but here's the thing, now in my salary cap $333,700. good god what do i do with the money??

But did you really HAVE to trade them both?

Are you going to respond to every injury every week until you use 20 trades, and hope that's not before round 15?

Seems OTT just for the sake of avoiding a donut, especially when neither of your ins are guaranteed good point scorers, yet the 2 outs are ... when fit.

Each to their own, I'm still holding firm this week

Stevens is only out for 1 week isn't he? Only meant to be hamstring tightness or something.

Anyway, i have Robert Murphy in my team. :eek: Thought he was going to be ok be this week at the latest, have now heard Rd 5, so out he goes.

Can pretty much buy any forward, any recomendations?

But did you really HAVE to trade them both?

Are you going to respond to every injury every week until you use 20 trades, and hope that's not before round 15?

Seems OTT just for the sake of avoiding a donut, especially when neither of your ins are guaranteed good point scorers, yet the 2 outs are ... when fit.

Each to their own, I'm still holding firm this week
fair point.

i guess if i see someone's value going to jump big time by the way they're playing, best to jump on, i traded raines over tuck because it's longer time of injury and the backs weren't guaranteed a start with fremantle bench.

i understand your point though