Exactly.
If you guys think White has had a good pre-season you should watch the games again..
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Exactly.
Performed better than Nason Webberley MacDonald or Taylor, but hey lets just play them without them earning it.If you guys think White has had a good pre-season you should watch the games again..
Performed better than Nason Webberley MacDonald or Taylor, but hey lets just play them without them earning it.
Given I expect him to play tomorrow as the defensive forward on Yarran I don't see Tuck, Dea(plays backline) Post(KP/ruck) or Taylor(3rd tall) fulfilling that role.I didn't say play these guys.. but I would def play Tuck, Dea and Post in front of White. And Taylor has shown more for the opportunities he's had, would be a much better option (if not injured).
End of the Day you obviously think White gives us something during a rebuilding fase, I disagree.. I think he is a list clogger of the highest order, has shown his best and that is poor, has speed thats it.
I thought Houli was a great upgrade for white, therefor don't see a use for him in our team.
Given I expect him to play tomorrow as the defensive forward on Yarran I don't see Tuck, Dea(plays backline) Post(KP/ruck) or Taylor(3rd tall) fulfilling that role.
Where did I say I think White gives us something? IMO he is playing the role that King would have played if not for the suspension. With that I expect White out next week for King.
That is a big callDeledio should play on Gartlett. He's Carltons danger forward and Lids can match him for pace and beat him overhead
Players playing with vaporizes , interesting ?That is a big call
Garlett is breathtaking when he gets a head of steam up
Looks to have worked hard over summer and become even quicker
Not doubting Deledio but better him than me
And what did Gourdis ever do to deserve the hype that he gets from most people around these parts?
The team is screaming out for a decent FB and yet Rance gets a go before Gourdis, I think some people are pumping this kid up to be something hes not. Sure he has good speed and a nice vertical leap, but thats where it stops he showed in the few games he played at AFL level that he doesn't have the skill or footy smarts at the moment to cement a spot in the team.
Even the coaches were saying they weren't impressed by his pre season and then people who went to training and gave reports said the same thing, his skills weren't good enough and he was constantly having to be told how to setup where to stand what to do.
When the Club thinks hes ready and he has shown some sort of improvement I'm sure he will get his shot at it again, but until then people have to realize and understand that he is being left out of the side for a reason.
And yes people I'm well aware that he apparently had some sort of virus over the pre season but that doesn't excuse being dumb.
And what did Gourdis ever do to deserve the hype that he gets from most people around these parts?
The team is screaming out for a decent FB and yet Rance gets a go before Gourdis, I think some people are pumping this kid up to be something hes not. Sure he has good speed and a nice vertical leap, but that's where it stops he showed in the few games he played at AFL level that he doesn't have the skill or footy smarts at the moment to cement a spot in the team.
Even the coaches were saying they weren't impressed by his pre season and then people who went to training and gave reports said the same thing, his skills weren't good enough and he was constantly having to be told how to setup where to stand what to do.
When the Club thinks hes ready and he has shown some sort of improvement I'm sure he will get his shot at it again, but until then people have to realize and understand that he is being left out of the side for a reason.
And yes people I'm well aware that he apparently had some sort of virus over the pre season but that doesn't excuse being dumb.
Well put.
You'd think the praise Gourdis gets on here that he's Scarlett or Lake!!
He just ain't that good and doesn't work hard enough!
Because we need a second ruckman and a second tall up forward and on preseason form Vickery is the best performed in both those roles.
Because we're in development, if Rance/Astbury struggle we can then turn to McGuane.
Actually they wouldn't, Malthouse regularly makes late changes depending on the weather on gameday.
How does playing Post ahead of Vickery solve our problem of leaving Jack one out? Also given Post is upto 11cm shorter than Warnock how exactly is he going to compete as the backup ruckman to Graham?
3 debutants not enough for you. White is obviously going to play the defensive forward role on Yarran, while Nahas will be looked to to provide the crumbing small which is the role he should be playing rather than pushing up into the midfield like he has been.
I have a theory on this. It's probably fairly obvious but I'll say it anyway: basically, people whinge. So you may not get the same people wanting Tuck gone then complaining when he doesn't get a game, but what you do get is a whole lot of people complaining about each when they do or don't happen, and not a lot with much praise for anything.Funny how people say we will never be a good side until the likes of Tuck aren't playing and then we he doesn't play and we pick a heap of kids, people wished he was in the side.
1/ you are right we need a second ruckman and a second kpf. when and if vickery plays ruck i only see one kpf dont you. or are you telling me graham will rest in a pocket pppffffttt.
graham is great up forward....nuff said
obviously i disagree with a fair bit of the team its structure selections and where players are played.
all i have to add is if we cant beat them this time around with the team they have named we never will.
i reckon we have forfieted any slim chance we had at all at the selection table.
Thats exactly what I'm telling you will happen.1/ you are right we need a second ruckman and a second kpf. when and if vickery plays ruck i only see one kpf dont you. or are you telling me graham will rest in a pocket pppffffttt
Carlton like us have 6 talls unless you're going to suggest that 190cm White is a tall but 190cm Walker isn't. Just who are you talking about when it comes to not having much of a preseason?2/ carlton go in with just 5 talls and its going to flog down yet we need 3 tall defenders just in case. but we dont need insurance with the tall forwards of which only one jack is permanent and a bona fide kpf. yet hes had how much of a preseason you cant even be sure he will run the game out. you want it both ways.
Don't forget we've got Astbury who can be swung forward if need be, although I'd prefer he settles at CHB. As I said above Graham can quite easily sit in the goal square for 5 minutes to take a breather while Vickery gives him a break.3/ do you even have to ask. play post of the interchange. you can play him either as a forward a ruckman or even in defense. if graham has a rest vickery goes into ruck post can go forward so we maintain structure.
you know what wins in the wet more than anything. big bodies and better skills.
O'Brien is a 188cm HBF hardly what you would call a tall unless you're now going to suggest Deledio is a KPD as well.4/ so your telling me malthouse would go into a game with just 5 or 6 talls. please give me a break. dawes and cloke will play no matter how wet.
and obrien maxwell n brown/tarrant and reid with jolly are montys. he may or may not drop l brown but like i say big bodies very much come to the fore in the wet.
Well given how you think 3/4 of the list are pathetic spuds I assumed that you would rather we play the draftees ahead of putting in more spuds in their place. The second part of what you posted here suggests that very thing.5/what the hell has how mant debutants got to do with it. just for you yes im very happy that we have 3 debutants.
one for you if all are picking the side on pre season form how the hell did edwards get a game for that matter how did most of em get a game.
Yarran has been flying this preseason, got quite a few people excited with the form he has shown at HB. IIRC he has had 2-3 25 possession games. So instead of trying to shut him down lets just let him run around setting up play for them all night, at least that will give you something to bitch about post game.and what a joke you really dont believe what your writing i hope. so we are playing white solely as a defensive forward to do a job on a very young player in yarran who is only just new to the backline. boy he must have had a ripper preseason to warrant that. and all that for just one week while we wait for another deficient player to serve his suspension.
Perhaps if you watched a few of the preseason games you would know that Grigg and Cotchin have been playing deep forward when resting from the midfield. As for Tuck I'm not sure why he isn't playing, haven't heard anything regarding injury so I can only assume that he has been left out on form.can you tell me why grigg is named on a hff. now that is a joke.
jackson instead of tuck. didnt you say it was going to be wet tuck would be in his element.
I can see it already, if we win, there will be no credit coming from you, just excuses as to why Carlton lost.how about the myriad of piss poor kicks and decision makers i suppose if it flogs down these deficiencies will be hidden to a degree.
thank god carlton have been hurt by injury and its going to rain. because the damage may not be so bad from this middling team yes middling team who i cant see making the 8.
OK then, name the side you would play. I dare youobviously i disagree with a fair bit of the team its structure selections and where players are played.
all i have to add is if we cant beat them this time around with the team they have named we never will.
i reckon we have forfieted any slim chance we had at all at the selection table.