Preview Round 11: Carlton v Essendon, Friday 7th June 7:50pm, MCG - Team post #834

Not sure if cachia is physically strong enough to handle Watson.

Bell maybe strong enough? But I don't think we could back bell in to tag Watson.

Wonder if Robinson will play on fletch?

Wouldn't bother putting Robbo and Fletch nowadays. Think Fletch has passed his best and doesn't pose as much of a threat as he used to. But in saying that, I still don't want to see him playing as a loose man.

I hope we keep Kreuze and Cas as our ruck combo. Warnock is a great tap ruckman but offers very little around the ground. Cas is more mobile and can take some good contested marks around the ground, which will be important. I think Cas did enough yest to hold his spot. Shame he missed those couple of shots at goal in the second half because a 3 goal performance would have sewn up his spot.

What went wrong with cramers last night? Is he injured?

Not a great game at all by his standards

Half of his goals have come against bog average sides. 6 against the dees, 4 against GWS, 3 against Richmond (shit back third). Think he either needs to go onto a wing Richo style or have a spell in the 2's
Hope so, imo Crameri is much the better player and harder to match up.

Yeah, that may be the case but he needs a rocket up his arse right now

Without Carrots, Cachia's our number 1 tagger at the moment and he's a unit. I'd back him to go to Watson. MM's had a history of inspiring and bringing on players. Started with Jeffy and now maybe it's Cachia's turn to repay the faith.

Intriguing question is who's the sub? Who is our best impact player?

My thoughts exactly. Welcome Daniher

No Dempsey. No Essendon
That is how important a player that man is now

He is very important, major reason '11 fell apart for you.

My thoughts exactly. Welcome Daniher

No Dempsey. No Essendon
That is how important a player that man is now

Really? Is he that important? And is he already ruled out for Fri night?

That surprises me. I'm positive he was a bit of a whipping boy down at the Bombers towards the end of last year, particularly after the game against us where we won by 15 goals.

Really? Is he that important? And is he already ruled out for Fri night?

That surprises me. I'm positive he was a bit of a whipping boy down at the Bombers towards the end of last year, particularly after the game against us where we won by 15 goals.
Sorry. You absolutely right. He is a shit player who wouldn't get a game on any other list.

He now plays off the half back and rotates in midfield to relieve others. His run and carry this year is up with the very best. This has been acknowded by just about every person who has watched AFL games this year.
Not sure what last year where the entire club fell to pieces has to do with the fact Essendon has won every game Dempsey has played in and lost every game he has missed

T
Sorry. You absolutely right. He is a shit player who wouldn't get a game on any other list.

He now plays off the half back and rotates in midfield to relieve others. His run and carry this year is up with the very best. This has been acknowded by just about every person who has watched AFL games this year.
Not sure what last year where the entire club fell to pieces has to do with the fact Essendon has won every game Dempsey has played in and lost every game he has missed
This year that is

No wah Dempsey will play. I reckon its more serious than letting on. If someone crashes into the back of your ribs and you cough blood, its generally not a good sign!

Love menz, but this isn't the game for him. Betts, all refreshed, and eager to repay the faith. 5 goals for Eddie.

Judd in for our lowest ranked mid in bell. Think curnow and cachia are ahead as the potential lock down players. I already think cachia is better than both of them.

I love RW but unlikely he will come in. Ding dong and ryder would expose him. He will play against the hawks though.

So, only two changes for me. The MC will be tempted to play hammer v ryder id think, but hopefully stay with cas. The boy cannot kick for shit, but put it up anywhere near him and he transforms into trav cloke. Jeffy amd Eddie just need to be there for the sheep dog handball when be does take the grab.

Betts, Judd, Lucas, Carrazzo, Warnock. Pretty fair names avaliable for selection this week. Carrazzo has missed quite a bit, might be a good option for the sub.

They like to play possession footy, use short possessions and play through the middle of the ground. We need to make it contested and accountable, force them to go wide, apply tons of pressure. They will turn it over and they will give the opportunity to turn it over in the middle and can be hurt on the rebound. The absolute key is beating them in the clearances. They are good here, we have a bit to prove that we can match them in this. They might have a couple out, we aught to be at full strength or near enough too. They are a pretty good side, our tall defenders will need to be all over their tall forward line. Dempsy is a massive out for them, especially with our fast forward line.

I think we should beat them, I get the feeling that we are going to be fresher, but we are going to have to be good and play with heaps of effort.

I love RW but unlikely he will come in. Ding dong and ryder would expose him. He will play against the hawks though.
Hale and Roughead aren't as good in the ruck as their Essendon counterparts, but they're more likely to get out the back and kick goals against us. They're followers who are picked for their ability to hit the scoreboard. Even more so than Kreuzer.

Knockers rucked one out against Ryder and Hille in that final with Setanta backing him up. Warnock in with Kreuzer forward/ruck alongside Waite. Kreuzer was clunking them against Port and Brisbane, but didn't have his kicking boot on. More likely to hit the scoreboard than Casboult who doesn't want to kick for goal.

Thats why Army is the perfect matchup for him. Will stick to his task, and certainly has the leg speed to go with him.

Just been on the Essendon board, and they are concerned about our leg speed. Not sure they have many good matchups for Yaz, Betts, Garlett and Walker. Add Army and even Simpson to that, and we really could run them off their legs.

My biggest concern is how we combat their talls. Can't imagine they'd go 3 talls plus Crameri, so here's one option:

Jamo to Hurley/Gumbleton/Daniher
Hendo to Ryder/Bellchambers
Walker to Crameri.

White is an option to go to Crameri, but he could be too strong for White.
Agree that Army will stick to his task and has a much bigger tank then Hibberd.

Essendon have every right to be concerned about our leg speed on the outside but that will need to complimented with a good mixture of harder and bigger bodies on the inside also which is where they will think they have an advantage. Lucas may also stretch them on the outside if fit.

The one thing with White is he is hard as nails and will bash and crash Crameri at every opportunity.

I reckon MM will be happy to concede a bit of height to have more run and dash out of defense but the weather conditions may determine the final set up.

Essendon will struggle to cover our small and medium forwards if Dempsey can't get up, may seen Fletcher trying to play on a Betts, Garlett or Menzel type.

Would love to see Menzel get a gig...forward line of Betts, Garlett, Yarran and Menzel just for shits and giggles.
Agreed. Would slip under the radar with Betts, Yarran and Jeffy running around. And playing in a huge game in front of 80,000 will be invaluable for his development going forward.

I know Menzel is a massive talent, and will be a gun for Carlton, but why would you play 4 small forwards, none of whom have a big enough tank to push into the midfield? Look at the Essendon vs St. Kilda game. That's what we'll do to you if that eventuates

3 of them push into the midfield ;)

Although I think Menzel will miss out for Betts

Who said they all have to play forward at the same time.

Betts and Garlett now having stints on the ball, Yarran can rotate onto a wing or HBF.

Would be could to see the shit stains on the Bomers defence if this did eventuate!

But I don't think it will