Prediction Round 15, 2024: Changes vs Essendon

We just lost to North Melbourne at home. Let that sink in. There is no timeline here where Sheed and Gaff should be in the side - if they weren't able to lift us to win against Norf then they are never going to be able to do it. Literally no point to their selection.

Oh but Sheed tagged Oliver to 27 disposals that time did he? Great news.

In: Brockman, Kelly, Hunt, Dewar
Out: Hutchinson, Sheed, Gaff, Edwards

B: Hough Barrass Witherden
HB: Maric McGovern Duggan
C: Chesser, Yeo, Hunt
HF: Brockman, Waterman, Cripps
FF: Ryan, Darling, Williams

R: Flynn, Kelly, Ginbey

I/C: Dewar, Petruccelle, Cole, Culley

S: Jones

So a forward line with Allen, Williams, Darling, Waterman and 4 inside mid- one who hasn’t played in a month?

Flynn hasn't exactly flown in the last two games.
Hutchinson deserves more games with people in the centre who can give the forwards a fair go.
Gaff and Dom really have gone passed their used by date and maybe even Darling now that he's reached a milestone.

My biggest complaint about yesterday was the premiership team of 94 not walking past the fans behind the goals at the southern end who are probably the only ones at the game who could recognise all the players and probably the only ones who even watched them.
If there was no time to do a whole lap then head off in their direction first. I'd be spewing if I was waiting behind the goals for a handshake of a player from a great bygone era when the Eagles were champions.

The number of times the ball entered our 50 last night to, say, Darling and Waterman - the only player around their feet was Bailey Williams. Not sure what type of forward structure this is and how you can hope to be successful or lock the ball inside 50.

Dewar is a must in this side with the sheer number of talls we have flying for the ball. Probably another crumber as well.

We don’t really know if BWilliams isn’t a good forward tho. What sample are we really basing it on. I would give him the whole season with Flynn.
There's Jamieson but he's struggling to get a kick in the WAFL.
Josh Rotham played a good game yesterday and may be better than some of those poor performer's in the AFL side.
Dewar is a must in this side with the sheer number of talls we have flying for the ball. Probably another crumber as well.
Perhaps if they spread out a bit instead of trying to mark it in a pack. poor flyn Ryan tried to take one of those speckies late in the game and nearly broke his neck.

There's Jamieson but he's struggling to get a kick in the WAFL.
Josh Rotham played a good game yesterday and may be better than some of those poor performer's in the AFL side.
Jamieson was solid down back yesterday and I thought Rotham was shocking. He got a lot of the ball but his decision making and disposal was really bad.

We just lost to North Melbourne at home. Let that sink in. There is no timeline here where Sheed and Gaff should be in the side - if they weren't able to lift us to win against Norf then they are never going to be able to do it. Literally no point to their selection.

Oh but Sheed tagged Oliver to 27 disposals that time did he? Great news.

Out: Hutchinson, Sheed, Gaff, Edwards

HB: Maric McGovern Duggan
C: Chesser, Ginbey, Hunt
FF: Ryan, Darling, Williams

R: Flynn, Kelly, Yeo

I/C: Dewar, Petruccelle, Cole, Culley

I really like this side and it's probably the closest to how I see it.

For me, I'd make the following side. I think HEdwards has to stay in due to the talls.
The side below has a lot more run, creativity/X-Factor and foot skills.

Allen starts in WAFL

Out: Sheed, Gaff, Darling, Culley

HB: Ryan McGovern Duggan
C: Chesser, Yeo, Hunt
FF: Dewar, Williams, Hutchinson

R: Flynn, Kelly, Ginbey

I/C: Petruccelle, Edwards, Cole, Maric

I think HEdwards has to stay in due to the talls.
He hardly touched the ball and didn't use his height yesterday and then Maric came on for him the last qtr. I wasn't sorry to see him go.
What I was sorry about was the Hutchinson was involved in that really nasty collision when Duggan went down and then he just walked away. He was one of the few team mates who didn't come over to give Duggan a pat on the back and even a NM player or 2 did. That is not the way to be a good team mate, not the way to impress your captain and having been nowhere near the ball for 4 qtrs not the way to cement a place in the side.

Rotham was deplorable yesterday.
Well what about Hall. He got as many touches and as Simmo said he's not exactly leaping off the page to get an AFL kick.
It was dismal to see they could only kick 2 goals in half a match and then the AFL team does one better and gets 3.

Hutchinson deserves more games with people in the centre who can give the forwards a fair go.
Gaff and Dom really have gone passed their used by date and maybe even Darling now that he's reached a milestone.

My biggest complaint about yesterday was the premiership team of 94 not walking past the fans behind the goals at the southern end who are probably the only ones at the game who could recognise all the players and probably the only ones who even watched them.
If there was no time to do a whole lap then head off in their direction first. I'd be spewing if I was waiting behind the goals for a handshake of a player from a great bygone era when the Eagles were champions.
The thing with Flynn is that he's an actual ruckman, once he works his way back into form he's a significant upgrade on Williams in ruck contests. Whether they can play together and whether Williams offers enough up forward is the question we need to answer.
Have a guess who is who below

1717896451399.png

It was because North banner and hangers on were in the way. What makes you think only people at one end of the ground knew who they were? Have you had a look at the age profile of the crowd? I'm 3 score+ years old and I feel young at times strolling past the geriatric masses.

He hardly touched the ball and didn't use his height yesterday and then Maric came on for him the last qtr. I wasn't sorry to see him go.
What I was sorry about was the Hutchinson was involved in that really nasty collision when Duggan went down and then he just walked away. He was one of the few team mates who didn't come over to give Duggan a pat on the back and even a NM player or 2 did. That is not the way to be a good team mate, not the way to impress your captain and having been nowhere near the ball for 4 qtrs not the way to cement a place in the side.
HEdwards isn't there to rack the ball up. He's got to stay in for mine due to extra height of their forward line.
Heaps of extra speed bought into the side so run no worry.

Hutchinson was playing his first game so I'm willing to give him a pass, this time. He doesn't seem that sort of character.
He probably had a million things going through his brain and or hurt himself too. (So yeah, pass this time but def not something you want t see habitually)

It was because North banner and hangers on were in the way. What makes you think only people at one end of the ground knew who they were? Have you had a look at the age profile of the crowd? I'm 3 score+ years old and I feel young at times strolling past the geriatric masses.
The banner wasn't in the way. They did have someone out with sticky tape to fix the rip but that was the way to go with limited time. I have great respect for those WCE cheer squad banner-wavers in that section and they are right below a big contingent of noisy NM fans and seeing all those great men out there from 94 might have shut them up and not given their players a lift for the last three minutes of the game.
The Eagles should have shown those fans respect by parading in front of them.
And couldn't hear what malthouse was saying to Langdon, so may have well been at Subi Oval and the house of pain where acoustics were just as bad.
Anyway I suppose it's just a game.

IN: Kelly, Hunt (Maric on field)
OUT: Culley, Jones (Gaff sub)

I think Gaff, Sheed and Jones need to go in some order but I think Hunt can cover the wing/HBF rotations, which probably edges Jones out ahead of Gaff. It's hard to say which of Sheed or Culley moves out of that midfield mix for Kelly as neither should really be in that first rotation. I would expect Sheed to hold that place until Reid returns but Culley is certainly more versatile. I would prefer to see Maric play a full game over Gaff, and Maric can cover one of the wings. Brockman has shown flashes but turnovers killed us yesterday and I don't see any reason to move someone like Jones out for Brockman or to bring Brockman in as well as Jones. Give the kid a little more time in the WAFL. Hutchinson showed enough to be given another run, even if Ryan were to spend more time in the middle.

I don't like Bailey Williams as a forward but agree that he should be given some time to build there. I think Jack Williams would be a better option though.

I'd prefer to keep JJ in then Sheed or gaff, he provides great pace and has good intent around the ball for mine.

Petch is such a frustrating player because he is athletically above afl average but his football skills and read is below average. Very inconsistent for me.

Dewar would've ate that game up for me, athletically more potent than hutch, yet somehow he gets a full game first week in the side.

The game plan coming out of the oppositions fifty needs to change. We can't continuously bomb it to the right wing.

Kelly for Sheed
Hunt for Gaff
Brockman for Duggan, with Jones going back
Maric onto the field with Hutchinson sub.
Gaff to fly as 24th man

Edwards stays, thought he had some good moments.

Out:
-Duggan (if concussed)
-Darling (Give him a few weeks off to freshen up. Allow Maric / Hutchinson to play another game)
-Sheed
-Jones

In
-Hunt play in backline in Duggans spot
-Brockman (sub)
-Kelly
-Dewar

I hate dropping players after one game so Culley and Hutchinson to get another crack

You guys are dreaming, I reckon Simmo goes full Simmo and plays probably the oldest team we've had all year. Gotta back in the senior leaders!!

In - Kelly, Hunt, Brockman
Out - Culley, Hutchinson, Jones
The seniors are showing no signs of leadership. Even Darling didn't step up yesterday and he's played the second most games for WCE

If Simpson plays either Sheed or Gaff next game, I want him sacked at the end of the season.

If he plays both, I want him moved on immediately.

Bringing back players who are the antithesis of the new gameplan we are trying to implement is the high point of stupidity. Culley added to that slow mix but we need to see what he has at this level.

This may be seen as a 'melt', but I've had enough. Learn from the last 5 years or move on.

They've been great servants of the club, but their time has more than passed.
Agree, at least Culley has a physical presence over the ball.

Gaff and Sheed are the equivalent of a wet lettuce leaf going at it HARD against a used powder puff.

You come out feeling wet, powdered and slightly violated.